We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed but probably wouldn't go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed but probably wouldn't go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just arrived back from this hotel. We went as a family with two small children. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and very we'll maintained, our room was large with plenty of room for us all and a lovely size balcony. We did have an issue with ants but when I called the maid she kindly sorted it and explained that ants were an issue in the grounds as we were close to a pine forest. The pool area was clean and watched by a female life guard who was very friendly and did her job well by walking around checking that everything was ok. The only issue I found was that you had to be up by the crack of dawn to reserve a sun lounger otherwise you would not have one and also I found that there was a bit to many crammed in for the space available. The walk in pool was brilliant also for our children. Next the food, well I didn't go hungry the time we were there but I found that there was not much choice, it was repetitive and just luke warm not really what I am use to and have had a lot better in other hotels, at the time we were there a lot of guests were complaining about the food. The entertainment was good especially the lion king performance and my daughter loved the mini disco and the kids club, the staff made everyone feel welcome and always put 100% effort it. The main resort is about a 15/20 mins walk away but it's through a nice neighbourhood with lovely villas to look at. The sea front has a large promenade but not really too much going on there a bit quieter than I expected. On the whole we had a lovely holiday, it nice clean family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We were in block 2 which was close to pool and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshlass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Welshlass21,
We thank you very much for your confidence and time to write your experience.
We understand that you have enjoyed your holiday and of course with details
to improve from our side.

we have taken note about your comments always trying to provide better service.

Once again thank you very much for your confidence and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    295
    122
    46
    39
See reviews for
500
130
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We returned from a week all-inclusive stay on 12th August and had a lovely time. The food was lovely, with plenty of choice at all mealtimes (with the added option of the poolside snack bar which offers hot dogs, burgers, pasta, salad and pork through the afternoon).

As others have mentioned, we found that the lovely grounds and our generously-sized room were kept very clean indeed. We had a minor problem with ants one day, but this was sorted really quickly when we mentioned it to the maid. The only gripe we had with the stay at all was the availability of hot (or even warm) water in the rooms. We're a family of 4 and there was nowhere near enough for us all to get washed. We mentioned this at reception and just got a suggestion to leave it 10mins between showers. We thought it was a problem with our heater, but we later spoke to a lady there with just her daughter and they were having similar problems.

The hotel has quite an international feel. I'd say over half were German (someone said that the hotel is now owned by a German chain), but there were a fair number of Brits there, too, along with some Spanish and French families. The entertainment accommodated the varied languages. Although I'm not generally a fan of hotel entertainment you could tell that the team worked hard to put a good and varied timetable together. Their production of The Lion King was a definite highlight. In keeping with the hotel being very family-orientated, all music stopped shortly after 11pm and the bars didn't stay open too much later. We didn't take part in much of the afternoon entertainment, but there always seemed to be plenty going on.

Some earlier comments made much of the distance to the resort and the nearest supermarket. Although we didn't find it a problem I can see why it would to some given the heat, especially for those with very young children. However, there's always the bus/taxi/mini-train to fall back on.

Overall, we'd definitely recommend the hotel for a family holiday (not so much for couples or groups of friends).

Room Tip: We were in block 6, near the splash pool. It was quiet (as I'd guess most of the rooms are) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PW606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear PW606,
We thank you very much your time in writing your experience.

We are very happy to know that you have had a great holiday!

Also we have taken very good note about your comments in order to
improve our facilities.

Thank you very much indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My holiday was amazing I would love to go again so I better get saving. The pool is amazing and there is a small pool next to the big pool an an indoor swimming pool as well and that's quite most of the time. The room that I was in had an amazing view, but the down fall on the room was ants they were annoying, but still had a great time. The entertainment during the day and night is really good loved it. The food is great and they change it everyday so I enjoyed that. The kids club that I went to was the best thing ever and I got to talk to a lot of new people and made new friends. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sync P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sync P,

We thank very much for your confidence and comments.
It help us to continue improving day by day.

Thank you and best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for short break with my daughter recently. First of all do be aware very long transfer from Palma airport. Can be 2-3 hours on shuttle. Dropping off or picking up people. We got taxi to resort Took one hour. 95 euro! Didn't realise more expensive on Sunday . Wld normally have been 75 euro. We took the transfer back to airport. Never again! Nitemare. Nearly 3 hours! On resort. Everything taken care of. We had couple of issues with room. Was resolved quickly. We had studio but I paid for one bed apartment . Cldnt move us as hotel was full. Just beware if there are only 2 of u. They may put u in studio an put fams of four in apartments. Hotel runs beautifully All staff work very hard. Hotel say they have policy of not reserving sun beds. This still happens. People putting towels out nite before!! Overall lovely resort Was very busy in August Wld go at a quieter time. Definitely wothy of its four stars.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Pamela,

Thank you very much. For us is a great pleasure to know that
your experice in Vell Mari has been great!

Thank you for your confidence and we hope to see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Returned fron a week all inc on 7th August with my wife and sons aged 9 & 13.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was very good appartment was spotless. Did have reservations about the distance to the beach but it was only a 10 min walk away.
The life guard was superb if you needed sun loungers she sorted them out for us, especially if guests had put towells on them at stupid o clock but weren't using them.
All in all a very enjoyable holiday and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamstertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Hamstertravellers,

Thank you very much for your comments!
We feel very happy when we read comments like yours.

Once again thank you and see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this resort, travelling with my 13 yo son. The resort itself was always clean and well kept, I found all the staff to be very helpful and there was always plenty of food choice. The resort is very well located, far enough away from the town centre but only 10 mins to walk in. The receptionists were always very helpful indeed. Never had a problem with getting a sunbed, but a few more parasols much not go a miss. Thomson who I travelled with were non existent throughout, so save money and book here direct, I will! But overall a very relaxing holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Lee W,

On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your comments.
We our very happy when the expectations of our clients have been covered.

Best regards and see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really liked this hotel, we were delayed in Palma airport due to terrible transfers with Transunion (never again) anyway Vell Mari put on food for us and made us feel very welcome. The hotel was clean and the staff polite and friendly. My only slight issue was the kids entertainment where German was the priority but when you are kids and there is music and singing you dont care what language it is in! They did a show of the Lion King and our children were hooked I could not believe the look on their faces, they did not move, We asked for a room away from the pool and it was very quiet and just what we wanted. The only other thing was the water came out of a machine and people were putting their bottles up to it and putting all their germs round the nozzle, YUK! we therefore went to the local shop and purchased water.

Room Tip: Away from the pool is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vell Mari Team C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vell Mari Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Dawn B,

We thank you very much your opinion.

We are very happy to know that you have had a nice experience!!

Thank you once again and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.7 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Viva Mallorca & Spa
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vell Mari Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vell Mari Hotel & Resort

Property: Vell Mari Hotel & Resort
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia 127 | Urb Son Bauló, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Iberostar Vell Mari )
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vell Mari Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vell Mari Hotel&Resort is located in Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, just 700 meters from the beach of San Baulo with protected white sand of 17 km in length and has an excellent Mediterranean weather almost all year. The Hotel offers its guests a free shuttle to the beach. Over 30,000 m2 of facilities make Vell Mari spectacular Resort for family travel or sports enthusiasts. This Hotel is recommended for fans of Cycling and Golf. Vell Mari puts at the disposal of its clients agreements with the major Golf Courses and clubs of cycling. In addition account with 4 paddle courts, 1 tennis court, 1 minifootball field, mini gym, spa and massage area. This resort consists of 211 apartments of different categories with beautiful views of the lake 2 swimming pools surrounded by full nature. Spacious apartments in small buildings of 3 floors with facilities for handicapped people and private parking for their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vell Mari Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Vell Mari Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Iberostar Sa Coma
Iberostar Hotel Vell Mari
Vell Mari Hotel & Resort Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing