We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week in August with our 3 children. We had a fantastic holiday. Everything about the hotel was great, the pool, food, atmosphere, staff, rooms, entertainment team, we couldn't fault anything. The girls did the cheerleading with Chelsea and loved it! My husband played football every day with Fabio and I enjoyed the keep fit sessions! The hotel staff did over and above their job. My husband had his birthday whilst we were there and the restaurant staff set us a special table and sorted a cake, they even left a bottle of cava in our room which was a lovely gesture. If you are looking for a great family holiday you will certainly get it at this hotel! We enjoyed it so much that we would like to return next year. The only problem is that we cannot get a price from Thomas Cook yet. If the Vell Mari read this review we would be happy to book directly with you!! Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Mnnbvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Came back from eight days The Vell Mari on 28 Aug. The staff were really friendly nothing was too much trouble. Great entertainment in the open air stage area .My grandchildren 6 and eight loved the little ones show on for an hour every night, then it was an hour of adult entertainment a different theme every night. Food was varied and a vast assortment to choose from.show cooking was superb..Suitable for all ages with only a short walk to the beach. I spoilt myself by having a facial and body wrap pure heaven! Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: I had a studio being alone, my daughter and family had a family room,being only two story blocks it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited The Vell Mari for ten beautiful days between the 10th and 20th August. We are family of five, two adults and our three boys aged 14, 12 and 12. I won't go through the usual transfer times to and from airport etc as most other reviews have covered this. I will start with one huge negative though, although this is no reflection of the Vell Mari. Since our return we were so impressed with our holiday that we immediately wanted to return next year and even considered going for two weeks which is something we have never done before. On line we go searching for our beloved Vell Mari only to find that next year this hotel can only be booked through the Thompson Platinum Collection and now the Family Room type that we stayed in which was more than comfortable for our Family of five can only be booked for three people? Meaning we would have to book two rooms. Oh Well so be it lets get a price for 10 nights 2 Rooms at the same time as we had stayed this time. By the way this time we paid £3470.00 all inclusive. The best price we can get through Thompson for next year is..................... £6500.00 (Come on Thompson your having a laugh) I can only imagine that the Vell Mari will pay the price for this eventually as we and others i'm sure won't going back and new clients will be booking elsewhere whilst Thompson have their Claws In.

To the good bits if you can afford them.

Gardens and Grounds absolutely Stunning (5 Star)

Pool and Poolside again Stunning, Safe and Clean (5 Star)

Rooms Dated but very clean and spacious (3-4 Star)

Iberostar Staff from Reception to Entertainment best ever (5 Star)

Thomson Staff Non Existent didn't see anyone from start to finish (1 Star)

Food Initially quite nice but the most repetitive we have come across (3 Star) (Dining Room Staff 5 Star)

Entertainment/Shows Bit hit and miss really, the norm I suppose for family holiday (4 Star)
(Lion King Show brilliant as was School of Rock)

All in all, quite a fabulous place to stay in our opinion, sadly it looks likely that we wont be able to afford to appreciate its delights again :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palmtree005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

On our arrival at the Vell Mari we were greeted by a friendly, enthusiastic receptionist who took us through the simple check-in routine. Our room which was a ground floor one was reasonably equipped with TV and a stove with cups to make our own teas and coffees.
The place was very clean and well turned out.
The restaurant had a really good selection of fresh foods which appealed to all in our group of four. The staff in the kitchen and restaurant were superb and the service top notch.
Pool area was well set out and was always kept clean and tidy by a team of ever attentive multi-lingual staff. The poolside bar was open all day providing hot and cold snacks, drinks and ices for the kids.
Evening entertainment was pretty good too considering it was performed by the hotel's crew as well.
All in all.... a great family complex with something for all ages except maybe late teens/twenties.
The only reason for me not giving the Vell Mari a full five is their beds which, with their thin, hard matresses started to annoy after a couple of restless nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Quiet, friendly, clean family hotel
Rooms are apartments - lots of space !!!
High quality food - lots of variety
Only downfall 20 minutes walk to shops & beaches:-
Ting Ting train stop outside hotel ( every 25 minutes)
Cabs from hotel cost 5 euros
Walk was too much in heat for children so relied on train & cabs
An enjoyable holiday would definitely recommend !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank 2904Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for a week with husband and 11 year old son. The welcome at reception was very good - helpful,quick and efficient.
The room was lovely - don't mind if a little outdated - it was very clean and everything worked. Our room overlooked the beautigul gardens and was in the shade which was great for us.Taking a travel kettle was a good tip by previous reviewers.There was a large fridge with small freezer compartment. The black out curtains were appreciated and to be honest this hotel is so quiet during the night time - a good nights sleep was had every night.We did have a few problems with ants but a spray with our insect repellent saw them off.
The Restaurant served a hot/cold buffet and a chef was cooking throughout the lunch time and evening fresh food served to order.There was a slight problem with the drinks dispensers and a few juices did run out at times.There were some flies landing on the food but we just dug deep and cut the edges of our cheese !
Our son enjoyed the family football sessions held at 5pm every day bar one, but for his age group he got a little bored at times.This hotel is great for young families and the entertainment staff were brilliant with them.
The beach at Ca'n Picafort was lovely - though not a long walk - it seems a long way in the heat of the day.
The sun bed issue was the same for us as other reviewers.It is annoying and selfish.Some groups of people were even " bagsying " the same spot by the pool every sunrise. Not sure what the hotel can do about it. Maybe if sunbeds were allocated to rooms people wouldn't get so obsessed by it.
The pool had a female life guard on duty who was very attentive - this was good to see.
The adult evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss - but it was all taken with good humour - there was one live band called the British Invasion who made up for it all.
We probably wouldn't return here as there was not enough for my son to do , but would definately recommend to families with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grapevine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Let's get the negative out of the way - Sunbeds! We have a 21 month old toddler and it was important to have a sunbed at the shallow end of the pool so that she could play. In order to obtain a sunbed in this location you had to get up at 6am to place a towel on the bed, if you didn't forget sitting round the pool at all. The annoying thing was the majority of beds with towels on sat unused all day. I don't know what the answer is but it's a big problem at this hotel.

Apart from this we couldn't fault the hotel, the food was excellent and rooms spacious and clean. The entertainment wasn't bad as theset ypes of hotel go. Location wise it was a little way out from the town and beach (15 -20 mins walk with a buggy), but that didn't stop us walking in a couple of evenings.

Overall we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank simoningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.4 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
843 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel JS Miramar
Hotel JS Miramar
#12 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Baulo Petit Hotel
Es Baulo Petit Hotel
#15 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#6 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vell Mari Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 127 | Urb Son Bauló, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Vell Mari )
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £55 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vell Mari Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vell Mari Hotel&Resort is located in Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, just 700 meters from the beach of San Baulo with protected white sand of 17 km in length and has an excellent Mediterranean weather almost all year. The Hotel offers its guests a free shuttle to the beach. Over 30,000 m2 of facilities make Vell Mari spectacular Resort for family travel or sports enthusiasts. This Hotel is recommended for fans of Cycling and Golf. Vell Mari puts at the disposal of its clients agreements with the major Golf Courses and clubs of cycling. In addition account with 4 paddle courts, 1 tennis court, 1 minifootball field, mini gym, spa and massage area. This resort consists of 211 apartments of different categories with beautiful views of the lake 2 swimming pools surrounded by full nature. Spacious apartments in small buildings of 3 floors with facilities for handicapped people and private parking for their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vell Mari Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Vell Mari Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Iberostar Sa Coma
Iberostar Hotel Vell Mari
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing