We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a patch on our previous Gold holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Picafort Park
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a patch on our previous Gold holiday”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from a week and a half in Picafort Park. Having spent a similar time a couple of years ago in Hotel Savoy Gardens in Madeira, which had been our first Gold holiday with Thomson, we were looking forward to a relaxing break in the sun. We got the sun, but not the relaxation! The daytime entertainment was extremely loud and very intrusive - to be fair, you weren't pestered to join in the activities, but you couldn't avoid them. When we went out, we could hear the reps on the microphone several hundreds of yards away by the shops. All in all, we did not enjoy the 'holiday camp' type of entertainment and if we never hear the 'march of the mods' again that will suit us!

The restaurant food was quite limited in choice, and the quality not as good as we have had elsewhere. Although service was very efficient, sometimes the waitresses were over efficient and more than once we had our plates removed while we still had food on them ........... However, there was plenty to eat with several courses available and there were no attempts to hurry us out. They also need to do something about the flies in the restaurant.

We chose the half board option and we would advise people who are not sure to do this initially, rather than the all inclusive, as you can always pay the extra for the all inclusive if you decide that is for you. It didn't suit us because we thought it was very limited and not good value for us - but that is more a personal choice - provided you are happy to spend your holiday with a green plastic band on your wrist! The few drinks that we bought in the hotel were nowhere near the cost of the (almost) 17 euros per day per person of the all inclusive cost, and we enjoyed leaving the hotel and going for a (quieter) drink by the sea.

We had a third floor room with a balcony so small that we had to move the two chairs and table around to open both doors, or to get to the clothes line to dry out swimming gear. We were also not warned in advance by Thomsons that there were no lifts to the rooms, so we had to trudge up two flights of stairs each time we went to our room. The room was basic but OK, with towels changed daily even though we hung them up for intended re-use. We had a view over the lawns and pool, which was better than a lot of them at the back of the buildings, although this meant we had no sun on our balcony.

On the positive side - the pool was the best we have seen for a long time, and the lawns were lovely. There were always plenty of sun loungers and during October there was plenty of room for everyone. All the staff, including the Thomson reps, were very friendly and helpful.

We definitely will not be going back to this hotel, and probably not on another Gold holiday after this experience. If you like a 'holiday camp' style holiday, with lots of loud entertainment and people smoking anywhere and everywhere in the grounds, including the seating area by the bars, then this is for you - but definitely not for us!

Room Tip: No lifts to rooms, so ask for a ground floor if you have problems with stairs. No tea making facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    417
    190
    47
    16
See reviews for
112
916
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just returned from a super week away at this fab hotel. We have nothing negative to say about the place at all. Restaurant was great-always plenty of choice, lovely food (ignore comments saying otherwise, no-one we spoke to had any complaints), free seating, good welcome by maître de and all staff, plates cleared away quickly and you were never rushed out. Hotel check in was swift and professional and luggage taken to room by porters who were awaiting you. The Reception staff very helpful and seemed to enjoy their job. Thomson reps were available and seen either around pool, at desk, in meetings or even at night activities if you had needed to see them. The entertainment girls - Selina & Ailsa worked so hard to ensure you had a good time with their daytime activities (which were made fun) if you wanted them ,but never any pressure to join in if you didn't. The quizzes,pool teasers & bingo game at night were good fun. Evening entertainment- Excellent and not many holiday reviews tend to say that! There was not one show we saw we didn't enjoy and covering all aspects of entertainment. The Thomson Gold show teams 3 different shows FABULOUS , Drifters, Westlife, Comedian GREAT. The Resident duo Bernie & Neil sang / played tunes old and new and started/ finished the nights off for dancers.
Rooms- we were in block K, 3rd floor with a pool view -room was a good size ,plenty of storage and hangers, quiet. Sunbeds - No need to reserve at all and hotel was very full, always available plenty for everyone any time of day. We preferred the grassy area at side of pool. Bars- staff friendly, quick to take orders and serve.
A lovely walk into Can Picafort along the front is recommended at least once-views lovely and plenty of cafes/bars if you need a drink. Plenty of shops too in centre if you want them. We took a taxi in one night 4/5 Euros and pleased we did-live music & good atmosphere .
Hotel is well located for bus routes and the Ting Ting train which stops outside hotel 3 Euros return for 45 min trip round area and you can get off in town. Very good for walking as quite flat and local shops, bars and beach within 5 min walk.
We were All Inclusive and most people seemed to take up this option, very good value . This was our first visit here but certainly won't be our last- having stayed at many Gold hotels we rate this one highly. Well done Thomson you have a good one here!

Room Tip: Pool view room - G/K but to be honest can't think any rooms would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186478Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just returned on Sunday 29th Sept from a weeks stay, before we left I read the reviews where people enthused about the food and the grounds, so I arrived with high expectations, on arriving outside the hotel my first reaction was oh dear!!!! on entering the reception area which is small and unassuming but the reception staff were friendly and welcoming and they had reserved the room that we had requested (ground floor) which was nice of them.

The room... was basic quite retro a bit 1960's and the bathroom was also extremely dated and rather the worse for wear, I found the bed comfortable, we hired the safe which I was surprised to find was not electronic so I had to carry a large key around with me all day, during our visit £70 went missing from our room (English money which we had kept in the safe, unfortunately we didn't realise this until we got back to England and went to buy something)

The Restaurant...the food was very limited in choice and the desserts were the same assortment of different coloured sponge and cream cakes, it didn't matter which one you took they all tasted the same just the colour and pattern on them changed, overall more like a menu I would expect to find in a 3* hotel, but mostly the staff were efficient, apart from one girl who was quite rude because we had sat at the wrong table at lunchtime and it had been laid for the evening meal, so just as we started our lunch she came up and snatched away the extra cutlery and wine glasses.

Outside...there is a lovely pool with loads of sun loungers, better than the ones found in lots of hotels, we never had a problem any time of the day finding a lounger with a parasol. the grounds were quite compact with either the tiled area around the pool or a grass area roughly the size of a football pitch with a number of trees planted to give shade.

Entertainment...You have resident singers early in the evening, then main act after the bingo which goes on till roughly 11.00pm they have the Thomson entertainment team (two females and two males) they are really very professional, there two comedians one was excellent and the other I think he was American was terrible it was suppose to be something new they were trying for one night only, rather blue comedians on from 11.00 pm till midnight. Daytime entertainment was good I particularly liked the French Boules.

Overall.. a relaxing holiday, but we will not return, once was enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have just returned from a 10day stay at Picafort Park and we could not find fault with anything. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was briiliant and there was a choice for everyone. The entertainment team were great whether is was day time activities or evening entertainment everyone were so professional. We have stayed in many 4star hotels at this one rates high up in our list. The rooms were very comfortable and they were cleaned every day. Well done Picafort Park we will be returning

Room Tip: We stayed in Block D rooms 207 and 209 on the second floor, these were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Cornard
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thomson declined to print my review - I wonder why; perhaps the truth hurts!We returned optimistically after ten years but were disappointed. Our double bed (why did I pay extra to trudge up and down to the top floor) was not the best, the floor has been covered in plastic wood and the room, although spacious and well appointed, didn't even have a kettle. 4-star rating.....?The restaurant is well laid out and comfortable, there was never a problem finding a table and the Manager and his staff very attentive. Sadly, the evening meal food is not 4-star. What was on offer was okay but the choice was limited compared even to some 3-star hotels. Her favourite was the deserts and mine was breakfast. The pool area looks good - we don't indulge in baking our bodies - and we went out in the evenings for peace and quiet. Why do some people think that more decibels makes it good. We are seasoned Thomson Gold (and Plat) travellers and this is definitely not 4-star. We will not be going back again.

Room Tip: The up-grade to a double room was not worth it - top floor and no afternoon sun - unless the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great hotel, very clean though a bit dated. Food was the best I have ever had, so much choice, well cooked and presented. Entertainment was good, really enjoyed the afternoon quiz .friday market only a five minute walk, twent mins in to town centre, plenty shops and bars, would go back .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deedeeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Well We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at the Pica fort Park hotel.Why do so many people complain? Yes the beds were not changed EVERY day,do you at home?I know I don't.beds very comfortable,rooms clean and well equipped..the food at every meal was very good, always something for any fussy palette,always a large choice.hot when needed and cold when required.The gardens well kept,the sun beds loads,so if you want to get up and save one fair enough,if you don't ..well DON'T ..Ailsa and Selina done their absolute best to entertain the guests,if you wanted to join in fine if you didn't no one cared and you certainly were not thought any the worse for it.From management to cleaners all were so friendly and polite..with the exception of 2 older bar men who were a little miserable...This was our first visit to this lovely hotel and we hope this wont be our last..and the serial complainers...." buy a tent and go to a field on your own..."Helen and Trevor

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 17meeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Son Baulo
Hotel Son Baulo
#9 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#6 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picafort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picafort Park

Property: Hotel Picafort Park
Address: Avenida Baulo 2, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Picafort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Picafort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picafort Park Ca n
Picafort Park Hotel
Hotel Picafort Park Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing