We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location and food, shame about the service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panetosto

Panetosto
Ranked #21 of 63 Restaurants in Cala Bona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Fab location and food, shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our holiday, on both occasions early evening, around 6.30 -7.The food was gorgeous, we sampled pizzas, pasta, steak and Caesar salad and the mohito was one of the best I've ever tasted....however our visits with young children became very stressful once the meal was over and we asked for the bill.The restaurant became very busy around 8pm and on both visits we waited at least 20-25 mins to pay for our meal.The kids found it quite difficult to sit and wait at this point in the evening.if only they had more staff they would be able to turn around tables quicker and actually cut down on the waiting time that some people experienced for a table.I would recommend eating here but not at the busiest times or with young children or if you are in a hurry!

Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    147
    55
    30
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely staff, lovely food can't complain :-) had pizzas and children had kids meals. Ordered couple portions of chips which weren't very big portions but overall food was lovely

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Eventually”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

After waiting over 40 minutes for a table we dined at a fantastic table overlooking the med.

The food when it arrived was superb, the 'Il Calzone' was excellent. Everyone else's food in our party was excellent too.

The food is of a reasonable price and so is the drink.

The only downside is that you have to wait so long for a table.

I would definitely recommend here, just my advice would be book first.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JHarrison1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service - decent pizzas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Its not only the fact that the most senior service employees are very arrogant and makes you feel like your request to buy the foods is an inconvenience nor is it the fact that the owner (a stereotype italian middelaged man) drops by and yells at the staff with no regards to the customers....

No, the thing that makes this place a truely bad visit is that when something goes (pretty) wrong with an order, they send the most junior guy they have to stand in the fire. He was extremely sorry (for something he didnt do and should not be accountable for) but had strict instructions to do nothing about it....such cowardice topped with the arrogance and general hostility of the senior staff is just plain unacceptable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-pigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“How can you get it so wrong?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

First up- the food was excellent, fantastic sharing plate starter of mussels, crostini, squid & salad chock full of flavour. Mains were spicy pizza with added anchovies- result! Spaghetti Carbonara- the best my wife had ever tasted! Son's pizza- demolished!!

So if the food is so good how can you get the service so wrong?

Arrogant, even rude kids as waiters/waitresses. No acknowledgement when you arrive, like you are doing them a favour! We waited 20 mins to order drinks then another 10 for them to arrive. We're ready to walk and they finally take our food order. No apologies, no smiles. We timed a couple standing in the entrance waiting to be seated for 13 MINUTES!!!

Such a shame as the chefs are top of their game but we did not leave a tip and we will not be going back.

Helpful?
Thank blizzard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panetosto also viewed

 
Cala Bona, Majorca
Cala Bona, Majorca
 

Been to Panetosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing