We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protur Alicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for a week (4th April - 10th April.
The staff, without exception, were the most friendly we have ever come across anywhere.
The hotel was cleaned and maintained to a very high standard.
There was a good selection of well-cooked dishes at breakfast and dinner. The restaurant was managed very efficiently by the lovely Sergio - his attention to detail could not be faulted. Antonio, Pepe & Abdul looked after us very well in the dining room in spite of the fact that at times it was extremely busy.
Bar staff were also very attentive, in particular Ricky & Juanjo. Drinks were reasonably priced. There was a nice selection of items on the lunchtime menu if you needed it.

The animation team were excellent, consisting of Chris and Natalie, with plenty of daytime activites to suit all if you wanted to join in, such as darts, rifle shooting, pool and a daily quiz. They were never pushy or in your face if you did not want to take part.
Really enjoyed Chris' guided walk to Cala Millor market - he knows so much about the area.

The outdoor pool was too cold at this time of year, despite the fantastic weather for early April.
There was a heated indoor pool and the jacuzzi was as warm as a bath. Also a small gym

The evening entertainment started with a mini disco for the kids, followed by Bingo & then a musical act.

The Thoson rep, Hannah, knew her stuff & it was nice to get tips on the best places to eat (try Stanley's tea rooms) and directions to the supermarkets.

75% of the rooms had a sea view overlooking the promenade and the small rocky beach - the sunrises were stunning.
The rooms were cleaned every day, linen changed once a week & towels as often as you wanted. The rooms were spacious with a nice shower over the bath and plenty of mirrors.

We hired a fridge for a week (€20) and we also hired a safe, which was so big even the laptop fitted in it!

A cycle track runs from Cala Bona through Cala Millor and on to Sa Coma - the hire of bikes is very popular as the area is so flat.
Plenty of bars and places to eat along the sea-front.

Would definitely recommend and would return.

Room Tip: There a a few 'select' rooms which have a large decked balcony & you could hire loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OharaKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

917 - 923 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just come back from a weeks holiday in Cala Bona where we stayed in the Protur Alicia. We had a great time and we were very lucky with the weather it was sunny and warm all week apart from a couple of hours one morning when there was a see mist which cleared around 11am. The hotel is fantastic, could not fault it in anyway. The sea view rooms are amazing perfect location. As it was so early in the season the pool was too cold to swim in but there is an indoor pool as well. The food is incredible first class and the waiter service is also very good. There is evening entertainment every night which I can't comment on as we always went for a walk after dinner instead. The resort of Cala Bona in my opinion is perfect we have been there 3 times (first time at this hotel) and will go again (to this hotel).
I must mention Eileen and Pedro's Spar shop, it is 100m from the hotel (out the door turn left). Eileen is English but has lived in Majorca for 40 years, the shop doesn't look much but you should give her your business she is a lovely lady, she loves a chat as is very friendly she will make you a roll for your lunch any filling for 1.70 euro.

Room Tip: If you can chose a room between 1 and 18 on any floor you will get a little longer sun on your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from this hotel after 12 great days. This hotel was one of the best we have ever been to,it is spotlessly clean and the food was excellent and varied and the staff especially head waiter a gentle giant of a man so happy and welcoming and hard working to make sure every thing perfect. The rooms are big and spotless and the cleaner always cheerfull as were all the staff.The food in the snack bar at lunch times were good prices and beat outside cafes hands down in our opinion. The daytime entertainment was very good thanks to Chris and the lovely Natalie, they both work so hard and made our stay lots of fun.This was our forth visit to the Alicia and we will return again. Thank you to every one.

Room Tip: We like the sea facing rooms although they only get the morning sun the sun rising in the morning is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

October Half term break, situated between Cala Bona and Cala Millor - Cala Bona has a little harbour very beautiful lots of places to eat around we frequented The Rope and Anchor most days for lunch and free WiFi.
Hotel food varied and plentiful.
Entertainment typical Spanish hotel -bingo - singers and various acts.
Worth a try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our second trip to the Hotel Alicia, we went in April for 11 nights over easter and had fantastic weather, we stayed 2 weeks at The Gran Sol in August for nearly the same price as the Alicia and then we went 2 days before the October half term and had glorious weather again, between 28 - 30 degrees for the first 5 days.

I agree with some of the other views, as it was the last week of the season the evening meal was really poor, paealla 2 evenings, pork and ham, each night seemed to be the same for the main course part, the soups were ok and the desserts were nice. On our last but one evening when we ordered our wine the waiter said he thought they had run out of that one which did not impress us, sad they were running it down so much and didnt offer choice or nice main courses. The meat on the grill section is always overcooked.

The staff are what make this hotel so lovely and again Chris who does the entertainment is lovely, we dont actually like the entertainment and go out for a quiet drink some were but it is good for people who do. The hotel is spotless clean although this time we did have a small cockroach and some ants in our room which my husband disposed of. The biggest shame is the rooms, they are so dated and the shower curtain is a nightmare, the shower causes a wind tunnel and the shower continually sticks to you and the bathroom steams up.

It was really hot when we stayed there unusually so, we had to sleep with our patio doors open as the rooms were so warm and although the air con was on it wasnt very effective.

On a plus side I love the hotel and location, it was very peaceful in April and October and a good price on both occasions. I have stayed here in August one year and would not want to do that again, it is too maniac, people getting up early to put their towels on sunbeds and not appearing to late in the day, noisy and totally maniac in the restaurant and quite hotel.

I wish the Protur group would do the bedrooms and lounge area up, they have taken over several hotels in the area like the one that used to be the Riu in cala millor and are totally gutting it.

I would definitely return early or late season not August as the resort is so lovely for walking, riding and getting out and about, you can walk along to Costa Los Pinos, up to Son Servera, up to the castle through the nature reserve, along to s'illott, sa coma and then catch a bus to several areas like Cala Ratjada, Porto Cristo.

Room Tip: Avoid the height of the season such as August school holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank holidaymad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the first hotel I had even been in that made me feel so welcome, from when we first arrived to when we left. The hotel was right on the sea front. We had a large room overlooking the sea. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean.
I am really fussy when it comes to food, but I enjoyed every meal, it was hot and really tasty. I adore fruit and there was always plenty of fresh fruit. Pedro and Sergio worked so hard and looked after us.
There was an indoor and outdoor pool and a small gym, Plenty of entertainment at night.
We went out every day and walked for miles, it is so flat and so much to do. From riding bicycles to boat trips. At nights we walked down to the harbour where we went into a bar, so my husband could watch his football.
On the down side you had to pay for the safe, remote control for TV and pool towels, and there was not a kettle in the room, but that did not worry us as there were loads of places to get drinks. As we went two weeks before the end of the season it did become quieter and more bars and shops closed down. But I would still like to go back again. Cala Bona and Cala Millor is a great place for families.
We only went on one trip out and that was the orange blossom trail. It was expensive but the views from the mountains was worth it, the monastery was very interesting, and then we went to Sollar and went on a tram, followed by a train ride back through the mountains.
We found a great shoe shop called Don Diego, and enjoyed coffee at Champions with Frank & June, and in the evening went to the Rope & Anchor for drinks by Lois & Donna.
A really lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Missymoomoo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stopped at the Alicia for a last minute half term break. Have been to Cala Millor for the past two years at this time so knew that things would be quiet.
The hotel occupies a great spot in between Cala Bona and Cala Millor. Our room had a stunning sea view and was quiet despite shops underneath. The hotel staff were exceptionally good and the hotel is spotless.
Food at the hotel was on par or if not better than I expected for 3*. Breakfast choices were ample but a bigger selection of nice breads and rolls would improve the choice. Food in the evening was good with a varied salad buffet and then various mains and desserts. I enjoyed the fish options each evening but could have chosen several options each evening. The restaurant manager was superb and did everything to make us feel special each day. Good choice of reasonably priced wines.
The entertainment is not something we choose a hotel for (we would far rather have a quite hotel bar) but did end up going into the bar and lounge area as the weather was bad and stopped us going out. The entertainment team seemed to be doing a good job and the acts chosen were not bad however the Bingo Bongo was really not our scene :( Great drinks service in the bar from the bar team.
I would not have paid the price which this holiday was originally offered at but did think that the holiday was a bargain for the reduced price we paid.

Room Tip: Sea view all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paleninteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Alicia Hotel

Address: C/ Na Llambies 26, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Alicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Alicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Protur Alicia
Protur Alicia Cala Bona
Hotel Alicia Cala Bona
Protur Alicia Hotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing