We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet holiday for couples”
Review of La Luna Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Luna Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We are a couple in our early 30s and we stayed the first week of August in La Luna annexe. My concerns that we were staying in an annexe rather than the Levante Hotel were unfounded, the walk to the Hotel for dining was literally a 2 minute stroll around the corner. You use your bedroom key to gain access to the annexe main door and it feels a bit more like your 'own' space rather than being in a crowded Hotel.
The annexe is pleasant, nice views from the rooms, the usual tea/coffee making facilities, tv (with British channels for my soap operas!), hairdryer and enough wardrobe/drawer space etc.
Food is as was expected of a Thomson; plentiful and very enjoyable. Dining room felt a bit like you were in a basement with only one side of the room having windows to the outside world. Needless to say you had to get there early unless you wanted to be in any of the dingy corners. Dining after 8pm meant there were no tables that had not been used by previous guests and we did have to 'lay' our own table on a few evenings as the staff were so busy - although not a major problem to us.
Dont expect to get a sunbed at the Hotel unless you are up at the crack of dawn. There are nowhere near enough beds for the capacity of guests in Levante Hotel, Levante Park and La Luna. And it seems Brits dont read signs that forbid putting towels on sunbeds, early one morning I went out to get a place where there were around 5 people on the sun loungers and the rest of the beds taken up with towels. On the 3rd day (and for the rest of our holiday) we took our towels to the beach, who can be bothered having to run out at 8am when the terrace opens to fight for a sunbed on your holiday?? This really needs to be addressed as I see it's quite a common gripe for holidayers!
Location is lovely if you are after a quiet holiday, this is not the place for those who want to party all night! Lovely restaurants with amazing views of the sea line the promenade, you can walk into Cala Millor literally in 10 minutes - the reps told us we could get a bus but this is unnecessary unless you are infirm or lazy! Cala Millor beach is gorgeous (much nicer than Cala Bona just outside the Hotel), soft white sand and no rocks here so you can swim right out in the sea.
Day trips are a bit pricey with Thomson but for convenience having them pick you up outside the Hotel and bring you back with lots of help in between, they are worth it. Pirates dinner is super excellent, as is the lazy catamaran boat trip. Highly recommend both of those. We did the waterpark day trip which I would not recommend. Most of the morning was spent queuing for lockers and inflatable rings.... both of which you had to pay for on top of your entry which was pricey enough to start with. A food voucher was included but due to one of the eateries being closed while we were there, we had to queue later in the day for another hour and a half to get burger in a rather stale bun - couldnt help but feel it was a wasted day and a waste of our euros.
To top the holiday off, we had a lovely relaxing fun time; if I heard somebody had booked to stay here then I would certainly not say they had wasted their money or they would not enjoy it. However I would probably not book to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ginster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Myself and my husband have just returned after spending a weeks holiday here at the La luna (annex building for Levante / Levante Park). Its half board accomodation and the food is faultless. If staying at La luna you will eat at the Levante Park. The accommodation is spectacular and the service is brilliant. Calla Bona is a beautiful place very flat and within easy access to all local amanities. The entertaintment put on by the reps is pleantiful in the day, and the night time is also of a good standard i.e: shows. The hotels are excellent and the staff cant do enough for you.
Great for couples of all ages.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 105 at la luna the best sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank linziharrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is the annexe of the 'Thomson Gold' Levante Hotel and is furnished to the same standard. Meals are taken in the 'Levante Park' and are excellent in every way. Lots of organised events during the day at this hotel if you want to and excellent evening shows which all Thomson gold hotels have. Because you have to cross the road for your meals this hotel is quite a bit cheaper than the Levante and is represents good value for money. We stayed for two weeks and didn't want to come home It is for adults only and that can't be bad.!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carolshusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The La Luna is a small annexe to the Levante and Levante Park hotels which are next door, they operate as Thomson Gold Hotels. Along with the adjacent Gran Sol they are all part of the Leva Hotels group. La Luna has a rating of 2* compared to their 4* - the reason being that as it is an annexe it has no facilities of its own - you use the dining rooms, bars, pools, saunas etc etc of the Levante / Levante Park. Apart from the minor inconvenience of walking 100 yards this is no great problem.
The rooms are a little on the small side but are well appointed with fridge, kettle, tv (BBC1,2& News, ITV1, SkySports1, Sky News, CNN and a selection of Spanish, German channels). The en suite has a small bath with shower over. It is all very clean and kept in great condition by the maid on a daily basis. Beds are firm but OK, also on the small size.
Beach towels are provided in room for the Pools. There is a small balcony.
The food is pretty much standard Thomson fare with a choice of breakfasts and about 5 mains each night. There should be something for everyone. We were less excited by the food than others we talked to.
The clientele are mostly elderly / retired and the hotels are run to appeal to them. The organised entertainment - bingo, quizzes, exercise classes, boules etc etc - I suppose are fine if thats your thing - likewise the evening light entertainment.
Cala Bona itself, being all on the level, likewise attracts the elderly and the infirm; if you are looking for an active holiday with a lively night life this is NOT the place for you, but if you are just looking to relax and stroll along the sea front and around the little harbour (where there are some good restaurants) then this might suit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Boro_Traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 1_Tulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencia Son Floriana
Residencia Son Floriana
#15 of 19 in Cala Bona
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 6, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:2 star — La Luna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing