We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, great pools, difficult to fault” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Mallorca & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Viva Mallorca & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, great pools, difficult to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed for two weeks in mid August with wife and two daughters aged 8 and 10. We all had a fantastic time. All of the good reviews are absolutely true. If you want to go to a decent 4 star hotel with great facilities, food, pools, entertainment and staff then I would highly recommend Viva Mallorca.

It's hidden away but don't let that put you off - to us it was better that it wasn't in the hustle and bustle of the beach area. The entrance lobby is impressive and leads into plush landscaped gardens that are impeccably maintained. The apartments are a decent size with the girls on the sofa beds in the lounge area. Microwave, fridge, hob, etc in kitchen - enough for lunch, etc. Safe in room for a small fee plus deposit. Air conditioning is really effective. Our room faced the rear which was fine - a real sun trap in the evening, but you can pay a bit extra if you want pool view or ground floor terrace.

The pool area is superb with three interlinked pools of different depths. The entire place is so clean, never any dirt or litter around. The pool is cleaned daily by an army of staff early in the morning. Towels available from reception for a small deposit. Can be changed every few days. Adult pool and covered sun beds for no charge - well respected by everybody. Plenty of sunbeds around until about 9.30am. Staff collect towels off unoccupied sun beds before 9.00am. Lots of grassed areas if no beds available.

The staff are great and are very helpful. The entertainment reps run everything really well and are not too in your face if you don't want to participate. Thomas, Peggy, Tiina, Paul and Kellie - thanks a lot guys. The girls didn't use the kids clubs much, but enjoyed them when they did. They tended to spend most of their time in the pools playing with new friends of many different nationalities.

The mix of nationalities is a real plus point and contributes to the atmosphere of the hotel. Dutch, German, English and Irish mostly - all very friendly. Lots of stuff for the grown up kids to do - archery, rifle, water polo, volleyball, football - all reasonaly well attended (even the football in 100 degree heat!). The odd injury cropped up - how's the finger Richard?!

The food is great, even for fussy kids. Plenty of choice and variety at breakfast and particularly for dinner. Stayed half board which was plenty. If you eat and drink a lot then all inclusive might be worth it, but not for us. Supermarket on site obviously more expensive than the large supermarket 5 mins down the road.

Evening entertainment was pretty good. Lots of shows which were fairly entertaining. They have a kids show a few times before the main show which is a good idea - High School Musical a particular highlight for our girls.

We booked separately over the internet about 8 weeks before we went which seemed a fair bit cheaper than booking through Sovereign or travel company. Hired a car for the fortnight to travel around a bit - Soller, Cap de Formentor, Marineland, etc - all worth a trip.

All in all a great holiday. We would highly recommend Viva Mallorca - it really is difficult to fault. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    189
    41
    14
    4
See reviews for
433
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Wow - great holiday. We travelled with our 2 boys age 12 and 10. I cant fault this holiday. The Wavelenght people were fab . Everyone was really were great. Boys made loads of friends and had a great time. They were kept busy at Wavelenght most of the day. All the entertainters and in2action guys were brill. Loved all the pools and also nice to sit in the huge air conditioned bar when heat to much. Hotel staff really friendly and laid back. They were really nice to the kids aswell. Nothing was too much trouble for them and. everyone was so friendlly. The snack bar was great and we never had to queue long for food or drinks. The restaurant staff were really efficient. Food was great, plenty of it. Plenty of sunbeds. Could normally find some even after about 9.30 in the morniing. The poolside entertainment was great. We loved 'whirlpool' and 'chocolatte' I dont know about the alcohol being watered down - but if it was - thats not a bad thing especially with the heat.The rooms were great with separate bedroom and a separate bath and shower. Cleanng staff were always around. Really quliet around room areas. No loud music playing so you could go to bed and sleep. (a real bonus to get a good night sleep - especilly with kids).layout of village was great.The beach was a 10 minute walk for us which was fine. Lovely beach although .we only got there twice as too busy having fun at the village. I could go on forever. This was the best holiday ever. I have even been lookiing for last minute deals and will probably go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megs11Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

This is a really nice hotel, set in lush green gardens. From the outside it doesn’t do the hotel justice, but once you get past reception, it is really nice. I have never seen such lovely gardens, that are so well maintained. The reception staff are friendly all except one, who shall remain nameless, but the rest are lovely, On arrival, we were allocated an apartment at the back of the complex, overlooking a road, albeit a quite road, but I wanted to be able to see the pool, so it cost us another €140 for an apartment overlooking the pool, The ground floor apartments have their own mini gardens with wooden sun loungers but to be honest, most people used the pool to sunbathe. The apartments were spotless, with plenty of towels supplied, There was a large walkin shower in the bathroom with shower gel supplied in it, Cooking facilities were minimal, but then, it’s the holidays, who cooks, TV had MTV all the rest were German chanels (I think- they weren’t English anyway). There was a small shop on site – fine for bread rolls in the morning and the newspaper but if you wanted any more than a few items, the supermarket is just a 10 minute -or less walk away. I think it closes on a Sunday . There is also a launderette on site which is free, down by the supermarket. It also contains a small gym, and sauna.

The only thing I would comment on, and it is not a negative thing honestly, is the mix of nationalities. The mix was German, Danish, Netherlands, small percentage of English, and a miniscule percentage of Irish. I think this is because this fabulous hotel is not pushed by Falcon on the Irish market. I found for the first day or so, it strange listening to so many other languages, and English being the least heard, but you know what, I got used to it, and just seemed to find others from England or Ireland around me too, and I would have to say from a personal point of view, it was definitely a good choice. There was no loud noises, no music blaring, people had respect for their neighbours, they talked quietly on their balconies, and once the lights dimmed at night, they went to bed. Oh and speaking of lights, at night Citronella Candels were lit around the pool to keep away mosquitoes, not every night, but obviously when there was a threat of an invasion, the candles were lit, also after 12 midnight, the security guard came around all the little mini gardens and folded up all the mattresses from the Sun loungers, so they would not get damp, (nice touch I though).

The entertainment was fine, It went from 10 a.m until whenever. Sometimes the entertainers were still around at 12.00 at night, the entertainment was varied, the water aerobics was a big hit every day, with the pool full as was the Waterpolo. Everyone seemed to get involved, perhaps again it was the mix of nationalities.

Can Picafort of itself is good, the absolutely best place to eat is “Monaco”, you cant miss it, it is filled every night, we were spoilt for choice there and it would have taken three weeks to try everything on the menu. It is also reasonable.

We didn’t try the beach as it was really hot so we just stayed by the pool but I do know it was lovely.

Trips: the only one we went on was the catamaran boat trip, which goes up around the top of the Island. It wasn’t cheap at €60 p.p but we decided at the end of it, that it was well worth it, we dropped anchor three times and got to swim in the sea, which was just glorious, and we also got a BBQ lunch which was cooked in front of us with any amount of drinks and watermelon to finish.
Anyway, to sum up. Would I go again, most definitely, would I book a “VIVA” hotel again, absolutely most definitely, the standard of cleanliness from the pool to the apartments would put a lot of other places to shame. There were a whole host of cleaning people around the pool on a couple of occasions (probably 8/ 10 cleaning staff) all cleaning and hosing down the sunbeds, the terrace, washing the ashtrays etc, your feet never got dirty when walking around barefoot, and I think that says it all,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

THIS WAS A FANTASTIC HOTEL..... I DON`T KNOW WHERE TO START .
WE HAVE TWO CHILDREN AGED 7 AND 4. This hotel was perfect ,very clean, pools at different depths all with a very aware life guard! entertainment was very acceptable too.
we booked direct with the hotel, and did all inclusive as and when which wasn`t a problem at all. 43euro for adults and 18euros for kids from what i can remember, and under 5`s were free. always loads of choice at dinner, and breakfast, believe me you won`t be disappointed, my son of 7 has celiac`s disease and they even catered for him !!
we payed extra for a ground floor room which had your own sun beds and garden, which was fantastic when the weather got too hot for the children,as we could still sit outside and enjoy the sun while they watched a dvd ( we took own one and hooked it up to the tv as the room doesn`t provide one) . Please do not over look this one you won`t regret it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trudyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

I was expecting the hotel to be slightly more luxurious than it actually is! We didn't found the staff that helpful and there seemed to be a lack of staff. Never anyone around the pool area if you needed assistance if you needed anything you were referred to reception who didn't really do much. Yes the grounds are lovely and well maintained and of 4 star quality but unfortunately the service was not of 4 star quality. The hotel is located about 5-10mins walk to the main pedestrian street, its up hill on the way back so not ideal with a hot and moaning 5 year old. Can Picafort is relatively quiet compared to Alcudia which suited us and it was a nice mixture of nationalities, nothing to loud or garish. The town needs updating and the sea front is a little dissapointing. There are some good restaurants if you look for them, we enjoyed meals at a spanish restaurant at the end of the sea front and also restaurants in the main pedestrian street. As with other reviews 'Monaco' is worth trying. We met some really nice people and our children enjoyed their holiday. Our daughter was not over keen on the kids club or nor was I! They do not take your name, room number or where you are and were quite happy to let your children wander off on their own. I got the impression that the entertainers did not have any direct childcare experience unlike other kids clubs we have been to. There was a slight bias towards germans, dutch etc but I think this is mainly due to the fact that the resort attracts mostly germans and the dutch. All in all the holiday was good, my daughter had a lovely time spending all day in the pool, the adults pool is also a nice touch shame people ruined it by not adhering to the rules and allowing their children to jump in etc. The pools are also very good for small children with our 1 year old having a fabulous time splashing! We would definetely go back if the service improved although there did seem enough happy with it. Was a bit shocked that we were charged £15 for use of the safe for a week plus 5 deposit and yes supermarket is expensive but we found everywhere expensive and no cheaper than England and sometimes even more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Just back from a 2 week visit with our 2 children age 5 and 8. Had a great time. Aparthotel is very clean, spacious and well looked after. All Staff very friendly. Kids had a ball. Pools are fab. Stayed self catering but pool bar food was lovely. Be prepared to be surrouded by Germans but we did find some English speaking families too. The kids club team are very nice and brilliant with the kids. Plenty of activities organised all day for those kids who want to get involved. Especially loved my aqua aerobics class with Ajve. She was brilliant! All in all a great family holiday. Apartment nice and big. We had a room on quiet side of hotel which suited us fine. Shop on site is a bit pricey but check out Supermarkets nearby which are much cheaper. Also Eroski shop is cheaper still if you take a left on main street down hill from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Stumbled across this place on line when searching for an ideal family hotel that could offer us a packed fun holiday for the kids - but with 4 star plus surroundings and service. And for that I was prepared to pay a little more. If you've got a car and get out and about away from the adequate but uninspiring beaches of C'an Picafort, the Viva Mallorca provides a fantastic base. The kids (5 yr old twins) adored the kids pool with slides and BUFO the super dog on-site character. The shows are bearable and mercifully inaudible once inside your room. The kids mini-disco themed show ended at 9pm when adult entertainment commences. We generally skipped the adult shows (although there was an endearing stab at Grease) but regularly congratulated ourselves on choosing the hotel. The design is very clever - you always feel like there is more than enough space. Pools are great and very clean and everything runs on atomic clock efficiency. Which of course it would as the chain is German owned. Yes the clientelle is mostly German, thus the food is geared for their pallette, but frankly it's a superior environment to what you find at many English dominated resorts. If value for money is not your most important consideration I would strongly recommend the Viva. I'd go room only - the breakfast was very good but not good value unless you have a Mr Creosote level of appetite about £12 a day (50% off for the kids). The rooms are fitted out so well you could easily breakfast in your room like Kings for half that. Restaurants in town were formulaic but we were lucky to have been recommended to visit Monaco. Which we did literally every other night as the food was so superior to the other restaurants with almost identical menus. One more thing - we had considered Viva Mesquida - and it is an utterly beautiful beach and very attractive hotel/resort. We spent a day there and we were glad we had decided on the Mallorca as the Mesquida feels very enclosed, there's nothing else to do in the resort and as far as we could see there no English people at all.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunburntDadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.4 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
3.0 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.5 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
5.3 mi away
Viva Tropic & Spa
Viva Tropic & Spa
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Mallorca & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Mallorca & Spa

Property: Viva Mallorca & Spa
Address: Avda. Santa Eulalia, s/n, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Mallorca & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Mallorca & SPA is the ideal solution for families and couples looking for a first-class holiday in the north of the island. This Aparthotel in Can Picafort has it all: modern facilities designed to offer maximum comfort; a fully equipped and refurbished Spa with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, indoor pool, aromatic showers and Scottish showers, a pebble pool and a massage service; large gardens and sun terrace with a general pool, a children’s pool with games and a Pirate Boat, and an exclusive chill-out pool with Balinese sunbeds; spectacular, spacious rooms with every amenity; buffet style and "a la carte" restaurants where you can enjoy the most varied and succulent cuisine. Above all, in Viva Mallorca & SPA guests are guaranteed top-notch service and a program of activities to suit the holidays of the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Viva Mallorca & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Mallorca Hotel Ca`n Picafort
Viva Mallorca Aparthotel Hotel
Viva Mallorca & Spa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing