We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2006

Four of us went to Majorca for my birthday, considering the time of year was not expecting much weather or accomodation wise. We were pleasantly surprised the hotel was absolutey fantastic and the staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. There was entertainment every night. The pool is to die for absolutely great. The hotel is very family friendly and even though you go for a party holiday you will not be disappointed. We stayed SC and all the correct appliances were there. You could spend your entire holiday on site as there is so much to do. The reps entertained us every day which is great if you go with the children. The restaurant is very reasonably and food was lovely. The weather was good got a tan and we went early Oct. On the day of my birthday i awoke to a choc cake, chilled wine and a card from hotel staff it was such a lovely surprise such care and attention. Aparthotel Bonaire is such a lovely place from the outside you can tell how special it is and once you enter you are not disappinted. The hotel should be upgraded to a FIVE STAR. Great hotel & wonderfurl staff. Would definitely stay there again, & again and again. We went for my birthday so we were looking for fun & was not disappointed, a short walk from the hotel will bring you to some night life. Must go to Bar Sixtie on a Monday night you will be entertained by John who will have you in stitches. For clubbing you need to go to Cala Millor(you can walk, if you have comfy shoes all good or take a taxi which does not cost much) there you can party at Karosell, K1 & La Havana. La Havana was our spot, music was great and even though it was low season we were not disappointed. We all had a fantastic holiday and thoroughly enjoyed my bithday, the hotel***** the country, the clubs everything. You must give it a try you will not disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank parrabellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,282 - 2,288 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2006

Have just returned from hotel bonaire, it far exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived.. Friendly staff .... Room spotlessly clean...Pool superb...(.Weather fantastic )considering it was the last week in september. Cala Bona was lovely ...This was our first visit to majorca for 20 years..I cannot rate the hotel bonaire highly enough, from start to finish a wonderful holiday....The restaurant was first class.. with so much choice..The hotel and facilities overall are certainly 4 star ...possibly more... We had a wonderful holiday at the Hotel Bonaire and i highly recomend it for families and couples..looking for a lovely place to stay.

7  Thank Landlady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Went to the Bonaire for a week in Sept 06 and can't rate the place highly enough.

We went as a family group of 5 adults,a 2yr old and a 1yr yr old.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and porter who took our bags to our rooms, we were allocated 2 rooms in block 2 on the second floor overlooking the countryside and a distant seaview.

The apartments are very spacious and have good facilities if you are self catering, we were half board so didnt use the microwave, toaster, etc.

The food at the Bonaire is excellent and far better than we expected, there was plenty of choice and it was different every night. The breakfast was also excellent' again lots of choice, including smoked salmon!. There is a kids buffet where they can go and choose their own meal, they provide plastic plates and cups and bibs for younger children.

The entertainment is very family orientated and the kids seem to really enjoy their disco at 8pm every night.

Location of the Bonaire is good, only a few minutes walk to the harbour of Cala Bona and slightly further to a nice beach.

Would highly recommend this hotel if you have children, the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank tammy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2006

went with my wife for a week chilling out on a self catering basis.
it was a late booking (cost 410 for two of us) in first week in Sept

there are 5 blocks of apartments . We were in Block 2 on the third floor in room 2308 which is one of the few rooms which has a sea view from the balcony. The hotel is about 250 yards back from the sea with buidings in between

weather was wonderful and we made breakfast in our room.

we ate out every evening so can't comment on the hotel restaurant.

we ate at a number of the restaurants in Cala bona mainly around the marina. Smithy's was good value english food, Es Mollet good fish dishes,pararazzi good italian however the worst meal was at Xanados facing the sea. Food was awful and service poor.

We walked to Cala Millor beach every day which is about 25 mins walk but worth the walk as the beach is golden sand and the sea is clean. All the beaches are blue flag. The beach in Cala Bona is not as good as at Cala Millor

The hotel was not full and there were no problems in getting a sunbed

we saw Madonna ( show ) in the hotel which was very good. The Lionel Richie look alike was not as good

we had a jug of sangria most afternoons at Cafe Nautic . It wasn't strong but we could have sat there all afternoon and let the world go bye ( great chilling)

The staff at the hotel we very helpful and we hired a safe key ( about 14euros but we got back 4 euros when we handed the key back at the end of the holiday

overall excellent value for money and clean and well appointed room facilites ( microwave, electric hobs, sink, toaster and kettle in room ,Also skys sports at no cost in room tv

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Billf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

Just returned from our 2nd holiday at the Bonaire.

We had a fantastic holiday and would recommend this hotel for a great family holiday.

Our eldest daughter Amy (Age 6) had great fun at the kidszone and the disco's in the evening. Kidzone was much better organised this year with no queuing up the night before to book in, you could just turn up each day. The only time you had to book in was for the evening clubs but there seemed to always be spaces available. She also had 10 swimming lessons and has really imporved with her swimming thanks to 'Super Cinders'!!!

The enterntainment was even better than last year, thanks to LJ Cool, Wacky Wendy and Little Leanne. On some evenings acts came in such as a tribute band to the Bee Gees etc - We thought that the enterntainment was much better when the Thomson Reps organised it, as some of the other acts especially the Bee Gees act were not the best!!!!

Our youngest daugher Emily (2) went to the creche a couple of times. Louise one of the Creche reps was absolutely fantastic with Emily.

There were also activities in the daytime for all the family. We could join in on the daily quiz, bums, tums and bingo wings aqua aerobic sessions, water polo just to mention a few activities. One day was a pirate themed day and there was a scavenger hunt, boat making activity, and the reps also painted the childrens faces as pirates.

All the staff are really friendly and welcoming.

We went self catering so can't comment on the food in the hotel. Cala Bona is a lovely resort though and there is a good choice of restraurants to eat out. We enjoyed our meals every night and tried different restaurants amongst our favourites being Paparazi and the Smithy.

11  Thank KarenCottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Just had 2 fantastic weeks at the bonaire,myself ,husband ,16yr old and 2yr old all had a great time. We were in block 5 which is a great location as you are not to near the entertainment area.The best find of this holiday was the creche my son could not wait to go everyday and the ratio of nursery nurses is excellent,they even do a night session 7.30-10.30 so you are able to enjoy a romantic meal out.We have been on mark warner holidays and i didn't think anything would beat those but this was great value for money in a fantastic location with the best facilities,and we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gnfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Bonaire in Cala Bona - this was our first package holiday with our two sons age 9 and 6 and they had an absolutely fantastic time. They were both very upset when the holiday ended and we had to come home.

They both went to the Kids Clubs - Team for the 6 year old (1.30 - 3.30) and Tribe for the 9 year old (4pm - 6pm). They were on every day except Thursday and even had 5 evening sessions. There are also extra drop in sessions for them at various times of the day, so they had plenty of opportunities for making friends. The Kid zone reps all worked really hard and were really friendly.

My children also attended the football coaching sessions run by Spurs coaches - all three coaches were really good and it was great to see a female coach as well for a change!

The entertainment team were also really excellent - LJ Cool is fantastic and should be on the telly! We are all big fans - she is just so funny. Little Leanne and Wacky Wendy are also both great. All three work so hard and weren't put off by high temperatures and thunder storms!!

The hotel itself was very good. We had a room in block 5 on the top floor with a great view of the sea. The apartment was spacious and well-equipped. We had a problem when some tiles fell off our bathroom wall, but the maintenance people came and sorted this out straight away. Although we had booked the self-catering option, we ended up eating in the hotel restaurant every breakfast and all bar one evening (when we went to Pirates) as the food was really good value for money with plenty of choice. The bar prices and drinks in the restaurant were also really reasonable - unlike a lot of hotels I have been to in the past!

All in all we had a really great holiday and I would really recommend this hotel to other families. The only down side which I would point out was that if you want a sun bed with a shade you will need to get up and put your towel down by 6 a.m. otherwise they will all have gone!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank hillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Cala Bona
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing