We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful locations and very good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Beautiful locations and very good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Iberostar Vell Mari. There where Marny activities for the whole family, we participated in fit and fun, and our children joined the clubs. Good service, food and beautiful locations. This was our second stay at Vell Mari, and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Berge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    295
    122
    46
    39
See reviews for
500
130
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent a week in July 2013 at Vell Mari and thoroughly enjoyed it. All of the staff were helpful and nothing too much trouble there were lots of young families and the kids club looked well run. Our 15 & 16 year old boys could partake in the activities but it was more geared to younger ones but town is only 15 20 min walk away for an evening visit while the kids club is on after dinner. The food was varied and good, rooms were clean &reception staff always helpful. The only downside was the sun bed hogging by some people who put there towels on at 7 am then not returning till 4 pm. There is not enough room around the pool for all of the hotel residents to use the sun beds at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gussygeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Good holiday but not great and very bad news about next year.

The hotel gives a great sense of security in wonderful peaceful grounds where children can be children. The facilities in the play area though are meagre – one piece of climbing/slide equipment. The pool is segmented with a childrens section – no seperate children's pool or the splash pool mentioned in previous Thomas Cook brochures as “planned” (sharp practice mentioning it at all or genuine inability to build one?).

The food whilst varied was geared towards carnivores with vegetarians an afterthought begrudgingly. The all-inclusive option was good but besides morning coffee in a pot at breakfast it wasn't great cafe. Between meals snacks were school dinner level of 30 years ago. Fruit juices were out of a machine and of not consistant quality and often ran out at peak times. Likewise the cocktails at the bar were machine generated and suffered as a result.

However the staff were genuinely pleasant all round, very helpful indeed with a ready smile.

The Thomas Cook Kids Club was very worthwhile and the reason we came back two times. The Iberostar provided children's entertainment just wasn't up to Tcs – children could wander off as they pleased whereas TC kept children safe and contacted parents/carers (by mobile in our case) if there was a problem.

The Ting Ting train (land train) picked up around the corner from the hotel was brilliant at providing easy access to C'an Picafort's shopping and gorgeous beaches. 3 euros adults and 1.5 for children it offers a 45 minute round trip which can be broken once – there is a long afternoon pause in the service though.

10 to 15 minutes walk to Son Baulo and the nearest beach. The hotel do infrequent 7-seater trips to and from the beach which can get very popular meaning several trips and therefore quite a wait.

Accommodation for our 5 member family was in a 1 bedroom apartment with convertible sofa and a double bed where the table and chairs would normally be in the kitchenette. It wasn't ideal and the décor was dated but the air conditioning worked well and besides with all inclusive and the shows the accommodation isn't a big concern.

Mini disco at 2030 was loved by the children and more adult shows at 2130 were also still child friendly. All this 7 days a week.

All round good holiday BUT …

We checked prior to the holiday the prices for next year and Thomas Cook were advertising a very big hike in prices to the point where we discounted ever returning. It did seem very steep but then maybe the big investment Thomas Cook made in the 3 years we came - where staff numbers increased greatly – had to be paid for!

A big disappointment on Friday 9th August while we were there was the cancellation of Thomas Cook Kids Clubs in the afternoon and evening at little notice – the children were most upset. This was supposedly for the staff to have a meeting – read on …

SHOCKED to find, despite earlier this summer Vell Mari bookable through Thomas Cook in 2014 it is now only available through Thomson!!!! WAS THIS THE MEETING OF TC STAFF ON 9/8 TO TELL THEM KIDS CLUB WAS NO MORE? And with Thomson only the hotel run kids club is available which our experience says wasn't good enough. Prices very steep for half board – if you choose this option and want to do some self catering shopping you will not find it a pleasant experience in that heat with a supermarket 15 minutes away! Added to which a family of 5 now seem only to have a 2 apartment option – family rooms don't feature!

It has to be said that the Thomas Cook staff this year did seem quite glum.

Unless major improvements are destined for Vell Mari for 2014 it simply is not worth it.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best to access lovely grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Get a taxi from the airport ! It's 69 euros. The bus takes 2 hours . The set up of the hotel is great , really safe for kids to have some freedom . The kids clubs are good but the mini disco and daytime activities are all organised through the star entertainment crew and not the Thomas cook kids entertainment . We found the entertainment boring and mostly in Spanish the food is really high standard and staff really nice . I used the spa for a facial and had my hair blow dried and can recommend both these services . The beds were so uncomfortable and there was ants everywhere

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Nellandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2nd year at the vell Mari and we love the place. The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. They all greet you with a smile and a hello and are fantastic with the children. Special mention to Joy one of the waitresses and one of the chefs whose name unfortunately escapes me but they were both lovely and had a really good rapport with my 2 girls. We miss you!! The receptionists are all friendly and again nothing is too much trouble,they even refunded the cost of my daughters nightdress which went out with the laundrey without any quibble! Thank you. (So one tip don't leave anything white on the beds!!)
The hotel is spotlessly clean, yes the rooms need updating but you don't stay in the room on holiday. It was perfectly adequate and comfortable and the air con (worked brilliantly and at times we had to turn it off as it was too cold!!) and fridge were a godsend.
The swimming pool was great, the life guard observant but yes you have to be up early for a prime location and a parasol. We didn't get up early but we always found a couple of beds together but by the deeper end of the pool which didnt worry us as our children are competant swimmers.
Now onto what made our holiday for us, the animation staff and Thomas cook kids club staff. What can I say you are all brilliant and fantastic at your jobs. Thank you for making our holiday unforgettable. Both my daughters adored you all. Special mention for Michelle. Lucy (chocolate girl) loved mini club and wears her medal with pride. And if course the lovely Chelsea Naomi Lewis and Kim (2nd year running of saying goodbye to Kim :( ) we miss you guys but will keep in touch. Praise for them who actually got my older daughter involved in the activities something I never thought she would do so well done and thank you :) x

So why if we love this place have I only given 4 stars? Unfortunately this year the food let it down. We didn't starve but for 2 days my children lived on spaghetti bolognese and chips!! It's fine if you like octopus ,calamari and pork they seemed to feature regularly. However it gives you a chance to sample new things which my 2 did even though they didnt like it! My husband however was in his element!

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, we are still singing the mini disco songs and we miss the reps and the sun!! We would go back again next year however the hotel is now with Thomson and from what I can see on the brochure it is not iberostar either :( so we won't be back unfortunately which is a shame as its a great place to be because for us it was the Thomas cook staff and iberostar animation team which made our holiday that extra special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Fallingbostel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed over the 1/2 term period. Gardens well kept, rooms cleaned to a very good standard every day. Some lovely people at the entertainment they had for the evening. Rooms outdated I.e furniture etc but nevertheless very clean. As always would have to be up at the crack of dawn to Dawn to get a sun lounger which was a pain so often would lie on the grass. Food excellent / point with the life guard the female lady was very observant. There was more than 1 life guard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I am a fussy person when it comes to hotels so was delighted when we arrived at the Vell Mari and found everything was perfect. The food was excellent and the apartment was very clean and a good size for me and my daughter. My other daughter and family were next to us on the ground floor so convenient when sitting out on the patio and visiting each other. The pool is kept very clean and the entertainment was good, especially for the kids. We had the all inclusive option which worked well for us. It is easy to get down to the beach just 10 min walk and Ca'n Picafort is a lovely place, nice in the evening walking along the promenade. We would go back.

Room Tip: Block 4 over looking the park at the back, sunny in the morning and shady in the afternoon. Ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 835david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vell Mari Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Property: Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 127 | Urb Son Bauló, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Vell Mari )
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vell Mari Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vell Mari Hotel&Resort is located in Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, just 700 meters from the beach of San Baulo with protected white sand of 17 km in length and has an excellent Mediterranean weather almost all year. The Hotel offers its guests a free shuttle to the beach. Over 30,000 m2 of facilities make Vell Mari spectacular Resort for family travel or sports enthusiasts. This Hotel is recommended for fans of Cycling and Golf. Vell Mari puts at the disposal of its clients agreements with the major Golf Courses and clubs of cycling. In addition account with 4 paddle courts, 1 tennis court, 1 minifootball field, mini gym, spa and massage area. This resort consists of 211 apartments of different categories with beautiful views of the lake 2 swimming pools surrounded by full nature. Spacious apartments in small buildings of 3 floors with facilities for handicapped people and private parking for their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotelopia so you can book your Vell Mari Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Vell Mari Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Iberostar Sa Coma
Iberostar Hotel Vell Mari
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing