We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not sure what all the gripes are about....”
Review of Zafiro Mallorca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zafiro Mallorca
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned back from 10 days at this hotel with the family

The Good:
Decent location away from the tack of the beach front
Excellent Buffet breakfast - catering for every taste
Rooms impeccably clean - we had a 1 bed apartment with the kids sleeping in the beds in the lounge. facing away from the pool so was quiet.
Great pool area - for kids ours were in non stop. Not good if you want to swim!
Activities- for kids and adults- non stop (if that's what you want)
Reception excellent to sort out anything from bikes to car hire
Spa
Supermarket on site although not the cheapest had everything you'd need
On site laundry - I think we came home with cleaner stuff than we took....

The not so good:
Service in the bar areas- was slow, I guess if people are All inclusive it saves money by having a few staff.....
No loos in the main restaurant area- real gripe with two kids who drank too much and then needed the loo!
WiFi was truly rubbish- which is a gripe nowadays, but to be fair it meant we talked to one another!
Main evening buffet was a little too much choice, would have preferred a narrower choice and better quality. The waiter service for drinks was pretty poor- you'd get one drink and then have to hunt them down for a second..... They have a strange system where only certain waiters can take orders, the others are runners which makes it harder to order.
Gym - is poor, again not for everyone and was pretty empty but the kit needs to be replaced and improved.
Evening entertainments - were pretty average. If I can please get the 'Bufour' song out of my head.....

Oh and did I mention the sunbeds...... we booked this based on the reviews and organised our own trip/ transfers- it's predominantly a German hotel, this didn't bother us at all apart from the sunbeds- the stereotypical towel bagging of the beds by 8.30am was a pain. The hotel can do more to stop this but didn't. There are a few notices about but they really need to deal with it.

Room Tip: The pool view with Garden was good for the daytime avoiding the busy pool area. however lacked priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Geordie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Non-working wifi and no ability to fix it makes the stay terrible. Not working in the rooms, and not in the public areas, Reception area, etc. Tried to say to Reception that they need to fix it, but only received arrogant answer.

Hotel otherwise good.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Serrae_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Serrae_1985,
Thank you for having chosen our Viva Mallorca hotel and for your time to write a review.
We are very disappointed to read that you left the hotel feeling so let down due to the internet problems.
We have checked our Internet connection and it is true that recently we have had some problems with it, but we have followed it up and now it is working perfectly.
Anyway, we are aware that we did not meet your expectations and that is the reason why we are very disappointed. Please, accept our apologies for the inconvenience we have caused you.
Your sincerely
Natalie Rodriguez
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 nights at the Viva Mallorca in mid July this year (me, my wife and 2 young kids).

Overall it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is located in the edge of town about 10 minutes walk to the beach and main restaurants + shops. We stayed self catering so visited several restaurants, would definately recommend this as the all inclusive rate is a bit of a rip off to be honest, I reckon we saved around £50 a day going self catering and ate better. We did eat in the resort restaurants a couple of times, which were okay but nothing more.

The good points of the hotel are as follows:

•Excellent swimming pool and splash play area
•kids play area is good
•the over 18 area is a nice idea although it was frequently populated by under 18s which defeated the point of it somewhat.
.The food at the resort is pretty good, though not amazing.
•The rooms are cleaned regularly and fairly spacious
•staff are friendly and helpful
•evening entertainment is ok
•You can still get a sun lounger at 9am
• lots of activities during day, eg football, water games, the hotel did make a real effort in this area.

Areas to improve:

• Food could be better considering how high the all inclusive rate is, circa 150 euros a day.
• Rooms are fairly basic
• shower temperature was a bit dodgy in our room, went hot then cold with no warming. Nearly scalded me on several occasions.
• lots of Germans so facilities like kids club and food is naturally more catered for them.
•not sure this is the place for kids over say 10 years of age (high boredom risk).

Overall though we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this as a place to go on a family holiday.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Thewhitfields4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Can't really fault it.. Spotlessly clean, great animation team and friendly, helpful staff. We were self catering so can't comment too much on the food in resort but some local gems well hidden off the main tourist track. Recommended.

Room Tip: Not all garden rooms get the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Spaciecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a week as a family of four in a privilege room (sleeps four + garden).
The hotel is ok, kids loved the pool and the onsite supermarket is well stocked, rooms are a good size and fairly clean. However, the food was really awful and really brings it down and service is average at best. We've stayed in two other similar hotels in the area (playa del muro & puerto pollensa) in the same price bracket and have always been really pleased but it really is bad particularly in the poolside bistro. Spaghetti bolognese that consists of pasta with tinned tomatoes and club sandwich with bacon fat but no (really, no) actual bacon meat, some egg white, no discernible chicken.
Overall not terrible but it's very expensive for what it is and there is better on offer in the area. On a par with butlins / haven.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SouthWestL-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear SouthWestL-a,
First of all, I would like to thank you for having shared your comments of Viva Mallorca with us. We are very sorry, that we have not fulfill your expectations, with regard to the food that you ordered at the Pool Bar.
We apologize for that, but we are surprised as it has been very well valued by other guests recently. As we want to keep this good level of satisfaction, we will take note of all your comments and we will take them into consideration.
Thank you very much again for your constructive message. It is very important and useful for us that our guests share their impressions. This kind of feedback gives us the opportunity to improve and to offer an exclusive service to our guests.
Your sincerly
Natalie Rodriguez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is good for the family. The food is very good and different menus are available every night (at noon too, but only in the great hall).
Many activities are available for children.

However, the evening entertainment ends at 22:00. It's too bad, some parents would love it continues a little ...
The rooms have soundproofing problem: especially when the maid comes in the early morning in the adjoining rooms.

Making these two details, this is a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Titi2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Bad things - no wifi on balcony, on the evening we had to do our job when kids are sleeping-we had to do it in the room. Room view-street-very laud during the night/morning. Lots of them doesn't speak English especially lady at the pool, also she was a bit rude,one day she told us to move the things from the sun beds, it was around 7pm. Every evening after dinner we moved to terrace where was entertainment for kids but sometimes with the drink from the restaurant (often I couldn’t finish my drink during the dinner because kids wanted to see the program for them) and we felt unwelcome, we asked an ashtray but noting, only if we ordered another drink. I payed my drink in the restoaurant so I don't see what is the problem?
In app. was a very bad smell. The lady’s from housekeeping were too loud.
Also we wanted to visit Palma and we asked for a bus, they offered to buy us a ticket but they didn't told us that it will be a sightseeing tour with the bus and it took 2 hours and half, we were with two small kids and that is not recommended.
Everything is geared towards the Germans like nobody else exists.

Good things- entertainment for kids

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Luoni,

First of all thank you for having chosen Viva Mallorca to spend your holidays and for taking your time to write a review.

Please, accept our apologies for the inconveniences you suffered with the Internet. We have been improving our Internet service and working on it and it works perfectly at the moment.

Regarding your view room street, I am more than pleased to recommend you to choose another type of room for next time, like a pool view one, for instance, and an upper floor. It will be quieter.

I would like to thank you again for your comments as these are the basis of the improvements of our services.

Natalie Rodríguez Macho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,048 reviews
3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
846 reviews
5.3 mi away
Zafiro Tropic
Zafiro Tropic
#12 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,080 reviews
4.8 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Mallorca

Address: Avenida Santa Eulalia s/n, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Mallorca & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#3 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: £56 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location, services, facilities and gastronomy are the features which make the Zafiro Mallorca hotel the ideal accommodation for some unforgettable holidays with your family or couple in Can Picafort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zafiro Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Mallorca Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Viva Mallorca Aparthotel Hotel
Zafiro Mallorca Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing