We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alicia experience 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Alicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Alicia experience 2013”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Returned home after another pleasant stay at the Alicia.The hotel was as good as last year apart from our room.We were allocated room 520 which is on the top floor,everything good apart from the bathroom where you needed to be a contortionist to sit on the toilet.This was the only negative I can honestly report. Chris Jay who looks after all the entertainment deserves a special mention for his tireless effort on behalf of us holidaymakers,although some of the evening acts were at best mediocre at least there was something on every night.The Management must be congratulated for having a terrific staff where nothing is too much trouble and cleanliness is the norm.Look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: the higher the better and as far from the lifts as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    354
    71
    12
    6
See reviews for
275
868
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from our two week holiday at the Protur Alicia Hotel in Cala Bona, the room was clean and the views from the balcony are stunning. The weather was fabulous which also added to the holiday, but oh the mosquitoes.

Sergio the restaurant manager was so efficient and and so friendly, and we had a very warm welcome from him when we first went into the restaurant. The food was adequate, although I have one gripe, I think pork every evening was a "bit much" at times, but we could always find something we both liked, and the salad bar was excellent. Our waitress was lovely, always smiling. There was not a problem with the food or the restaurant, but some of the very elderly guests pushed and shoved there way around the restaurant without any consideration for others, we also saw quite a few guests, taking the ladle out of the soup, tasting the soup and putting it back in, and one gentleman actually washed his hands in the water where the ice cream scoops were kept, and so very many people do not use the hand sanitizer before entering the restaurant, quite an eye opener. There were a lot of elderly guests there.

Victor the Thomson Rep was a "sweetheart" very approachable and helpful, one of the best Reps we have met.

The evening entertainment was good, and we enjoyed a game of Bingo. I do think the hotel caters for more elderly guests, and do not think it would be suitable for children, not much for them to do in the hotel.

Chris was brilliant as usual, and we enjoyed the afternoon quizzes. We also met some lovely people whilst staying at the Alicia.

The Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

All in all a wonderful holiday, and the weather was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Went to Alicia last October going again in 3 days time can't wait. Hotel ,staff and food 110%. Chris the entertainer is one nutcase, he is brill at his job. Well located lots of things to do Stanley's tea room is a must 1 min walk from hotel. Went with out-laws and brother and sister-in-law came 3 days later with my niece. All of us going again. This hotel should be on everyones must do list.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We were returning guests and found the hotel just as good as our previous stays. Receptionists were all very friendly and helpful. The Dining Room staff were mostly ok just one female who always looked unfriendly? Sergio was Fantastico and he helped arrange a Birthday cake for us as a surprise for my mother-in-laws 71st Birthday along with the able assistance of Enrique & Lyndsey on Reception so thanks to them all. Sara one of the waitresses really stood out always smiling and very pleasant it was also our luck to have Sara serve us on our invited night in the El Mar Restaurant which I have to say was a much nicer experience than some reviewers suggested. Our rooms were all next to each other and were kept spotless by the cleaning staff. The views are absolutely stunning and really make your time spent on your balcony very pleasant. Cala Bona & Cala Millor will always hold a special place in our hearts and the Hotel Alicia does too. If you are thinking of booking go ahead I am sure you will love it. Thanks to All the staff for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186312Tonyp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our second holiday at the Alicia. The hotel is in a great location and is kept spotlessly clean.
We travelled with our young daughter (2years) those travelling with young children be aware there is absolutely nothing for children at this hotel September/October and most of the time she was the only child in the entire hotel. This didn't bother us as we went the same time last year so knew this would be the case.
The swimming pool in my opinion is the most disappointing aspect of the hotel as it isn't heated this time of year so my daughter wasn't able to go in at all during the holiday. Due to the way the hotel faces the sun doesn't warm up the pool until later on in the afternoon so we rarely stayed at the hotel during the day.
The restaurant is clean with a good choice of food. We did however notice that the standard had dropped from last year when the hotel was a platinum. We did however find something to eat every night so it wasn't a problem. Sergio the head waiter in the restaurant is a credit to the hotel and couldn't do enough for us and our daughter.
The Alicia is a very friendly hotel with people returning year after year, we found a lot of the same people there from last which was nice.
Not a 4* hotel compared to others we have stayed in but an excellent 3* and worth a visit!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went back to Alicia again this September and once again it was superb. Had a great sea view in room 301, nice and clean. Sergio in the restaurant was great and the food was very nice. I would recommend you take up the offer of the gourmet night.
Chris is head of activities and i have to give him special praise as he is very friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel is perfect and i would suggest you take a short stroll along to Stanleys Tea room for your lunch......FANTASTIC !!
We have already booked for next September.

Room Tip: Always ask for sea view. But i would recommend you ask for floor 3 or above. As floor 1 is immediate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our second time at this hotel and we weren't disappointed. We requested a high floor - and that was what we got, on the 5th floor with an excellent sea view. The hotel was very clean.
Though we didn't need to make too much use of him, Victor was by far the best Thomson rep we have come across. He was very efficient & enthusiastic.
The food was very good. We were also allowed one evening meal in the El Mar Restaurant. This was a nice treat. I don't understand why a lot of people don't seem to take advantage of it.
Though not all the entertainment was to our taste, those we did see were very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Alicia Hotel

Property: Protur Alicia Hotel
Address: C/ Na Llambies 26, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Alicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Alicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Protur Alicia
Protur Alicia Cala Bona
Hotel Alicia Cala Bona
Protur Alicia Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing