We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - take lots of money”
Review of Hotel Son Baulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Baulo
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location - take lots of money”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing. The staff were brilliant and the rooms very clean.
Our room was on the top floor with the balcony overlooking the road, and the noise was minimal. The air con is not on all day but we coped in early August. The bath was a nice size and the shower was powerful enough. We had a TV which the children worked out pretty quick, with a few channels in English. Can't comment on the fridge as we weren't willing to pay for it. We did do the safe hire and this was pretty reasonable.
The food was good, with lots of choice. The icecream at dinner is lush. Breakfast was provided with drink, from juice, water to coffee and tea and unlimited.
Dinner time there are no drinks on offer unless you pay for them. This became expensive as a standard bottle of water was almost 2 euros. A pint of coke was 3.40 and a small glass of coke was 1.80. So each evening at dinner we were having to spend 10 euros.
Wifi is free in the bar area, just go on it in the day as its busy at night. Room Wifi has to be paid for but worked well at all times.
We found a bucket and spade left out with a note to take and enjoy, and in return we left a few items in the corridor with a note when we left. This was nice and saved throwing decent items away.
Barter with the hair braiding ladies outside the door in the evenings, the ones my daughter got are great however they wanted 20 euros for 2 braids. I don't think so!
The market on fridays is good with lots of lookie lookie men selling their leather wares. I did barter, however many people were not. I got my handbag down to 30 euros from 75, however it was a hard fight, but worth it...
However do price check on the market as some items that were priced up were double other sellers prices, 2 stalls away. Very cheeky!
We did the Thompson lazy day catermeran trip and it was worth every penny. We also went on their pirate adventures trip and this was great too.
The pools are not lifeguarded and there were lots of adults and children acting dangerously on poolside, so do watch out.
We visited the blue umbrellas restaurant/cafe just down the road and the food was nice, but it came to 25 euros for hardly anything, just a couple of burgers and a few drinks. Eating out is pricey it appears.
The shops at Son Baulo do not sell leather wares, you need to travel into Picafort for those, but don't do it in siesta time as they will be shut.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 11 night stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others, especially with the amazing sea on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Go high, and try to get sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    498
    202
    66
    32
See reviews for
772
480
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just arrived back from 11 nights at the Son Baulo ,read loads of reviews before we left ,some good and some bad so went with a open view . True the hotel has seen better years and some of the rooms are in the process of being updated,but please don't let that put you off a wonderful friendly hotel with breathtaking views ,what more could you ask for.
The hotel is right on the beach plenty of sunbeds around the pool and sun terrace .
You can walk into Can Picafort along the promenade which takes about 30 minutes where there are Tapas Bars and restaurants along the way .
In the centre of Can Picafort you have the usual array of souvenir shops where you can shop for almost anything .
Alcudia is only a bus ride from outside the hotel but can get busy going and coming back and the last buses run up to about 23.00 so don't get caught out as a taxi will cost you about £18.00 .
A must visit is a trip to the Crazy Horse Bar run by Paco and his wife which is about 50 yards from the hotel ,You haven't seen a pub quiz like you will in here ,Paco will have you in stitches ,with prices for beer and wine from 1.50 Euros you cant go wrong.
A big thank you to Suzanne who worked tirelessly organizes entertainment at the Son Baulo ,and also to Sammy and the girls who looked after the Kids Clubs

Room Tip: Third and Forth floor sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went end of June for 1 week expecting not many school aged children, how wrong could we be must have been lots of sick children out of school that week lol.Started off bad from Gatwick due to French airstrike we did not arrive til 2 in the morning and when we got to our room it was a double bed and not the twin which we booked.I travelled with my friend also a lady and although we have been friends since we were 11 we never share a bed.Went to the night porter and he put us in a room let's call it C block H til it could be sorted with the morning staff. They put a single bed in the room and I got a memory foam mattress which I had to insist for.Food was not memorable just basic and at dinner you had to buy your own drinks even water which I thought was disgusting.A lot of the sunbeds had seen better days and as we was on the third floor overlooking the pool used to watch people mainly the men go down first thing in the morning and sort the best sunbeds out get all the parasols.....Hillerous the mentally of some people.Very noisy round the pool so we went up the other end.We found a lovely little bar on the beach near the hotel to chill out in and it was lovely to sit there sipping Mohitos with your feet in the cool sand listening to the sea.We had a lovely Paella in Alacudia old town and washed it done with Sangria now that was memorable food!!Wouldn't go back to this hotel the only good thing about it was the proximity of the beach in fact I would be quite hard pressed to go to Marjoca again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my parter stayed in the hotel for 6 nights in June. Easy to get to from Palma main bus station where bus stops next to the hotel and it costs about 12€.
We booked a standard room and as soon as we arrived we realized how big mistake it was (facing a street) we decided to upgrade to sea view for extra €90 and definately it was a Wright decission ad from lut bedroom (suit) sunrise and the views were worth paying extra for and the room wasn't as smelly and noisy as the standard ones.
Hotel in general is dated and certainly rooms needs some renovation. Definately 4*.
Food was alright, we have chosen HB version and nothing to complain about.
Every day something new so you won't get bored.
From the hotel we highly recommend to go to Alcudia beach as the water there is turquoise and stunning , also white sand.
Mind there are 2 different bus routes one is the quick one so make sure you choose that one otherwise you spend a long time on the bus instead of 15min drive.
After we discovered the beach we spend there every day.
Hotel entertainment is poor and we didn't really stayed around for it.
Can Picafort is walking distance where you can do your shopping.

Mind there are no fridges in the rooms and you need to pay extra if you need one.
Bathrooms need refurb.

In overall we were satisfied with our stay but if we had a standard room it would have been different story.

Planning to go back to the same region but this time closer to Alcudia beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank izapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having just returned from a 2 week stay at the Son Baulo I can only state what a fantastic Hotel this is. From the first impression of checking in with the very helpful staff on reception and the service each and every day. The rooms were spacious and very clean (maid service every day except Wednesday), air-con from 1pm to 4am very welcome, the beds were very comfortable, we were allocated a road-side room and at first were a little apprehensive in regards to possible noise from traffic/shops/bars etc..but I can happily report that there was very minimal noise. The food in the restaurant was among some of the best we have tasted at an hotel, good selection from breakfast with plentiful cereals to cold meats and cheeses to anyone wanting a full English. Dinners provided lots of choice again of cold meats and cooked meat with fish being offered several times a week, plenty of veg or salad to go with your meals and what can be said of the desserts, had to sample each one most nights. Overall the food was superb in quality, quantity and taste. We never really tried the bar snack on offer but there always seemed to be plenty of people tucking into food through-out the day. The drinks on offer were a little expensive and spirits seemed a little "weak". How-ever the restaurant and bar staff were all very good, tables cleared and drinks served very fast. The pool, even though did not have any lifeguard reception staff would patrol and enforce their rule of no inflatables in the pool, although busy through-out the day there was no groups of youths charging around being a nuisance for all the other users. The location of the hotel cannot be beaten, from the steps of the patio straight onto the beach, two sunbeds with parasol 11.50 euro (security box included on parasol), as expected with it's location the beach did become very busy from mid-morning onwards and the space in between the front row of beds and the water can get a bit congested. First time I have seen sunbeds for the disabled with the lifeguards more than happy to help with anyone with a disability into the water and back out again on a specially adapted beach chair. In regards to the nightlife, if you want the "whistle possie" brigade then this is not the place for you, a beautiful promenade winds down to the main area, probably 20-30 minute gentle stroll with stunning views. Several good value bars en-route to wet your whistle, how-ever one that surprised for all the wrong reasons was The Crazy Horse, we read only good reviews of this bar before we departed so was looking forward to some good nights in there, how-ever the first time we tried it the owner, I believe called Paco, came over to our group and asked my nine year old son to be quiet as he was making way too much noise laughing, I could have understood this if there was a quiz on that he was disturbing but seeing as we were the only one's in the top part of the bar and only two other couple on the outside chairs, due to his attitude we finished our drinks and left. We had to pass this bar each night heading back to the hotel and apart from one night there were never more than six people sat outside nursing their drinks with what appeared to be very little atmosphere. Overall I can definitely recommend the Hotel Son Baulo to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday, be they a family group or couple.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from son baulo and already missing it! Went with husband, 2 small children and my parents. We both had seaview rooms 4th floor theres had been refurbed and ours not but still nice extremley clean rooms with great aircon. As for the food, with some of us fussy eaters was worried. But was something every night and fab desserts!!!!! Breakfast was great, egg chef everyday too. Nice area round the pools and no rush for beds which was nice, specially round the childrens pools. All in all a lovely resort and great hotel, was the best holiday!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Firstly if you're expecting any more than the 3 * rating then I'm sorry you'll be disappointed, however if you go here with realistic expectations then it will surpass them. We've just returned from an absolutely fantastic holiday at Son Baulo, our age ranges in our party of 6 between 9 - 64 and we all enjoyed ourselves as much as each other. Accommodation was basic but immaculately clean and provided all the things you could want for a comfortable stay, yes it could do with a little updating but what can you expect for the price you've paid?? we found beds to be comfortable and air con very cool and welcome. Staff were very friendly and did all they could to accommodate you, any problems were sorted out quickly, not that we had many, just a minor niggle when our air con remote ran out of battery, but this was solved rather swiftly. Food was absolutely FANTASTIC, lots of variety and plenty of it, with dirty dishes taken away from the table promptly. Location is a winner too, right on the beach 11:50 euro for 2 sunbeds and parasol, with gently shelving water although sometimes a few waves but what can you expect it is the sea. 20 minutes stroll along the promenade along past the marina will take you to main Ca'n Picafort, we found 2 really lovely bars along the way Atenas Bar which is near the hotel with a lovely balcony to sit and watch the sea and Cafeteria ECU which was at the start of main Ca'n Picafort, both with friendly service and value for money drinks. If you're looking for a hectic night life then this really is not the place for you, but if you have a young family or are an older couple this is a really lovely resort. Top tip, if you use the beach don't go on the front row as others park up right in front of you under your parasol, but this is just a minor thing. Overall we had a wonderful time and will recommend to family and friends, we also hope to go back again in the not too distant future. Well done Son Baulo!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.2 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#4 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Baulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Baulo

Property: Hotel Son Baulo
Address: Ronda Torrent 8, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Son Baulo 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Son Baulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Son Baulo Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing