We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, clean comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Alicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Staff, clean comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for a week before the hotel (and resort) closed for winter.

The main public areas of the hotel are stylish with lots of seats available, the rooms decor is dated but clean, tidy and everything worked. Bit of a drag on arrival having to give deposits for pool towels, safe and TV remote!?
Most rooms have a sea view which is great, on an evening we liked to have the patio door open to the balcony so we could hear the sea whilst winding down for bed. Cleaners visited every day and kept the room very clean.
Breakfast was great, loads of choice cooked, fresh fruit, cold meat and cheese as well as a chef on hand for omelttes and pancakes. We left feeling stuffed every morning. Evening meals were not so great, I was slightly concerned that they classsed 'chicken popcorn' as vegitarian, the standard of food was ok just not a great choice and sometimes odd combinations. In the El Mar I personally had a nightmare, starter (soup) was great however the pasta was way overcooked, verging on mushy, then the stuffed courgette was overcooked again very watery and mainly stuffed with mushrooms.
Pool area was lovely, a bit too cold (end of Oct) for a swim but was nice enough to dangle the feet in on warmer days.
Majority of the guests were alot older but as we wanted to relaxing holiday and not a party this suited us.
For a cheap last minute deal at the end of the season it was a good holiday but don't think I would like it in the middle of the season.

Room Tip: Sea view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    354
    71
    12
    6
See reviews for
275
868
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Half term and we decided to reward our granddaughter for her 0 level results. Difficulty getting a single room but we found one at the Alicia so took a chance on a 3*. Had emailed regarding rooms, received swift response, and our request met for rooms on the same level. Efficient, welcoming and very friendly staff. Fast check in. Be prepared for a deposit for pool towels, 15 euros each which is returnable.
Everywhere was spotless. Front entrance is on street parallel to promenade but a couple of minutes either way and you are at the seafront. Hotel is midway between Cala Millor and Cala Bona centre. Easy walk in either direction. Cala Bona is not as picturesque as some of the resorts in Majorca but it had what we needed for a week’s holiday, despite it being the last week of the season there were still places open.
Alicia has an excellent large bar and entertainment area, better than some higher grade hotels we have used. The lounge had a TV for when the large screen in the bar was unavailable. Free WiFi available in this area too. The noise from the bar did not interfere with the quieter lounge area. There is an indoor pool but we used the outdoor one as the weather was kind.
Entertainment was on a par with that in most hotels these days, including Thomson Gold we have used recently. The entertainment team worked hard throughout the day and evening but were not pushing you into taking part in anything.
We had no problems getting a bed around pool or lawned area and also got a sunbrolly. There is a sunbathing terrace outside dining room. In the height of the season perhaps there could be a shortage of shade but we were told there were sufficient sunbeds.
Bedroom good size for two with adequate storage facilities and air-conditioning, our balcony overlooked the sea. Normal size bathroom, certainly bigger than the cruise ships we’ve used. The single room also a decent size with as much storage space as the double and a balcony overlooking the pool. Charge for safe which is not unusual even in the 4 and 5 star hotels we have used and this safe was the biggest we have ever had and much the easiest to programme. Fridge available at a charge. We were not bothered at all by any noise as the corridors and bedrooms were carpeted. Small problem with air-conditioning dealt with immediately.
In the dining room many of the tables were close together and there is limited space around the buffet area. I should imagine in the height of the season the dining room could be crowded. Food not too bad, good choice at breakfast but in the evening there were monotonous choices on the salad bar and the main course choices were sometimes better than others but could usually find something. It was the last week of the season perhaps this made a difference.
Tried El Mar restaurant and it was nice to be waited on but I chose the Hunters Meat, it was tasty but my piece was very fatty – it was three days before the hotel closed down so that may have been all they had available.
We had a very relaxing holiday at this excellent 3* hotel. Would recommend to friends wanting a good hotel in the Cala Bona area especially in early or late season and can understand why they get so many repeat guests.

Don't use Thomson rep much but Victor was good and informative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazelnut1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed for 4 days at the Alicia, as good as last year, the view from the balcony is fantastic, very quiet as there is no road so no traffic noise, just the sound of the waves. We visited the restaurant each night when it opened and sat outside which was lovely and quiet, never had any problems with getting our food, there was loads of choice, and all to a very high standard, Sergio the head waiter is gentleman and works so hard, he remembered us from last year, and I am sure there are lots of returning guests as there is just something really special about the Alicia. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: High floor, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My third stay at Alicia over a span of many years; I can even remember it from Portland Holidays era.I booked a week accommodation-only through Thomson from 19 October twin room with sea view and half board.Excellent price presumably because end-of-season. It was brilliant value but that doesn't mean I should ignore what wasn't of 4T quality.

What wasn't up to the mark:-

1) En suite bathroom was too small for comfort.About the size of a cruise ship's.No extractor or fan in the bathroom so it soon steamed up.No bidet (no room).

2) Soft furnishings' patterns and material a throwback to the 1980s. Time to ditch the blankets and get duvets.

3) Salad buffet ingredients never changing by the day but very fresh.Lots of choices of hot dishes for dinner but too many of them didn't appeal to me at all.I know they can't cater for all tastes and I always found something I fancied.Carvery varied widely. Pork and lamb was just about OK but paella and fideua as the carvery on 2 nights?

4) E2.45 for a large measure of Larios Gin in hotel bar was excellent price.But E1.85 for a small bottle of Nordic tonic seems excessive.

What they should be proud of:-

A) Staff service standards, at all levels.

B) Cleanliness. Eg I went to the pool bar late afternoon for a lager. Under the table next to mine was a small puddle of spilled drink. As the bar waiter delivered my drink he saw it and immediately phoned for a cleaner to come and mop it up.She was there with her trolley within 2 minutes.

C) Show cooking at dinner and eggs chef at breakfasts.

D) Restaurant wine prices very fair. Good selection including Majorcan wines.

E) Bathroom towels very white and fluffy.

F) Some of the live evening entertainers (but not all).This is where Thomson Gold Hotels have a definite edge that is worth paying for.

G) Hotel's car park is no charge.Barrier operated by your room keycard.

In summary Protur is a respected brand with consistent standards and one that I would seek out in future.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

just returned from this hotel, we had a lovely sea view room on the third floor. the bar and bar staff very good and also the entertainment. the one disappointment was the dining room the food was ok but we found it very crowded whatever time we went in,i think it would be better if the restaurant opened at 6.30 this would prevent the queues and so many people getting to the food at the same time. hopefully they can improve on this area of hotel management.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janymskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is spotless, location good,staff are lovely, Chris the entertainer is great.
Rooms are spacious with lovely sea view but I think they are ready for an upgrade, i.e. new curtains and bedding.
Food is very good but the dining experience is a nightmare at dinner with queues and far too many people in the dining room. I wonder if 2 sittings would alleviate the situation?
Restaurant manager and staff are great but I think some guests leave their brains and manners at home - barging in front of you, taking ages to get their food etc.
Overall a lovely Hotel with friendly staff and Chris and the Thomson's rep are excellent, just need to address the overcrowding at dinner please.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 44dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Returned home after another pleasant stay at the Alicia.The hotel was as good as last year apart from our room.We were allocated room 520 which is on the top floor,everything good apart from the bathroom where you needed to be a contortionist to sit on the toilet.This was the only negative I can honestly report. Chris Jay who looks after all the entertainment deserves a special mention for his tireless effort on behalf of us holidaymakers,although some of the evening acts were at best mediocre at least there was something on every night.The Management must be congratulated for having a terrific staff where nothing is too much trouble and cleanliness is the norm.Look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: the higher the better and as far from the lifts as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Alicia Hotel

Property: Protur Alicia Hotel
Address: C/ Na Llambies 26, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Alicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Alicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Protur Alicia
Protur Alicia Cala Bona
Hotel Alicia Cala Bona
Protur Alicia Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing