We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,587)
Filter reviews
1,587 results
Traveller rating
1,064
417
83
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,064
417
83
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolsea viewa la carte restaurantselect roomrooftop barlovely hotelnext yearrestaurant managerfirst floorlarge balconytoilet and showerevening mealdining roomplenty of choicehead waiterevery nightsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,587 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at Protur Alicia last week, with my two teenage sons, nice and central to everything,fantastic view. Room was nice a little dated but still nice and they are having a refurbishment next year. Loved sitting on balcony in evenings.Everywhere lovely and clean and tidy, pool was nice, and could always get four loungers any time we went, which was fab. Paid deposits for towels and remote control and got money back at end, which was fine. Hotel had a lovely relaxing feel with a mixture of ages, which suited us. Didn't stay for entertainment as plenty going on outside, but didn't fancy any of the acts but that's was our choice.
Food was a little hit and miss for us some nights but we always found something to eat,and everything was fresh but what makes this hotel is the staff, the reception staff, cleaning staff were fantastic, and Sergio in the restaurant was outstanding, so helpful and kind, he gave a very personal service, I felt like I had known him for years and all the restaurant staff were lovely a real asset to the hotel. Thank you all for a lovely week! ps don't buy mellon on the beach in Cala Millor as she wouldn't give us our change back and charged us 20.00 euros for 3 slices.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - it makes the holiday
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 293gillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location of the hotel was perfect for us,with fabulous sea views from our balcony on 4th floor.It wasn,t in the middle of town which suited us fine but just a short walk to Cala Bona's attractions and a slightly longer walk to the sandy beach at Cala Millor.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful.Our room was spacious and air conditioning was very welcome.We hired a fridge-perhaps next year after the re-furb these will be a standard in all the rooms.
There was a good variety of food at breakfast and for the evening meal again the staff were brilliant in keeping everything running smoothly and we enjoyed our a la carte meal included in our Thomson package.
The beach at Cala Bona is a bit rocky the one further along the coast at Cala millor is sandy and has more activities.We took the little tourist train to a little cove at Los Pinos in the residential area which we enjoyed.
The boat trip in the glass bottom boat from the Marina was a fun way to spend an afternoon.
We didnt really bother with the hotel entertainment but usually went for a walk around the harbour area and a coffee and brandy at the Kashmir Restaurant-brilliant value at 2euros 20!
Palma is about an hour and half away-make sure you get an express bus!The little tourist train is good value at 4euros and is an hour round trip.
We had a 3:30am flight home and had booked a late check out-we were able to stay in our own room till 6pm and then store our luggage in the lockable storage room till pick up time.

Room Tip: Higher sea view rooms are good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

3 stars is average and that's perhaps a bit unkind but 4 stars is very good and it wasn't that either. Call it 3.5 and 'good'. The hotel was spotlessly clean EVERYWHERE. All of the staff were friendly and helpful from cleaners to reception and entertainment staff. Good position next to the sea (although the local beach wasn't the best in the area) and close to the town which had a great atmosphere and some good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Our room (with sea view and balcony) was simple, clean and comfortable. Good shower and always hot water available.

Breakfast was served 8-10am, evening meal 7-9pm - perhaps somewhat restrictive timings as when it's hot people tend to like to eat later in the evening. However many residents were of retirement age and apparently queued outside the restaurant at 7pm so perhaps the hotel was catering towards the majority. Choice of breakfast was pretty good but the quality of the cooked food was average at best. The coffee was undrinkable (from a Nescafe machine) - we went to the excellent Nelson's Bar just down the road for coffee every morning - we were the only tourists there and got a great welcome and great coffee. In the evenings again the choice (and variety day to day) was really good but it was a buffet arrangement and again quality was OK, not great - probably to be expected from a buffet setup. Foodies should opt for B&B and eat out in the evenings - plenty of good restaurants within 10 minutes' walk.

The outdoor pool was lovely but the big disappointment was that it was available for use only between 10am and 6pm. So no early morning swims and if you got back late from a day trip you couldn't cool off in the pool even when it was still 30 degrees and sunny. The pool was attended by a lifeguard and 10-6 is her hours of work - when she's not there you can't swim :-(

The indoor pool was closed when we were there although it had the same published time restrictions.

One more negative - evening noise. Our sea-view room (most of them are) backed onto the pool/bar area where the entertainment took place. There was live music every evening some of which was good, some average and some awful. We stuck it out most nights but if you want to sleep before 11.30 take earplugs. I don't know how parents with young children got them to sleep. The Alicia entertainment finishes about 11 but the hotel Atolon is in front and to the side of the Alicia (on a promontory sticking into the sea) and their live music goes on until about 11.30 and is very loud. So we had Alicia music from one side and Atolon music from the other. They don't mix too well.....

Overall a good hotel but not a brilliant one. Not sure who we'd recommend it for - most residents were retirement age and upwards but that could have just been because we arrived before the school holidays started. We wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms without a sea view (just a pool view) won't get so much noise from the hotel next door but they also won't get a cooling sea breeze. Still, they all have aircon - go for a cheap room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have to confess that reading reviews a few weeks before our holiday I was so dismayed by the prospect of staying an old people’s home that I tried to change it. Thomsons said no it couldn’t be done though, so it was with some trepidation I took my two teenagers to the Alicia in July for a post GCSE / A level holiday.
It’s true that for the first few days there were mostly over 60s. Then there was an influx of other families with older teens, taking advantage of the pre school holiday prices for a post exam break.

Overall the staff were very hard working and welcoming, the food was good but there were some things which really let the place down.

LOTS OF EXTRAS

20E for a fridge in the room
5E for a tv remote
20E (I think) for the safe
15E deposit PER TOWEL for pool towels which you couldn’t change daily so we still had to dry soggy towels each night.
Extra to have the advertised sunbeds on your terrace if you have a first floor room.
Protur why not just factor this in to the room price as it all feels very penny pinching?

LOTS OF RULES
No diving – in the deepest pool I have ever come across. OK I accept there are safety issues but it seemed OTT.
The pool is not open until 10 and closes at 6pm and you are forbidden from using it outside those hours. We sat there at 6pm while the pool attendant stacked up beds all around us.
No eating by the pool.
Men to wear long trousers at dinner. I knew this before we booked and while I despise this kind of snobbery we packed long trousers which the men put on for half an hour each night to eat dinner…….and then changed back into shorts.

ROOMS
Beautiful. Spacious and I loved the washed blue furniture. The view was fabulous, but the Alicia does not have the monopoly on views as many Cala Bona hotels are on the sea front.
There were plenty of hangers and a huge safe. The air con in our room was very effective but in the room next door where my children were it was barely functioning.

FOOD
Worthy of 4*. Lovely breakfasts and a wide range of choices in the evening. My only criticism would be of the very weak coffee (catering for British tastes perhaps?) and the nasty sweet orange liquid masquerading as juice at breakfast. I chose water after day 2.
Breakfast finished at 10am which was unpopular with my teenagers, although greed won over sleep. I suspect early risers would be equally unhappy at having to wait until 8am for their breakfast.

POOL
Very deep, you could only stand up in the shallowest corner. This made ball games a little hard work. Also very cold. I was surprised at how cold it was for July, the depth and the fact that it was in shade in the morning may have affected this. The children’s pool was not suitable for the very young as it was about 2’ deep and you couldn’t really let a toddler paddle.
The sunbeds were plentiful, especially if, like me, you wanted shade. We never went down before 10am and never had a problem getting 4 beds for our party. It was only on the last day when we had to be up early that I saw several sad people putting towels out at 645am. Just why?

ENTERTAINMENT
A bit too low key and not very flexible. While I am sure the water polo isn’t the favourite among the oldies it was the most looked forward to activity by our party. Although it was done every day a miserly 14 minutes was all there was. There were lots of activities called with no takers. Kick boxing – well that was guaranteed no takers! Surely an opportunity to offer something else known to be popular such as water polo or perhaps water volleyball?
Evenings were the usual cheesy entertainers and bingo. We preferred some of the other bars.
There was only wi fi in the bar and reception. Dimly lit but nicely furnished.

All in all, better than I had expected. Thomson really should be more specific about marketing this hotel though. It isn't a family hotel and the brochure should make that clear.

Room Tip: Sea views available in most, but not all rooms and are fabulous.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Grasiass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Alicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We thank you for your comments but would like to just clarify a few of the ponts that you have raised:
- a fridge is an extra that can be hired prior to arrival if guests wish to; it is does not appear in the room description and guests are under no obligation to have one if they don't want to.
- the remote controls require a 5 € deposit which is then returned to guests when they give the remote back to reception ( when there was no desposit, lots of people forgot to hand them back).
- the safe costs 2 € per day + a 5 € deposit which is returned when guests give their safe key back to reception.
- 15 € deposit per towel which again isreturned to guests. Guests are given a receipt that explains that the towels will be washed 3 times at no extra charge; in an effort to be environment friendly any additional washes are charged at a token 50 centimes.
- the hotel offers select rooms that offer a deluxe package and one of the perks is sun beds on the balcony; there is no additional charge for guests who book this type of room. There are other rooms that have large balconies and guests can choose to pay a small supplement and have sun beds on the balcony.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and are pleased that in general that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I don't know what I can say that I haven't said in previous posts about our visits to the Alicia....
We went for a week 10 July-17 July, arriving just after 1am, and leaving around 8pm, so just like late nights really.

Reception - always pleasant and helpful, when we arrived we were informed that there was some cold food for us if we wanted it, but we said we just wanted some water which the night receptionist got for us. Then the next day we were dealt with efficiently when we went to hire fridge and safe etc, in fact the fridge was in our room 10 mins after we asked for it. We asked for extra pillows and duly got them too.

Bar staff - as ever always polite, cheerful and helpful.

Cleaners would always let on to you some times in Spanish and dome times in English. You would always see them what ever time of day or night. The hotel is spotlessly clean.

The bedrooms are adequate, the one we had this time was smaller than we've had before, but was ok for us as we were there just for a week, bathroom was small, but again was ok for us. The views are exceptional from the balconies, and at night just sitting on the balcony is peaceful.

Dining room - Sergio runs it maticulously, always with a smile, his staff always ready to help. A special mention to his new member of staff Manuel, very chatty, always smiling and his a definate asset to Sergio's team. The food is varied and plentiful, something for everyone. Elmar restaurant is peaceful and a nice place to dine with waitress service.

Entertainment - This is run by the entertainment manager Chris, a very hard working happy chappy always pleasant and ready to answer any questions you may have. The night time entertainment was varied, and yes sometimes it may not be what some customers like, but you cannot please everybody all the time, and I think Chris does what he can with the funds he has available.
The day time activities are just the right balance, activities for both adults and children, and Chris would always remind people what activities were on and you would be under no pressure what so ever to take part. In the summer Chris has an assistant called Mary who helps with the children's activities, she looks like she enjoys the mini disco and the children lover her!

The hotel clientele at this time of year are varied ages. You always seem to chat and say hello.

The hotel is being refurbished when it closes for winter, so next year it's going platinum, just hope it doesn't lose it's charm. This hotel is one of the best there is in Cala Bona and the staff are a credit to Protur.

When we go here it's just like going home!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank ManchesterSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews