We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! What a great holiday, definitly going again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Bangor, Co. Down
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant! What a great holiday, definitly going again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

From when we arrived at 3am at night the holiday began. We were offered sandwiches and tea at that time in the morning. Our apartment was a garden one facing the rear which was lovely. The chambermaid service was everyday, she cleaned made beds and replaced the towels, even did our couple of dishes in the sink !
The food was varied, fresh, plentiful and a huge variety of choices at every sitting. You could see it constantly being replenished as the meal service went on. The food service staff was ever there, plenty of people about to help with any questions and needs. Every lunch and dinner had a star attraction course being done on the grill, sardines, steak (mmmmmmmm), langoustines, as well as all the varieties for the kids.
The pool bar had everything as well as a big freezer full of endless ice-creams for the kids. The pool was beautiful, with a slope into it at one end which was a nice safe aspect for toddlers, and very well attended by staff. you were invited to partake in games if you wanted, but I only took part in the aqua aerobics, which was lots of fun.
We were all inclusive and I wouldn't really come here if it wasn't. In so far as the location being too far from the town or shops, we didnt see what the problem was with other reviewers as it is only a 10 min stroll down to the town, you are on holiday where's the rush?? And it's a nice walk too! You are right beside the bus stop for Alcudia and a little "train" ride bus that goes around the local town, both of which we did which were great fun.
My husband used the spa and loved it, it also has an indoor pool, sauna and jacussi, which we didnt use.
At night my 3yr old couldnt wait to finish dinner every night to get onto the mini disco! Which was fabulous fun, we bought the cd to bring home so she has a mini disco at home now. After the mini disco was a new act every night for the adults, which was always good and sometimes brilliant.
We feel the holiday was a major success because of the kids too, as they had all they wanted, drinks ice-cream, disco, food, playgroup every morning, extra little parties, i.e. chocolate party, pirate party! My child was 3 so she used the Thomas Cook playgroup as the hotel playgroup starts at the age of 4yrs+. The girls in Thomas Cook were fab though, and my wee one loved to go, and it gave me some one to one time with my youngest which was lovely. I found my 3yr old learned a lot about making friends and we enjoyed meeting new people too from all over europe.
The town of Can Picafort is small and has enough, with a pretty seaside boardwalk and beautiful beaches, nice shops and restraunts. A great quiet location with good bustle at night. Perfect for families.
To sum it up a fab hotel, really lovely staff, lovely family rooms, great pool, great drinks, great value for money and you'll come home fatter! We are booking it again for next year! With Thomas Cook!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carriestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    297
    122
    48
    42
See reviews for
506
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Wanted to write a review, as I used this website to help me choose my holiday.
We travelled with Thomas Cook, and have a 7 year old and a 5 year old. The hotel, reception, restaurant, and gardens are immaculate. we stayed all inclusive and I think that is the only way to go, as there are no shops on site. The walk to the beach is a 15 min walk through the streets, past houses, so not so great if got loads of bags, inflatables etc.. There is a shuttle bus, but only runs 5 times a day but suited our needs. A taxi to the beach was only 5 euros. Food was varied and plenty of choice, kids loved being able to help themselves. Note/Tip (Trousers need to be worn in restaurant in eve for men)
The complex itself was very safe, the only way in and out is through the reception, although we always kept our kids in sight, we often let them head to the outside stage for the mini disco, while we sat some distance from them and watched. The hotel entertainment and kids club was excellent and entertained day and night. The Thomas Cook kids club wasn't up to much and sadly holiday makers voted with their feet.
Did think it was a bit of a con that had to pay to use the tennis court, and foot ball pitch, considering all inclusive, this wasn't great!
Lots of european families but worked well, encouraged the kids to meet new people! Whilst we were there it really rained, hotel not really set up for wet weather, but does have inside pool which we used a couple of times, entertainment staff set up some games in a bar, to occupy holiday makers.
Generally a nice class of person, without being too stuffy or posh!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MrsASevenoaks_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

we can not fault the hotel vell mari in anyway,rooms,food,staff and entertainment all first class,all inclusive is the best way to go,just cannot thank the staff for the perfect holiday,we will be back next year,only down side 15 min walk for bottled water for room,but when your on holiday whats 15min

Room Tip: book a pool view room,well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TONYH3019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Went with my boyfriend for a 4 night break over easter. The hotel is lovely, set in a quiet area with a short walk to the beach. Was very quiet when we stayed. The rooms are set in blocks and even though we were all inclusive there was still a kitchenette. Our room was huge (more like a suite) with living room, dinning area, kitchen and seperate bedroom. Had a lovely view from the balcony which overlooked the pool. The pool was great, plenty of sunbeds available. It was great that most of it was very deep with one portion a walk in shallow area. Food was buffet style and had something different everyday! Have absolutely no faults with this hotel :D

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank me4president
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We got there on the day it opened for the summer (mid April 2011) so was a little worried when we arrived to see absolutely no one lol. More families arrived over the next day or so but it was still quite quiet. Just a few English families more Geman and Spanish and a few French. By the end of the week it was Easter weekend and the Hotel was bombarded with Spanish families so we were glad to be going as we had got use to it being less busy.

Location:
About an hour from the airport 80euros taxi or ring 'Holiday Taxis' for coach transfer as its about 12euros return i think (pp) they have a website where you can book it.
It doesnt have a shop you have to walk for about 10mins towards the beach before you reach a shop which isnt so great with young children. As we left the coach took us past other areas which had so many shops and arcades that i felt a bit glum as we had a couple of days bad weather and it did get rather boring as even the indoor pool was freezing!

Rooms:
The room was cold and heating didn't work, even though i put it on to 30deg it just blew air out but there was extra blankets thank god! It was also north facing so a little dark. There are quite a few blocks and we were lucky to get block one as some are quite far back from the pool and restaurants etc and a bit of a pain id imagine if you have little ones.

All Inclusive:
You have to wear a wrist band (like the ones you cant take off in hospital.. remember to move it up and down your arm when sunathing haha... shame they dont do photo cards.

Food:
Food seemed to improve as the week went on. It wasnt the best cooked and if anything overcooked salmon/fish etc which was a shame and the paella was cremated being left on a hot plate. There was good choice but nothing to write home about. Specially the deserts choice... Breakfast was ok you had the choice of omlettes, pancakes, scrambled egg (sometimes burnt) english breakfast (mini sausages, tomatoes, fried egg, beans and fatty streaky bacon) pastries, cereals, fruit, toast, cheeses ham etc...

Alcohol - All inclusive
Far from stingy! I asked for a vodka orange and filled it 3/4 full of vodka! Blew my head off. Your allowed bottles of wine and cava at dinner also (rather than just a glass at a time).

Entertainment:
Its mainly for the kids but they do have bingo etc. also. When the football was on in the evening they take your kids to the play hut so you can enjoy yourself at the bar (not something i was comfortable with but it may apeal to others with older children). In the day they also took them (ages 4-8ish) out of the hotel to the park 10mins walk away (again was a bit odd, they just left a note on the hut door saying where the were- not something that would ever happen in england without 400 signitures haha!)
For the teenager, and parents they have lots of activities from tennis to archery etc..


Best qualities: Cleanliness and general look of the hotel is nice and smart

Worst: It needs a shop... locations not that great... and it needs the indoor pool to be heated even the 'hot tub' was freezing lol!

Room Tip: Ask for block one pool facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank messyjessy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

When we arrived the hotel had just opened up so there was only about 30 guests staying here. Pool area nice stayed in block 1 view over busy main road which was quite noisy with dogs barking at night.

Food was poor, luke warm for first half of holiday, never labelled up so you knew what it was, very little choice for children - i literally lived on chips and bread.

Indoor pool and jacuzzi were cold, gym was open but not busy.

At the end of the week the hotel was full mainly with spanish people so food got hotter but still choice very poor.

The hotel does not have any shop so it is a good 20 minute walk into the town bus stop about 10 minutes away.

Last 2 days of holiday they never bothered to open pool bar so children were unable to get icecreams and were being given drinks in glasses to bring to the pool.

Entertainmnet done by hotel, bingo quiz kids enjoyed the kids club and mini disco each night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyfamily92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Nice family resort. Best ll inclusive we ever have had. Well worth the money. The only downside was the temperature of the tap white wine...
Wery helpful and serviceminded staff.
It is almost impossible to live here with no AI. There is no place to buy you own food nearby. 15 min or more to walk to the beach and the same distance to Can Picafort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JomaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vell Mari Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Property: Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 127 | Urb Son Bauló, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Vell Mari )
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vell Mari Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vell Mari Hotel&Resort is located in Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, just 700 meters from the beach of San Baulo with protected white sand of 17 km in length and has an excellent Mediterranean weather almost all year. The Hotel offers its guests a free shuttle to the beach. Over 30,000 m2 of facilities make Vell Mari spectacular Resort for family travel or sports enthusiasts. This Hotel is recommended for fans of Cycling and Golf. Vell Mari puts at the disposal of its clients agreements with the major Golf Courses and clubs of cycling. In addition account with 4 paddle courts, 1 tennis court, 1 minifootball field, mini gym, spa and massage area. This resort consists of 211 apartments of different categories with beautiful views of the lake 2 swimming pools surrounded by full nature. Spacious apartments in small buildings of 3 floors with facilities for handicapped people and private parking for their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vell Mari Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Vell Mari Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Iberostar Sa Coma
Iberostar Hotel Vell Mari
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing