We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Africamar Aparthotel
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel's staff are so friendly & the location is perfect, the food at Chillax is really excellent but so many bars & restaurants to choose from, I would recommend to any age group one of the best holidays for such a reasonable price, will be booking again soon, don't get the transfer to the hotel & invest in a taxi about 70 euros

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Africamar Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family of 4 adults stayed in an apartment comprising two bedrooms (both en-suite) and mini kitchen, for a week in July 2103. The hotel was spotless, and we ate in the downstairs restaurant called Chillax nearly every evening. The food there was great, big enough menu with old favourites mixed in with some more interesting dishes. Through the day we lazed by the poolside, and the smaller size of the hotel meant that after a day or two every face was familiar and we made new friends easily. Similarly, the hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Though lacking air con in the apartment, we were able to rent electric fans from reception for a few Euros, and it made all the difference in the blasting heat. Competitively priced, I would thoroughly recommend Africamar

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A lovely family hotel, clean, lovely location, lovely staff. Could not have asked for more. We had some good pool games, and everyone joined in. The location is 5 minutes from the beach and is right by the shops and bars. Chillax part of the hotel is a lovely place to eat. Will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at Africamar fantastic staff and owners. Make you feel so welcome and relaxed. Was even there to wave us off when our transfer arrived. Small things but mean a lot. The owner and her family always around to talk and give advise can't wait to go again.close to everything and just a perfect place to stay for a happy holiday booking again Asap. Absolute value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night trip and overall had a good holiday. Having read previous reviews we didn't fancy a 2.5 hour bus ride so pre-booked a taxi with suntransfers - it was £135 return but was worth it as it only took 45 minutes each way.
If we had visited the hotel out of peak season I would have probably rated it as really good value for money, but at high season prices it was on the cusp of being 'value' for money. We were disappointed that a couple of things they referred to on their website were not available in reality - on the web it says that every double room has access to a kitchenette, but when we arrived there was a sign saying that we couldn't use it as we had booked a double room rather than self catering - fair enough if this is the policy but this isn't what it said on the website! The website also refers to having a telephone in the room and this wasn't the case. To summarise the good and bad points:

Strengths
Really good location
Nice, clean pool area
Large room with balcony
Very friendly staff (with the exception of the owner who gave us a very lukewarm welcome)
Really nice tapas in their restaurant
Helpful young man on Reception who gave us his own fan when they had run out of fans for hire

Weaknesses
Reception wasn't manned for most of the time and we were concerned about leaving our passports in an open area (they were returned after 24 hours) - ditto for our luggage when our rooms weren't ready when we arrived
Lack of air conditioning
No remote control for the TV
General cleanliness
Very poor shower - very low pressure and spray
Bathroom needs a thorough cleaning - there was an unpleasant smell all week, probably due to lack of ventilation. There was also nasty rust marks around the plug hole in the bath
Old towels and bedding - really quite threadbare and very small towels

We would definitely return to the town but probably not to the same hotel unless it has been through a refurbishment programme.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fjrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week at Africamar at the end of June in our first foreign holiday, we had a great time and would go again. We had a top floor room facing the sea with a great view of the bay, the room was good except the towels didn't get replaced during our stay - though that didn't bother us.
The hotel was in the perfect location a the top of the main road down to the sea, with restaurants and shops lining the street. We highly recommend the restaurant under the hotel (owned by the hotel) called Chillax. We went twice to Chillax, Monaco and Shipwrecked and loved all three. The restaurant on the left as you arrive at the beachfront gave me Heinz tomato soup for my 'cream of tomato soup' starter which I wasn't impressed with, though the rest of the meal was good.
Overall,
Pros: great location, friendly staff, good pool, great view.
Cons: when we arrived at the hotel we had to part with our passports overnight, we weren't happy about this but we got them back the morning after).

P.S to any young (18-30) folk going here, watch out for people trying to sell you 'boat party' tickets on the street, they asked us for €10 upfront then €30 more on the boat later that week, when I asked if they had any info about it online and they said no so we became very suspicious and walked away as it was seemingly a con.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank 168TomG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from 6 nights here and overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back again to Ca'n Picafort but possibly not at the Africamar for a few reasons I'll detail below, but first I'll start with the positives.
Pros
Friendly staff-they were very helpful and welcoming.
Clean pool area. Pool was cleaned every night and there was nearly always sunbeds available and if they were all taken there were plenty of chairs and tables around the pool which you could use whilst you wait.
Excellent location. Close to the beach and all the bars and restaurants. You definitely won't be short of places to eat and drink! However along the front a lot of the places offer the same menu so it can feel a little repetitive. We can recommend El Gaucho, especially the steak and pork loins and they do a very reasonable 11 euro lunch deal for 3 course and a drink.
Bus stop is a 5 min walk away. We went to Alcudia port and it only cost a few euros. The drivers are also very helpful and announce when you need to get off for certain places.
Great prices for drinks at the hotel. The frozen strawberry daiquiris are a must! Happy hour was on a Friday when we stayed and all drinks were half price with most of them costing 2.25 euros.
Chillax restaurant- We ate here a few times and enjoyed the tapas which was a great price compared to some places. Service was also good and friendly and we weren't left waiting long for food.
Great beach and gorgeous sea. Water was so clear and there are plenty of loungers. I think 2 loungers and an umbrella cost 10 euros for a day so a bit pricey but you could always buy an umbrella from one of the stores along the front instead which is what we would probably do next time to save money. The beach was also very clean and I believe blue flag awarded with life guards and toilets nearby.
Lovely scenery- the views around the bay were amazing.
English speaking 24hr doctors surgeries available.
Lots of supermarkets and close to a bank.
Requested a sea view and got one which was great whilst sitting out relaxing.
Sheets and towels changed regularly.
Cons
Rooms have no air con so got quite uncomfortable. You can rent a fan for 5 euros but it didn't really seem to do much. Luckily it was quite breezy most nights so we could cool off a bit then but as it was so hot it really was needed. Next time we will probably look for a hotel with air con.
Noisy. We had a room facing the strip and as we had to keep the balcony doors open all night to keep cool it was quite noisy and made sleeping difficult at times.
We got a double room thinking it would be a double bed but it was in fact two singles which we had to push together. The beds were not the most comfy either but did the job and the sheets were clean.
Room could have been cleaner. We were a bit disapointed as the reviews on here raved about the cleanliness but parts of the floor were dusty and there was a weird splatter on the bathroom wall- god knows what it was as it was quite high up too! The shower curtain was also looking a bit grubby at the bottom and around the plug hole was rusty looking and the shower hose was a bit grungey too. The towels were clean but rather threadbare and some were stained. The bathroom also had a weird sewery smell at times which wasn't pleasant and was particularly noticeable when the shower was turned on.
Long coach transfer. The transfer took nearly 2 hours and while the coach was comfortable enough it really was a long time when all you want to do is get on with your holiday!
All in all Hotel Africamar is good for the price. We just wished it had air con and that more attention was paid to cleaning and ensuring things like the towels stay looking presentable. Can't fault the staff and the location though as well as the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraeve89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#4 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel JS Miramar
Hotel JS Miramar
#13 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africamar Aparthotel

Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 43, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £40 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Africamar Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Africamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Mar Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Africar Mar Ca n Picafort
Africamar Aparthotel Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing