We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Paid £200 for 7 nights HB with Thompson on late deal. Hotel and resort all much better than expected. Rooms all new. Food excellent, you will regret it if you go self catering. Rimini resturant is fantastic. Drinks prices slightly cheaper than the UK.
All staff and management very friendly and speaking english.
I believe this hotel is Thompson's number one family resort in the world. Cannot comment on the kids activity's but it looks like they were enjoying themselves.
But I would expect this hotel may not be quite in the high season and probably not best for people who are looking for a quiet holiday
Would definately go again even at a higher price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newlands74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I paid £50 for 10 nights self catering, and am really amused that 'explodinggoldstar' paid £2000, and equally amused that they didnt enjoy it. Couldnt fault the place, clean and tidy, and a beautiful place with PLENTY of good restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We arrived at this hotel on the 17/04/2012 and having paid £35 for the whole week for 2 of us we weren't expecting much but when we got there our jaws hit the floor, the hotel itself has quite a nice kerb appeal and the staff are very efficiant. As you walk out to the blocks you can see that everything is well kept and the pool area is excellant. The apartment we had was outstanding eveything looked brand new even a 32" TV with English channels inc Sky Sports for those all important footie matches =) we had a double bed and 2 huge built in wardrobes and the kitchen had a hob , toaster , kettle and all you plates and cutlery etc... the bathroom was excellant and the shower has to be the best ive used soooo powerfull. we only had 1 meal from the snack bar whilst here and it was excellant but as to the food in either of the restraunts i cant comment as we didn't dine in any of them , rooms also have heating/aircon and were cleaned regular with more than adequate towels.they also have a indoor pool which i did use but found it freezing , was hoping it would be heated but some you win some you lose..Lol. they also have a gym which was well equipped and there is a laundry on-site. If you do stay self catering i recommend that as you walk out the front of the hotel take the road to the right and walk down past the spar to the Bip supermarket which is about a 5-10 min walk (not as far as some say) where it is much cheaper than the spars dotted about.. We found the best restraunt to eat was janet and johns on the harbour (again about 5-10 mins walk from the hotel) where they do a good mix of english and spanish meals and the staff are polite and friendly with free wifi =) also if you have the energy then rent a bike from the hotel and cycle down to cala millor which is all along the seafront on a cycle path and all flat ground so no stress =) i could go on about this all day but then you would have nothing to discover for yourself but all in all you wont be dissapointed as the bonaire and cala bona are a lovely place to be.. im goona add some piccies so you can see what i mean..have a jolly good holiday whatever you decide to do

Room Tip: if you book this hotel ask or email them that you would prefer a pool view as this seems to be where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank quinns2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I'd like to start by saying i'm not a fan of the package holiday, so if you are you may like to discount my review - also if you like a home away from home, Cala Bona may in fact be for you but it isn't a place I intend on ever visiting again.

The room was really nice and the bathroom was great ... But they weren't cleaned enough, and the kitchenette is small. This wouldn't have been an issue if the local food was good, but the hotel food was over priced and not great ... And no matter how hard we tried we couldnt find any authentic Spanish food anywhere in town.

They allow smoking on the resort, which for me does not represent a 'family' resort. The pools were freezing too.

The Thompson staff were only really present when there was an opportunity to sell additional services, however the kids club did seem to keep the children occupied and was a good free service.

The gym was not good and half the equipment was broken, there was no water available in the gym either.

Some of our clothing was taken accidentally by the maid, and we had to continually go back to reception to ask if it had been found ... It was returned just in time, but we had to do a lot of chasing.

The transfers were fine, just a battle against the other British holiday makers to get on the coach!

Overall I was dissatisfied, and disappointed as the previous reviews had given promise but we won't be going again and won't be in a rush to book another over priced family holiday. at almost two thousand pounds self catering when the weather wasn't great it felt like a rip off.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank explodingpinkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and maybe as you say Cala Bona is not the resort for you, however we would like to answer some comments you have made:
- the apartments have just been fully upgraded
- we offer have a 4 star buffet restaurant and the Rimini à la carte restaurant
- the gym aparatus is in good condition and is serviced by a recognised company every two weeks. There is a water fountain where guests can have fresh drinking water while using the gym.
- smoking is only permitted in certain outdoor areas.
- sometimes clothes can be wrapped up in the sheets when sending the bed linen to the laundry and it can take a couple of days for it to come back.
- in the resorts of Cala Bona and Cala Millor i.e. within walking distance of the Protur Bonaire, there are a wide variety of restaurants offering Spanish, Majorcan and international cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

After reading the revies on here, we didn't think twice about booking up. And it certainly exceeded our expectations! The rooms have been refurbished to a really high standard, with a large tv in the lounge area, microwave, kettle and toaster in the kitchenette, and a lovely bathroom with that all important great shower! The only thing I wuld say is that perhaps there is not enough workspace in the kitchen and a shelf would have been useful in the dining area and bathroom. But this is by no means a big problem, maybe we just had too much stuff! But there are 2 wardrobes, so plenty space for clothes!
We had a room overlooking the pool, which was lovely, but I imagine in peak summer, it would be quite noisy in the evening when the entertainment is outdoors.
This is the type of hotel we would have avoided before we became a family, but with a 1 year old, it was just perfect! (And think it will only get beter as she gets older!). There's a little soft play, kids clubs, little park area, a great splash pool, table tennis, pool tables etc. There are activities throughout the day(for all ages, not just the kids), and the pool is big with plenty of loungers. There's even an indoor pool for the colder months, although the water in here is cold as well! People were using all 3 pools when we were there, but they were all cold!
We stayed half board and it was good. The staff are all so friendly, and there was always something to eat, even for a vegetarian.
The hotel is on the edge of Cala Bona, and only a half hour walk or so to Cala Millor. It was still out of season when we were there, so the resorts were pretty quiet, with some shops and hotels not even open yet. But there was always somewhere open to shop or have some food.
We will be here again I am sure, it's the perfect place to holiday with kids!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pol in summer may be loud at night. Block 5 facing the pool gets the sun on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayney79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in April 2012 , mainly because we got a cheap deal, would not have been our usual choice but we really enjoyed our week there. The hotel is fine , no problems at all, everything was as you would wish. The local resort was pleasantly quiet which suited us perfectly, relaxing days along the front and bits of shopping, intermixed with time in the sunshine beside the pools. Best tip would be to hire a pushbike from either the hotel or a short stroll into the town gets a better quality bike for the same price. Cycling around the two towns is dead easy and it gives you a better idea of the towns, without the aching feet, its all on cycle paths with are traffic free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thewanderer007-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have just come back today after staying over Easter and would reccommend this hotel to anyone with children. It is many years since we have been self-catering and usually stay in the Levante or the Gran Sol but this time our son and grand-daughter came with us and we picked this hotel because of the reviews on this website.

I can't comment on the food because we were self-catering and ate out most of the time but the kitchen had everything you needed and I did cook a few breakfasts and lunches. We ate our evening meal out and most of the restaurants in the harbour are really nice. We did pick one or two that weren't so nice e.g., we did not think the indian restaurant on the harbour was very nice but we did have a very delicious breakfast in the Cats Whiskers and we also had a nice lunch there. Our favourite restaurant was the Fonoll Mari, although it was a little expensive if you have a family.

The complex was very clean and tidy and our grand-daughter loved the splash pool with the pirate ship and played in it all day for the first few days and she also liked the indoor pool if it got a bit cold. We certainly did not have to pay to use the indoor pool as one reviewer said they did, don't understand that.

The weather was not very nice after the first few days so we decided to hire a car for 4 days and we drove over most of the island. We visited quite a few nice places, Cal Ratjada was particularly nice. We went to the Caves of Drach, which I did not like as there was too many people, Palma Aquarium which was really good and because my grand-daughter wanted to see the dolphins, we went to Marineland which is tiny, you could get round it in 10 mins, however, the sea lion show and the dolphin show was fantastic which made it worthwhile.

All in all we had a good holiday apart from the weather, it just poured with rain all day yesterday and when we left this morning it was just brilliant sunshine. Typical!!

Room Tip: We had a room in block 5 facing the pool and a view of the mountains to the right which was very ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sweetiepie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#13 of 19 in Cala Bona
319 reviews
3.4 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: £38 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing