We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went as a solo traveller and loved every minute.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protur Alicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Just back from a week in the Protur Alicia. This hotel is spotless. Staff were all friendly and nothing was a bother to them. Single room was very modern and comfortable with a pool view. Entertainment was excellent. Plenty sunbeds and spacious pool area. Food there was plenty of choices for everyone both at breakfast and evening meal. You get an invite into the El Mar restaurant. Al a Carte (was amazing). Felt totally safe around the hotel and resort. Cala Bona is so peaceful and relaxing. Most people i had spoken to have been back at this hotel more than once. I will be able to say that next year when i go back again. Chris you have an amazing personality and Hotel Alicia is very luck to have you on board.

Room Tip: I had a pool view which was fine, but when i book again i will ask for a sea view. Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elspethdickison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

Speed of check in - quick. Room, small but really clean with nice decor. View (sea) brilliant with an absolutely fantastic sunrise. Meals - one of the best we've experienced. We have had three hols recently, one in Fuerta and the other in Menorca. All cost approx the same. This was the tops for food. The Fuerta one's restaurant was in a dismal gloomy basement with little choice in food. We thought that the Menorca one set the standard but Alicia beat it. Staff (under the direction of Louis Theroux lookalike Maitre d')were hard working' and helpful. Entertainment at night was one of the best, something nearly everynight and also not repeated in the second week.
Entertainment manager/compere was a star...he could have read the telephone directory and made you laugh.
The only shortcoming was the grounds were a bit smaller than we were used to, but if you had a look at the other Thomson hotel in Cala Boner (which was a Thomson Gold), that seemed smaller.
Thomson rep was always on hand as well and really helpful.
This is one hotel we'd go back to

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Have just returned from a 2-week holiday at this hotel. Absolutely brilliant! The food was excellent - smoked salmon for breakfast to the best sausages & bacon I've ever had in Spain! Great choice for breakfast & dinner. Restaurant manager & his staff very helpful. Room views were the best ever! Opened the curtains onto a spectacular view. Rooms not very big - not much room between bed and dressing table but we managed no problem. Bathroom was a bit small however - but adequate. Everywhere very clean. Cleaners always very cheery with an hola in the morning if we met them. Bar staff excellent as well - nothing too much of a problem. Pool area very good with plenty of sunbeds & brollies. Entertainment in hotel very good - laughs with the comedians, sing-a-longs with the musical guests and party-feeling nights especially with the Abba night. Rod Stewart also very good (what a resemblance!). And who can forget our Chris! What a man - can turn his hand to anything. How can we forget his bingo at 9 each night. 88 - two fat ladies wobble wobble!! A hoot! He was very hard-working - always around during the day for the games if you wished to play and then in the evening for the mini-disco if kids should be around and then the bingo - and still there while the entertainers were on. Protur are very lucky to have hime - hope they are paying him enough because he was definitely the biggest asset to the hotel.

The biggest bugbear however was the cycle path in the resort. Woe betide you if you strayed onto this when browsing the shops! We went to the nearest beach each day which was adequate. Quite rocky but there was a path through these that was sandy and took you in deep enough to dip into the sea and cool down. For any swimmers it was no problem as you could just swim above the rocks. We paid 10.5 euros a day for our 2 sunloungers & brolly. This compared favourably with Cala d'Or two years ago when we paid 11 euros. However Cala Millor's beach was the best by far - no rocks just soft sand. It was about a 10 minute stroll if you preferred. Cala Millor was also the better resort for shopping - had loads of them. This resort is much more German inclined while Cala Bona is more British. Our weather in the first week wasn't very good so we got a bus timetable from Reception and just popped on the local buses to places where we wouldn't normally have gone so saw quite a bit of the east coast. Also took the Thomson trip to Come Fly with Me. Brilliant night - well worth the money. Listen to the singing and watch all that goes on on the stage - that way you won't miss too much, It's about a one hour journey there and back but it's worth it to see the show,

All in all - a brilliant holiday despite the weather setback in the first week. Hotel just great as was everyone working there - and the guests. We met so many really nice people - very friendly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JKDScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We visited the hotel last September and it was brilliant. I can't add much more to the already great reviews. But what I will add is that after spending months searching for this years summer holiday we have decided to go back as nothing else we found matches the alicias location and we know we will have a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yemm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The Alicia Hotel certainly lives up to it's reputation - see previous reviews.

Cleanliness is second to none with teams of cleaners sweeping through the hotel first thing every morning.

Restaurants are also excellent - ensure you try the speciality restaurant that you are invited to once during your weekly stay.

Sergio is a brilliant Restaurant Manager

The hotel is geared to the more mature customer, as is Cala Bona.

Definitely not for the 18 - 30 crowd

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tomUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you were very pleased with your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Alicia Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here with my other half's parents (who had been many times before) and we are in our thirties. The hotel is spotless and well maintained, with lovely new decking areas overlooking the pool. The staff members are friendly and really welcome it if you make an effort to speak Spanish (as most people don't really bother, despite even going there every year for the last 20 years!)

The clientele is british- exclusively so, but then Cala Bona is a brit resort, while Cala Millor had more German guests. The average age was about 65 when we were there, and we were the youngest in the hotel by far. This may have been because it was early May and out of season. The weather was perfect though in the mid 20's. There is nightly entertainment (bingo etc) which caters for the older age British so we gave it a miss, instead preferring to go out into Cala Bona. The food is great- it is buffet but it is good and plentiful. The drinks are also good value- a bottle of cava was 10 Euro.

The hotel is in a decent location, quiet and right by the beach. The beach is full of seaweed though in early May so be careful when you visit if this is your main reason for coming- they started to clear it in mid May with diggers. The resort caters for all tastes- it is fairly quiet and there is a mix of British owned/catered places doing the obligatory Bisto and roast dinners, but there are some fabulous chic and funky bars and restaurants offering decent tapas and authetic food.

The hotel pool is lovely but very cold. A good spot for relaxing. There is also an indoor pool which is small but rather nice too. Our room was very clean with a view of the pool. We were amazed though by the stunning seaview room that the 'parents' had got! Worth it but they tend to get booked by the high volume of repeat guests. The carpark is great- right next to the hotel which makes it very easy to rent a car for the week.

Room Tip: Reserve the sea view room well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sure that the information you give will be useful to others who visit us. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Alicia Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

we visited the alicia for two weeks, the hotel was spotless, the staff were friendly,assertive and very professional at all times. we had two rooms on the first floor with a sea view, the room size was large plenty of storage space, tv, hairdryer,toiletries provided, air-con,phone etc, maid service daily was excellent, I never saw a speck of dust /dirt for the two weeks during our stay.
Chris the man who ran the activities was excellent, activities catered for everyones needs and not pushy, the evening shows were of a good standard and varied.
The bar staff very professional and always welcoming, the outdoor pool area clean and had a life guard during daytime hours which was very reasuring with our young children.
resturant- service always excellent , always clean and a good,varied selection of food during breakfast and evening service. overall we had a exellent holiday no complaints , well done to all management and staff at the Alicia, we will return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,010 reviews
36.4 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Alicia Hotel

Address: C/ Na Llambies 26, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Alicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Atrapalo so you can book your Protur Alicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Protur Alicia
Protur Alicia Cala Bona
Hotel Alicia Cala Bona
Protur Alicia Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing