We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean resort. Very nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean resort. Very nice stay.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for short break with my daughter recently. First of all do be aware very long transfer from Palma airport. Can be 2-3 hours on shuttle. Dropping off or picking up people. We got taxi to resort Took one hour. 95 euro! Didn't realise more expensive on Sunday . Wld normally have been 75 euro. We took the transfer back to airport. Never again! Nitemare. Nearly 3 hours! On resort. Everything taken care of. We had couple of issues with room. Was resolved quickly. We had studio but I paid for one bed apartment . Cldnt move us as hotel was full. Just beware if there are only 2 of u. They may put u in studio an put fams of four in apartments. Hotel runs beautifully All staff work very hard. Hotel say they have policy of not reserving sun beds. This still happens. People putting towels out nite before!! Overall lovely resort Was very busy in August Wld go at a quieter time. Definitely wothy of its four stars.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Pamela,

Thank you very much. For us is a great pleasure to know that
your experice in Vell Mari has been great!

Thank you for your confidence and we hope to see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    310
    126
    50
    42
See reviews for
522
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Returned fron a week all inc on 7th August with my wife and sons aged 9 & 13.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was very good appartment was spotless. Did have reservations about the distance to the beach but it was only a 10 min walk away.
The life guard was superb if you needed sun loungers she sorted them out for us, especially if guests had put towells on them at stupid o clock but weren't using them.
All in all a very enjoyable holiday and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamstertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Hamstertravellers,

Thank you very much for your comments!
We feel very happy when we read comments like yours.

Once again thank you and see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this resort, travelling with my 13 yo son. The resort itself was always clean and well kept, I found all the staff to be very helpful and there was always plenty of food choice. The resort is very well located, far enough away from the town centre but only 10 mins to walk in. The receptionists were always very helpful indeed. Never had a problem with getting a sunbed, but a few more parasols much not go a miss. Thomson who I travelled with were non existent throughout, so save money and book here direct, I will! But overall a very relaxing holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Citibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Lee W,

On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your comments.
We our very happy when the expectations of our clients have been covered.

Best regards and see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really liked this hotel, we were delayed in Palma airport due to terrible transfers with Transunion (never again) anyway Vell Mari put on food for us and made us feel very welcome. The hotel was clean and the staff polite and friendly. My only slight issue was the kids entertainment where German was the priority but when you are kids and there is music and singing you dont care what language it is in! They did a show of the Lion King and our children were hooked I could not believe the look on their faces, they did not move, We asked for a room away from the pool and it was very quiet and just what we wanted. The only other thing was the water came out of a machine and people were putting their bottles up to it and putting all their germs round the nozzle, YUK! we therefore went to the local shop and purchased water.

Room Tip: Away from the pool is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Dawn B,

We thank you very much your opinion.

We are very happy to know that you have had a nice experience!!

Thank you once again and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerphilly
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Myself and 12yr old son stayed for a week AI at this resort and had a fantastic time.Good food with the added bonus of eating it on the terrace each day rather than inside a dining room.
We stayed in a studio apartment in block 6 which had a massive roof terrace.The rooms are not that big but ample enough.Bathroom was large and the room was cleaned daily to a high standard.There is BBC1,ITV and ITV2 available should you need it.Good aircon.
The resort is situated in large grounds with 6 blocks spread around it.
There is a small splash pool with a couple of slides for the younger children.This is situated close to blocks 5 and 6.
The main pool is large but possibly not large enough for the amount of guests at peak times .There is a lifeguard(lady) on duty on the main pool who does a fantastic job treating the odd slip.
There is a busy animation programme throughout the day for adults and children.The childrens animators are really friendly and helpful to all the children.There are football pitches and tennis courts for guests to use and the guests are offered the chance to go paintballing and Karting which the animation staff organise. My son loved these outings.
The beach is a 10min walk away and there is a shuttle from the hotel a couple of times a day.
Pool towels are available for a 10 euro deposit and these can be changed 3 times a week.
There is an indoor pool which was enjoyable in the midday heat but beware the walkway down to it is very slippery and I watched a few people slip.
There is a small gym available with 2 bicycles and a couple of weights machines.Personally I would have liked some treadmills to run on and also spoke to a few other guests who agreed.This is perhaps something the hotel could install?
All in all we had a fantastic break and will definately return sometime in the future!
The staff are a credit to the hotel!!

Room Tip: Block 1 overlooks the pool,Block 3 probably the quietest,blocks 5 and 6 close to the splashpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Barry E,

We are very happy to know that you have had a great holiday.

Thank you very much too for tell us your experience!!

Best Regards and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here with my twelve year old boy last week and the resort was exceptional.
I found the service outstanding, the food and drink excellent and the general ambience of the place fantastic.

What i liked was there were no 'job's worths' telling people what they could or couldn't do - it led to a very relaxed holiday knowing that your kids were safe and occupied - the complex even let the children swim in the pool until midnight which was wonderful.

Room was basic, the balcony was massive (could have put in two more bedrooms) but it had everything you needed - first class air conditioning and a good TV with BBC and ITV which was a first for me abroad!

The hotel was full but never found it 'over crowded' - only one bar but the staff were plentiful and efficient so you never had to wait for a drink. entertainment 'so so' but plenty of things to do otherwise.

Ten minute walk to the beach which was well worth the trips at the end of the day to jump around in the waves.

All in all one of the best holiday hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GreenholmeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear GreenholmeBee,
First of all we thank you very much your time in sending your
experience in our resort.

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to have the pleasure
to see you soon in Vell Mari!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the vell Mari. The hotel was great, and the choice of food in the restaurant was vast. The food varied nightly and there was always a selection of fish and meat dishes along with pasta and pizzas. The restaurant staff were great, despite some rudeness and arrogance from some of the guests. The all inclusive was on until midnight also. In the restaurant you could help yourself to soft drinks, water, beer and wine. In the pool bar this was the same, however the barman always served your beer.
The pool was ok, however, this would be my only criticism, it could have done with being bigger and certainly more sun beds were needed. The female lifeguard was worth her weight in gold. She was never still and always patrolled both pools on a regular basis. She also regularly picked up people's litter that they couldn't be bothered to bin themselves, and also hunted for spare sun beds and parasols and took them wherever the person wanted them placing. She was also the pool first aider and did a fantastic job. The poolbar barmen were also great and also very friendly.
The array of food and snacks on offer would mean that you certainly would not starve. Breakfast ran 7.30-10.30, snacks 10.30-12.30, lunch 13.00-15.00, and snacks again 15.30-18.30, evening meals 18.30-21.30, and snacks 21.30-12.00.
All in all would definitely return, although during our last few days the volume of people definitely increased and the pool area became much busier, also the need for getting up to get your towels on a sunbed started to get earlier. Our apartment was kept spotless by the maids, and also on some days the towels were laid out on our beds in fancy designs with sweets and chocolates on the top.
My 8 year old attended the fun club, and had a fab time, with varied activities, but especially enjoyed the morning out go-karting with his dad.
There was a train that ran around can picafort, you could get off and on wherever you wanted. This was 3 euro for an adult and 1.50 for a child, return. This was great to get around on, although the walk to the beach was only about 10 minutes anyway.
We paid extra for a pool view which was worth every penny, and a better view than some clients had that had not had the option of picking a room with a view, they were looking out onto brick walls or the medical centre.
The medical centre is close by, and as long as you have your passport and your E1 11, they will see you, and during my visit I did not have to pay for my treatment.
The hotel grounds were also kept immaculate.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Debbie,
We thank you very much your opinion.
This help us to continue doing the best to cover
your expectation and experience in our resort.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
695 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
956 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
580 reviews
8.2 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
28.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
#1 of 3 in Cala Mondrago
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vell Mari Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Property: Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 127 | Urb Son Bauló, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Vell Mari )
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vell Mari Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vell Mari Hotel&Resort is located in Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, just 700 meters from the beach of San Baulo with protected white sand of 17 km in length and has an excellent Mediterranean weather almost all year. The Hotel offers its guests a free shuttle to the beach. Over 30,000 m2 of facilities make Vell Mari spectacular Resort for family travel or sports enthusiasts. This Hotel is recommended for fans of Cycling and Golf. Vell Mari puts at the disposal of its clients agreements with the major Golf Courses and clubs of cycling. In addition account with 4 paddle courts, 1 tennis court, 1 minifootball field, mini gym, spa and massage area. This resort consists of 211 apartments of different categories with beautiful views of the lake 2 swimming pools surrounded by full nature. Spacious apartments in small buildings of 3 floors with facilities for handicapped people and private parking for their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vell Mari Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Vell Mari Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Iberostar Sa Coma
Iberostar Hotel Vell Mari
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing