We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third year and we are booked for a fourth!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Third year and we are booked for a fourth!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is not a cheap place to go on holiday however we feel it would be hard to go elsewhere in case it wasn’t as good - which is why we keep returning. The general feel of the place is that it is full of nice families – it’s not your typical all inclusive drink as much as you can resort! You get one or two feral children but most are under control.

The hotel as always was very clean, the staff work very hard from the cleaners, chefs, bar staff to the gardeners who work quietly behind the scene to make sure everything is spick and span! The hotel manager is everywhere - he clears dinner plates and mucks in when needed which is great to see. His team is a credit to him! The rooms are large with plenty of room and good quality fixtures and fittings. The food is great something for everyone even the fussy eaters will find something here. The new sunbeds were a welcome addition and whilst I have heard lost of complaints over the reserving of sunbeds there were often some still available at 10am. If you do want a sunshade or pick of where you sit you will have to get up early – you can’t reserve before 7.45 but that happens anywhere. If families only got the number of beds they require it would help the situation a lot. The one thing I would say the pool this year looked a little dirty with bits and pieces floating in it. The in room wifi was a welcome addition!

The kids club has been great every year however I don’t know what it was about this year but they stepped up their game even more! They were round the pool, in the bar in the restaurant everywhere! I can’t really pick out individuals as it would be really unfair to single anyone out as they were all great!

The Crèche –now I am a fussy mummy and this is the first time I have been in a position to use this service – I said from the outset if it wasn’t up to my high standards I wouldn’t use it. Well all I can say is they were amazing!!!! Thank you so much Coco pop Courtney and Nic Nac Nicola – I hope I have got your names right!!! A credit to the Thomson team!

Entertainment – Yes I’m one of those returnees who has previous years to compare to! I think the big difference is that the past two years have been teams of three with either one or two really big characters who have captured the audience – this year there were four and they worked more as a team. The kids entertainment was great however I think the adult entertainment was somewhat lacking. I know we forget how young some of these guys are and maybe don’t have the skills to always cope as we would expect in difficult circumstances ie with competing individuals but I expect fully skilled staff when I’m paying this kind of money. They developed as a team and got stronger towards the end of the holiday but I am afraid they just didn’t do it for me during the adult entertainment. Some of the outside adult entertainment was good but I think it may be worth looking at the likes of the Cala Bona hotel and the acts they get in – even some of the street entertainers down the harbour could outdo the Bonaire! The new dance routines were really good but it might be worth noting my 7 year old was more interested in the adult entertainment than the kids!! I did notice that the entertainment finished earlier this year but as its a family resort it wasn't a big deal.

Overall though another great holiday and we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Block 4 or 5 are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anadain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    512
    117
    22
    7
See reviews for
1,511
320
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at bonaire just last week. Absolutely amazing. Apartments were out of this world. Although very busy peak season and sunbeds as per usual were in zero supply always somewhere to sit and relax. The multiple pools were fantastic. Even a hidden water park at the back. Thomson staff were fantastic. Holiday advisors hannah and connor thank you so much for your first class help and service.
Entertainment staff. Wow !! Absolutely brilliant all of you. Special mention to minnie mouse megan . Never a dull day. Never a down day. Smile smile smile. Made our holiday.
Danny. Natalie too. Amazing team... They work so hard and get very little credit. Bless them all. X x x x x x x

Room Tip: We were on bottom floor room 3007. A stride away from pool but outlook on to green garden area fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Bonaire is a wonderful place! It has five main buildings including the reception building surrounding the main pool area.Our apartment was spic and span, nicely decorated, really clean with air conditioning that really did work in the lounge area and the bedroom. The main pool is a long shaped pool that wraps around the center part from really shallow to quite deep, 8 or 9 feet deep. Next to it is the pool bar and nearby the soft play area and climbing frames and slides and so on. Just behind one of the buildings is the magnificent splash pool with the pirate ship and water slides and so on. There is a small bar that serves food and all of the usual array of soft and alcoholic drinks and tea and coffee. The main restaurant is great and the food marvelous, terrific choices and excellent choice and quality. ALL of the staff were very friendly, nice and couldn't do enough to help. The whole complex is really clean and tidy, the lady cleaning the toilets even washed down the walls with a disinfectant. Carla Bona has a nice promenade but the beach is very rocky and the sea is full of stones and rocks. Nice to look at but not great for either sitting or swimming. Just around the coast is Carla Millor which has a long deep fine yellow sandy beach. It is 2 or 3 kilometers away I guess. It is walk able but probably not with the little ones in the sun. There is a little land train which runs past the hotel but was always fairly full and we were a party of twelve, so we used the open topped local City buses. There is a stop near to the hotel. They cost one and a bit euros to ride to Cala Millor. There are loads of shops and cafes and restaurants with Pirate and USA themed restaurants, fairly expensive and sort of OK, but brilliant for the kids. A taxi will take four people and costs five euro by the way. Nice at the end of the day when even standing at the bus stop seems like hard work. Back on site there was the little pups evening start for the youngest kids, then all sorts of singing and dancing for the middle kids and then finally the adult entertainment. The reps worked their socks off with the babies, kiddies and even had some left over for us older ones. Lots of people had been there four, five and even six times which says a lot. We take our big kids and their offspring away every year for a break with the now 5 and 7 year olds (5 of them) and the Bonaire is the best child focused place we have ever been, for design, food, quality and such friendly wonderful staff, even the gardeners said hello and the reception staff were a delight.

Room Tip: It is a child focused hotel so there is a fair amount of noise but the rooms are reasonably noise pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had such a great time last year that we returned again this year. We received a very warm welcome from the staff, including a basket of fruit and a welcome back card in the room (the same one we were in last year too). Indeed, we recognised many of the guests from last time too - so we're not unique in returning to this sun soaked corner of the Mallorca.

As before, we found the staff, Thomson rep and guests to be polite and friendly. The place was clean, fairly well maintained and the food fantastic in terms of variety and quantity!

Didn't want to come home.

Room Tip: Block 4 is furtherest away from the stage area, so is quietest in the early evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Lewis999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

From the 1st moment we step foot in the Bonaire we love it.
Reception were so helpful and accommodating nothing was stressful and it was a lovely welcome.
In our party was 2 adults 2 teenagers and a toddler. All of us had a fab time.
Location was perfect, a lovely harbour with plenty of shops and amazing restaurants.
This lead all the way to Cala Millor with a stunning 3 miles of clean beach.
Room is the Bonaire are modern and clean.
We were self catering and had everything we needed.
Pools are lovely and the splash pool is the best for little people.
Food at the hotel was outstanding and we eat there more than we thought we would due to the quality and service.
In general just lovely

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Recently returned from the Bonaire after a fab 11 night holiday with our 2 daughters, 5 and 7. Undoubtedly the splashpool is the main asset of this hotel for under 7's as it is so safe and so much fun. We found sunbeds here most days going down at 7:45am. Claire at the pool bar is lovely too. We used the other pool a bit too and joined in some of the daytime activities like aquafit (hilarious when a guest in speedos and a sombrero joined in the teaching one day!) the daily quiz and pool bingo.
The rooms are of an excellent standard - we stayed in block 4 overlooking the pool which was great as we could still see the entertainment too but was not right on top of it. All hotel staff are very friendly. Wifi all round hotel added bonus. We went self catering and upgraded half way through to all inclusive which worked brilliantly for us giving us the ability to eat out for the first part of the holiday and then have the convienience of eating in the hotel the last few days. I hear though that Thomson is cracking down on being able to book SC from next year though which is a shame. Really enjoyed eating at Oliva and Es Mollett at Cala Bona harbour and wandering around in the evenings and not being tied to the hotel for the whole time. The restaurant food was very good and improved from last year (chocolate fountain with strawberries, great spanish night on friday) but don't know why menu is unchanged in the italian restaurant in the hotel? Still think this should be a spanish restauant which I'm sure would appeal to many people.
Thomson stuff! Kids clubs were excellent and much better than 2013. Loads of staff, very friendly (Silly Sarah, Margherita Pizza to name just two) very approachable. Drop in could be explained a bit better though. Good evening activities too. Entertainment was average but this isn't a big factor in our holiday so didn't disappoint. I believe Danny was drafted in recently to help boost things up and he was great with loads of charisma and energy unlike some of the other ents staff who just didn't seem to really connect with the guests. The kids Kennel Club was OK but maybe some more songs to dance to would have been good? Recommend glass bottom boat trip to Porto Christo especially on a sunday for traditional spanish market.
Overall the Bonaire is brilliant and I would highly recommend to anyone with 8's and under.

Room Tip: Block 4 overlooking pool was great. Could see entertainment too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sezzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Our second visit here and enjoyed it even more. We went self catering then changed to all inclusive so had the best of both worlds. Particularly enjoyed Kashmir Indian restaurant on the sea front. The food in the hotel was amazing, great selection and service. Everything was clean, didn't notice anything wrong with the pool. Tip-you can buy water at reception now to avoid carrying it from shop. Danny and Natatouille were very lively and energetic entertainers. Both kids loved the kids club, great activities for them to do. Stayed for 10 days but wished we had booked a fortnight. Highly recommended. Don't know if we can afford it again next year as it's so expensive now unfortunately. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
16.3 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#9 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#7 of 20 in Cala Bona
180 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing