We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We just landed in Belfast last night and already are actively pursuing a return next year. We have never done that so that really says something. Here's a run down...

Location: this hotel is in the most beautiful location of cala bona; not overly touristy I'd say with no aggressive restaurant/bar touts, beautiful promenade with lots to see and do. The marina is beautiful.

Staff: the staff, all of them are simply outstanding. We were welcomed as we arrived off the bus, our bags were taken from us and when we left yesterday we were given a lovely personal send off by the staff. That is exceptional. Every member of staff always had a word for you from the maids to managers. Excellent practice. The entertainment team are so hard working; I really do not know where they get their energy from. 100% effort at all times. The kids club team were also very welcoming and sensitive. Special mention must go to victor, Nathan, kayla and lotty as well as grandad Gareth!

Kids club: the staff are fab and activities well managed although there was a certain degree of confusion at times around when things were happening. This needs better communicated. I feel a pack for the kids would be great outlining exactly what is happening for their age group over the duration and more importantly when. We were let down one day when a session we had planned for didn't happen. This upset our daughter and we had to diffuse. Mistakes can happen but needs tighter communication.

Rooms: we had a room with the biggest balcony in hotel. Whoop! The rooms are really beautifully and modernly appointed. Flat screen tv with cbeebies was a godsend. The kitchenette is pretty small but you'll manage fine. Two cooking rings, microwave and fridge with dishes, cutlery, saucepans and limited storage. It's fine really.

Pool: both the splash pools and main pools made our holiday. The former really helped monitor our three year old as not too deep so you weren't twitchy at every turn! Do not take this for granted. The main pool is massive.

Food: normally you hear people saying the food gets samey. It doesn't here. We had two weeks half board and there was amazing choice and standard of food at dinner for the duration. I must admit I was getting a little bit bored of breakfast after the time but this is not a criticism. If I was to do it again I'd book self catering and then add on the meals as some reviewers have already said. Don't be worrying about eating out. There are loads of restaurants in cala bona/millor and good supermarkets if you want to cook in. Drinks at splash pool bar are extortionate though. Two large cokes cost me over Seven euros. They were doing litre bottles of Pepsi at the bip supermarket for one euro!

Entertainment: my daughter simply loved the entertainment with thomson the dog and nightly dancing. The team work exceptionally hard. My only criticism would be that I think the foot could be taken off the pedal of this a bit and allow the kids just to free style at disco. It all felt a bit too directed at times although the elements of this were good. Didn't really see much of the adult night time entertainment but I hear it was just ok. The four tops I did see and thought they were great.

Thomson transfers: the poorest and most unacceptable element of the trip. When we arrived at airport we were directed towards an area with coaches. People are just herded onto coaches with a 75% surety that you are on the right one. Whatever happened to 'can I have your name place? ... Yes you are staying at the Bonaire... That is coach seven'. We were put onto a coach with exclusively older couples and were convinced at one point we were going the wrong way as we were heading to a family resort with a walking talking oversized canine ! Also no rep on the coach and its all down to the driver bless him who probably can't speak a word of English. Yesterday it took us two hours to get to the airport on coach! This was horrendous as we had a three year old in tow. It also created knock on stress in airport as we rushed to eat and board flight. Definitely taxi next time; wouldn't put my family through that hell again.

Overall we had an amazing holiday though. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Stuartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had an absolute amazing time in Cala bona over the past few weeks staying in this hotel. All the staff are very nice and helpful, the reps and kids club staff are fantastic and could absolutely do with a good few days off as some are working more than 14 hours a day in the boiling heat and manage to have so much energy still at the end of the day!

The Italian restaurant on site has a very poor selection on the menu although the buffet is very good but quite expensive. The pool side bar also does have a full menu choice for lunches and the food and staff there are both very good. Unfortunately though they can sometimes be very slow getting the food waiting 40 mins for two club sandwiches but because of this we did receive a free round of drinks.

The kitchen part of the apartment has only two rings on the cooker so that also meant if we were eating in we couldn't do a whole lot. Also eating in the buffet every night could also get very tiring as they do similar food every night but there is also a very good option as the harbor is just a 2 min walk away and down along the harbor there is numerous places to chose from.

All in all I hope to come back again but before I leave it there I must give a shout out to some of the fantastic reps....

Em N Em is sooooooo kind and she took so much time out for us to make us feel welcomed.

Krazy Kayla is super kind and polite also an extremely good dancer.

Nutty Nathan and Lady Lottie are both very nice both handle the younger kids very well.

Also Victor, Tom and Laura all have to be given shout outs as I found the three of them very kind.

Room Tip: Block 1 has no lift. Block 2 right beside the stage and night time entertainment goes on until 11.3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escapebadweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at the Bonaire. Very clean, All staff Fantastic. Not sure i would go back felt the holiday team and holiday club team only catererd for the ages of 2 - 6 . my daughter was eight and got very bored with the kids disco and constant referral to Thomson the dog. Children running around unsupervised. one child fell off the stage and banged his head, thomson reps often having to remind parents to look after the kids, made it very difficult to watch the adult entertainment as children would try to climb on stage. The Bar Staff, Hotel Staff are excellent I feel Thomson let this hotel down. We had a trip to Marineland Fantastic well worth going, the harbour is only a short stroll away very beautiful spent a lot of evenings at the harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay here and it was amazing. The hotel deserves its number one trip advisor rating.

We opted to get a taxi as we didn’t want an arduous coach journey with 2 young kids. I am glad we did that. It saved us time and hassle and meant we could have a leisurely breakfast on our return day, rather than rushing to catch the coach.

Everything was just brilliant, from the welcome onwards. All the staff (bar one grumpy maid who always wanted to clean our room when the kids were having a nap!) were superb – warm, friendly and professional. I don’t know where they get the energy from but the reps, kids club staff and entertainers constantly gave 100% and seemed to be always on the go. Pools were great, food was marvellous. We started out as self-catering and enjoyed eating out by the sea front. We particularly like the Kashmir restaurant and the Chinese next to it. There are plenty of places to choose from on the sea front and a nearby spa shop too. We decided to go all inclusive for the last four days and the food was excellent in both of the restaurants and the pool bars. We discovered the toasted sandwiches in the splash pool bar on the last day – they are delicious!

Kids entertainment was great, with lots of reps and kids club staff taking part too. Kids club and crèche was great too and it gave us a couple of hours off a day! There is a notice in the room saying no towels on the sunbeds until 7:45 – I often went down around 750 and, whilst there were still some beds left, it was already pretty busy by the main pool. The sunbeds could do with being fixed or replaced as some were broken so you couldn’t sit up on them (only lie down).

I really can’t fault it though – it was an amazing holiday for a family, highly recommended. We would like to go back but school holiday prices are too expensive for us unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We came to the Bonaire in March for a family break staying on a half board basis. The apartments were great for a family holiday with young children with a well equipped kitchen. The facilities were fantastic, shame it was a little chilly to use the outdoor swimming pools but the fact they have an indoor pool still allowed us to have some fun in the water.
The quality of the food was good with lots of variety and the Italian restaurant on site was lovely and very quiet, maybe due to the fact you had to book but was included a few times in the week for half board and all inclusive guests.
The staff were always very pleasant and the evening entertainment was good for out of season.
Would certainly come back again, maybe when a little warmer to make full use of the facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family which included a child of 4 and 2.6mths stayed here last week in june 2013 and would recommend this aparthotel to everybody what a fantastic week we had in excellant accomadation I can say this is the best we have ever stayed in modern. plenty of room,well equiped for eating and making lunches etc friendly hotel staff whoo do enough for you my daughters shower wasnt working properly we had no sooner put the phone down and the maintenace man came to fix it there and then nothing too much trouble and Thomsons reps all did a fantastic job in keeping everybody happy. Cala Bona itself is spotless with plenty of great eating places with no rip off charges we enjoyed eating @ Smithys, Olivias,John and Josephs the tapas place is also good value not forgetting the places around the corner from John & Josephs wher you can eat by the sea, the ice cream parlor was also a good visit with a lovely english lady called Julie our holiday exceeded all of our expecaions and more we will be back agoin.

Room Tip: we were in block 5 on the end a little shaded but we didnt mind that it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel itself is beautifully maintained, clean, rooms while not opulent are clean and well furnished with excellent amenities. The food is delicious with a good choice at every sitting, we travelled with a group of ten family members aged 4 to 83 so they did a fabulous job to please everyone. Every member of the hotel staff was polite, helpful and couldn't do enough to help you. The bar staff were especially helpful, cleaners always pleasant and the lifeguard always on hand.
The splash pool was fantastic, the main pool great, both lovely temperature. Sunbeds start being reserved at 7,45am, this is also policed, however don't expect to come down after breakfast and find one free!!
You will notice here that I am referring to all of the elements the hotel management look after because these were outstanding.
The only things that let this holiday down for us were the Thomson elements.
Outward flight attendants more interested in posing and cat walking up and down than being of any use.
No help at the airport other than being pointed to the bus which was a ten minute walk. The airport disability service however at Palma was brilliant.
We had no information or person on our coach so stayed on board until the driver called out hotel.
Usual information through the door about the trip selling meeting, sorry welcome meeting.

The evening entertainment was simply put way over the top, it started at 8pm and ended, still for children at midnight. Now we completely got that this was a Thomson family hotel, but really, everyone wants some adult entertainment, out of 7 night we saw 3 professional acts, the rest of the evenings were run by the loud, gregarious and sometimes obnoxious entertainment team, with the exception of Nathan who we thought was superb and always gave 110%
Sorry to be so blunt but we sat some nights at the furthest end of the bar by the pool and could still not have a conversation between ten of us! Really it was that loud!
Does anyone think pretending to break Guinness world records is worthy of a night entertainment, no, should children be called retards by entertainment team members on the microphone at the afternoon pool party, no they absolutely should not and should children be asked to compete to give a man on holiday and an entertainments rep the most kisses in one evenings entertainment game, no, sorry but this is wrong and stupid. As for the West End night frankly it was embarrassing, if you want to see what is good Thomson entertainment go to Sensatori Tenerife, here they have it right and a great mix, at 10pm its adult time and rightly so. Thomson you seriously need to sort out what's cheap and stupid entertainment here and get some proper acts booked.
The bus driver on the return trip was a maniac, the coach was full, people were worried and we actually told the driver to slow down. No person on hand on the return apart from counting us onto the coach.
Flight home was delayed as Palma airport couldn't cope. Again Thomson elements that were poor.
Unfortunately you cannot I believe book this hotel direct. The all inclusive at £9 a day pp when booked in the UK was unbeatable, this was good value, it was 47 euros pp pd when booked in resort.
We had rooms 2117, twin, huge balcony and side view, 2102, twin, pool view, 2114, twin rear view, 2115 twin rear view and 2110, twin rear view.
All in all we had a great holiday, the hotel was fantastic but Thomson you really need to pull your socks up!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EscapeeWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Cala Bona
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#13 of 19 in Cala Bona
318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Protur Palmeras Playa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing