We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location , but not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aparthotel Cap de Mar
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2009

we have just come back from staying at this hotel and were disappointed with a few things , there was no spa ,indoor pool or gym open and was no mention of it being closed before we went . the photos on thier website is not recent photos as it looks older ,the shower head was broken and water squirts out everywhere (how frustrating),we had the sea view block and not told that they have live music up to midnight in the bar below and gets rather noisy(maybe not advisable for kids) the seaview was also covered by 3 huge trees . the buffet was good be careful of the cook he likes to be in control of jokes otherwise he mutters under his breath and serves you the worst bits (this actually happened to us) the food is a good variety definetely was not a 4 star would say a 2 star we loved the location as it is 2 mins from the beach the pool was small and really was not used as the 4 blocks hide most of the pool leaving it in the shade we always normally use the pool but not this one , the beach is nice a helpful hint to those that may want to save some euros (we did not do this ) buy yourself a sun umbrella from the shops about 6 euros and buy a couple of lilos(did not check the price but very cheap) you could save some good money (sundbeds 3.5euro each and an umbrella is also 3.5 euro worked out for for 6 days could cost you 63euros ) would we go back yes to this resort cala bona and cala millor it was lovey but not this hotel . definelty check out the paradise palace in cala bona where these guys serve some of the best tropical cocktails ever and are really friendly and make you feel like a freind they work really hard and it gets really busy .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2009

i have been earlier this season with my girl friends but this time i came allone too meet some guest who have been alswell early this jear it is a nice hotel small but very friendly people and personal and you just have a very good time there nothing too complain.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pastoor112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I will say firstly that this is not in my opinion a 4 star hotel. The Reception and main part of the hotel are very nice. The rooms are in 4 blocks (and are called suites now!) and are clean and nicely presented, but not 4 star. We paid for a side sea view room and could just glimpse the sea between two buildings, not what you expect really. There are some with sea view rooms though although the hotel is second line to the beach, not front line as it looks on certain resort maps.

The room has a smallish bedroom, with 2 single beds which are rock hard and a large double fitted wardrobe with a safe and plenty of storage.

The living area has more storage, a fridge, kettle, cups and glasses. T.V. table and seating.

The bathroom has a shower over the bath, a very old fashioned hairdryer and a shaving mirror.

Maid service was everyday and the whole place is immaculately clean.

We stayed B & B and the breakfast was a good buffet style fayre, with the Chef cooking bacon, eggs and omelettes to order. You did feel a bit rushed though if you were still eating when it got near to 10am when breakfast service finished. The dining room could be really warm.
The Spa is hardly ever open!
The pool was small and very cold, but sunbeds are not saved and you could always get one whatever the time of day. A stones throw to the beach.

Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We went to Cala Bona for a family wedding and we were over 18 staying at the hotel. It just had been renovated and was a lovely surprise. The bathrooms are very good, very big walk in shower with rainshower. Rooms are confortable with a big wardrobe. Living a good size with flat screen tv and two sofas which make 2 beds at night without having to pull them out. Big balcony overlooking the sea. It was quiet enough since it's a pedestrian path between the hotel and the sea and there is air conditionning. The staff were extremely friendly. The pool was great - the water was a bit too cold though. It was great to have the bar/pool tables/restaurant next to it. We had a group of kids and they had a blast. Food wise, we were halfboard. Breakfast was great, lots of choices. Sebastian the maitre d'o (!) is a nice man but rather stuborn on where you sit. He wanted everyone to always sit at the same table !! Dinner was not our favorite but a lot of our group enjoyed the food - pasta dish, meat or fish...
All in all, I would really recommend it. Walking distance to all bars/restaurants, older kids enjoyed nightlife, young kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This hotel was renovated over the winter of 08/09 and it has been done beautifully. The Reception area is welcoming, and mixes modern and antique furniture to give it a Bohemian look. The hotel is laid out over 6 floors: ground is the reception area with large entertainment lounge leading out to the pool area/sun terraces and also out to the promenade which runs between Cala Bona Harbour and Sa Coma (about a 5km walk in total). Accommodation is on 4 floors (6 suites to each floor). The restaurant and beauty spa are on the lower ground floor.

First impression of the hotel were very good. There was a good mix of nationalities during our stay; I'd say 60% German; 20% Spanish; and the remainder a mix of English and Dutch. All staff at the hotel speak reasonable, if not good English (and German from what I overheard), although the Night Porter who greeted us when we arrived wasn't the best English speaker. However, between his limited English and our limited Spanish/German we made ourselves understood.

Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the small Cala Bona beach (you could literally role out of bed onto the sand its that close!) and the promenade (beautiful views). The apartment itself was spacious, exceptionally clean and comfortable.

The suites have new, modern furniture and have an entrance hall, bedroom, lounge, bathroom and balcony. The bedroom had twin beds (made into double); loads of storage space (nice big wardrobes with plenty of hangers and shelves) and a lockable safe (additional cost but only €18 for our stay and that included a €7 refundable deposit). The bathroom was a good size with full length bath; overhead shower; WC; fitted sink area with lots of space to store toiletries; large mirror with demist facility and a repositionable magnifying shaving/make up mirror; shaver point and hairdryer. There is additional storage space in the hall way. The lounge area was also a really good size with a corner suite (this was made into 2 beds for the kids); large centre table and a desk area with LCD flat screen TV (very plush!) TV channels area mainly German and Spanish (just 2 English News Channels) but hey, you don't go on holiday to watch TV 24/7. There is also a tea prep area which has tea/coffee making facilities, kettle and most importantly full size fridge (to keep your beers cold!) The balcony was quite roomy with a patio table and 2 chairs (and not the cheapo plastic stuff) and had a lovely view of the beach and the promenade below. It was a nice place to sit after an evening out with a cold beer and watch the world go by.

The pool isn't the largest but it serves its purpose. Its split into two areas - a smaller circular kids pool (40 cm deep) and a larger free-form pool that's the same depth - I think it was about 1.40m? There's also a flat area connecting the two pools with a feature fountain...nice place to sit and just cool off! One important point is that no-one reserves sun beds! You can take your pick, plenty to go round.

The restaurant is on the lower ground floor (accessed by stairs or lift). Its well lit and not cramped. Sabastia greeted us on our first trip down to breakfast and escorted us to our table - and that was our table for the whole stay - so no fighting for a place to sit at meal times! Good selection of hot and cold foods at both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was from 8am to 10 am and included hot/cold drinks, usual toast facility, good selection of breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, yoghurts, sweet breads etc and hot items (beans/tomatoe, sausage, scrambled or boiled eggs). Fried eggs and bacon were cooked on demand by the chef each morning. Evening meal again had a good variety of choice: salads, soup, breads, hot items, desserts. Again the chef was on hand to show cook certain items each evening ranging from pork chops, steak, fish etc. Even the fussiest of eaters will find something to eat from the choices available. Drinks in the evening were either to your room tab (payable prior to departure) or cash. Prices were not excessive, eg bottle of Majorcan wine was €11 and this was retained in the wine cooler for you until finished (much cheaper than buying it by the glass).

The hotel also has its own Pizzeria, open day and night (except Tuesdays) but we didn't go in, preferring to stroll along the promenade in the evenings. However, the entertainment goes on until around midnight, so we usually caught the tail end of the "artiste" from our balcony... always worth a laugh.

I would really recommend this hotel to everyone. Its in a really central location that's fairly low key during the day, but in the thick of it in the evening. It couldn't be any closer to the beach. The Harbour is about 5/10 minutes stroll. This is a lovely place to go either in the day or evening. Cala Millor is right next door (although you don't realise you've left Cala Bona and entered Cala Millor) if you want more entertainment and there's a massive shopping area too (about 20/25 minutes stroll). The beach at Cala Millor is also to die for - beautiful white sand and its stretches on forwever.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamilton_Hox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Arrived at hotel at midnight and food had been left in fridge for us very welcome after long journey.Hotel been refurbished and felt like brand new,it was really lovely,bright,clean and comfortable.All the staff were excellent,polte and friendly.Found the selction of food rather limited but what we had was excellent quality.Breakfast was cooked freshly for you.
The location of the hotel was perfect,super holiday we loved every minute of it !! would definately go again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgePebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

My stay at this hotel with my 13 yr old sun and mum,did not get off to a good start,we arrived at the hotel after travelling all night only to find they had no room for us! we was then told we could use another hotel down the road,this was a major pain with 3 heavy cases hand luggage over cobbles this ended in my case breaking and me having to buy a new one there!
Once we got in our room we was very happy the room was clean tidy and had lovely view of the sea.
The resort itsself was quite nice although the sea bed was completly covered in rocks so its not ideal for young children or older,as the only thing you can really do is snorkle as you cant stand up(too Painfull)
After the first day we were coming back to our room to find it flooded for almost a week, this water was coming from alight in the bathroom,it took several attemps for the staff to get anyone to fix this problem nearly a week in all,the staff were also very rude and unhelpfull(unless you are german) and this hotel was mainly german we was not informed of this.
So all the entertainment in the evening was 90% in german for what it was!!
Had a nice pool at the front but was in the shade most of the time from the hotel also the vents in the floor of the pool sliced my son's foot badly on 2 occasions,when we spoke to the staff they didnt seem to be interested.so i would never go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank harlowgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Cap de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Cap de Mar

Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 5, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: £60 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Cap de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Cap de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Cap De Mar Hotel Cala Bona
Aparthotel Cap De Mar Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing