We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 17 January 2007

The Bonaire is faultless . If you are on a self catering holiday you can pay to eat in their restaurant, which i would advise as the food there is exceptional, probably better than most restaurants on the island.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank k84b3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    527
    120
    23
    7
See reviews for
1,563
329
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kirkcaldy fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

we are both in our late 50s and this was our first trip abroad
we booked up with the travel agents and all was set for our belated honeymoon
on arriving at the bonaire we were treated like royalty
any questions were answered in a professional manor
the first night we were at the entertainment venue we ordered
advocat and 1 blackcurant and lemonade what a laugh we had trying to get the young waiter to understand what we needed
eventually we got our drink and from then, we were mr and mrs "BLACKCURRANTY"
this young waiter, the cleaners and staff up to the managers were a credit to the hotel
as for the resort itself its the best place for a quiet time walking along the vast promanade, lots of shops with very pleasant people
finally watch out for the flower sellers they can be at you in seconds and take your money as quick as a flash
we lost quite a few euros
be on your guard at all times
apart from that you can have a really good time at the bonaire with excellent entertainment best of food and most of all the best staff to look after you

as arnold swartzanegger said "WE WILL BE BACK"


JACK AND LORRAINE KIRKCALDY SCOTLAND

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Tips/Secrets — watch out for the gypsy flower sellers
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank jacanory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

Having caused a bit of a kerfuffle at the Son Matias Hotel a few weeks earlier (see review) I thought it best to put a bit of distance between us and Palma Nova, at least until the dust had settled. We were off for a few days to the Bonaire Hotel in Cala Bona on the other side of the island. This time though, instead of shrouding ourselves in the comfort of a package holiday we were going it alone. Booked up some cheap BMI flights from Cardiff and 3 days half board at the Bonaire on the Internet, just to see if we could do it the ‘hard’ way. So it was we found ourselves, after a delayed flight, stranded in the building site that is Palma bus station. Time of the next bus to Cala Bona? Well, take a guess and you are more likely to be right than any of the times we were given. In the event a bus turned up when it felt like it and whisked us along the brilliant new road to Cala Bona getting us to the Bonaire just before for dinner.

We must have been the last to arrive because the girl on reception seemed quite relieved to see us. Having survived the challenge of fixing our own airport transfers, dinner was very fine indeed. Our aparthotel room was just dandy. A large double bed (that’s a first), TV, heating, kitchenette and everything you might need plus a nice view of the gardens. Just as the 5* reviews have it, the Bonaire is indeed quite excellent. This is a Thomson Superfamily hotel which must really come into its own in the summer. Superb pool and facilities and lovely staff . Out of season it offers an indoor swimming pool, a proper bowling green and tea dances. What more could you want? Located at the end of a promenade linking Cala Bona to Cal Millor to Sa Coma and S’Illot, the Bonaire is a little out of the way but ideal for strolling for as far as you could ever want to go. So, what could go wrong this time?

The return trip to Palma, that’s what. We spent 3 days anxiously wondering whether a bus would turn up or, if it didn’t, whether we would have enough cash for the £60 taxi fare. In the event we needn’t have worried because the bus came on time - but that was when the fun began. The driver turned out to be a budding Fernando Alonso on speed , or at least 10 cups of coffee. Could that guy multitask. At one point I swear that he was doing at least 12 things at once. As we hurtled passed the airport on the motorway to Palma he was simultaneously chatting to his girlfriend on his mobile, issuing tickets, sorting change and fiddling with the radio. A Spanair plane appeared from nowhere and for all the world looked like it was going to land on the roof of the bus. At that very moment, he jabbed his one remaining spare finger into the radio and Madness came blaring over the speakers with their rendition of ‘Our House’. Quite surreal!

In the way that hostages admire their kidnappers, I thanked the driver profusely for getting us back to the bus station in one piece. Patting me on the shoulder he rewarded me with ‘amigo’ - probably as a reward for not screaming too loudly while he weaved through the Palma traffic or perhaps it was my appreciation of the sounds he found on the radio (The Logical Song by Supertramp was my favourite).

We would love to return the Bonaire again sometime, perhaps in the summer but next time on a package deal with the airport transfers thrown in.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank DavePenarth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

Out of season the resort is like a ghost town. You can easily walk along the seafront in the evening (around 8.00pm) with only seeing one or two other people. There are only about 5/6 bars/restaurants open within a 10 minute walk of the hotel and these rarely had more than 1/2 dozen people in them.

The hotel's not too bad. It's definately at the lower end of the 4* ratings. The facilities are clean and the rooms a spacious and functional. All UK BBC channels on the TV. The hotel reminds me of a 1980's holiday camp with the tacky entertainment in the evenings, i.e bingo, dancing and less than average acts/bands.

If yu get allocated a room in the recepion block (Block 1), i suggest that you refuse it straight away and demand a room in another block unless you want disturbed night with all the noise from the bar and reception.

The hotel is a reasonable base but to get the most out of a break here out of season you will need a car to explore further afield unless your satisfied average/poor entertainment, average food and a hotel full of UK over 60's!

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Noise if in block 1.
  • Tips/Secrets — A hire car is essential out of season
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank pg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

We returned from the Bonaire Aparthotel a couple of weeks ago, 3 adults and 2 children (ages 6 and 3). We had a fantastic week and cannot rate the place highly enough. We hoped for good weather but could not have expected it to be as warm as it was! The Bonaire was top class, the staff were friendly and helpful, rooms spotlessly clean with room service 5 times a week, and food amazing. The pool was fantastic, and the hotel grounds always immaculate. There was also an indoor pool, a gym, hairdresser and creche (although the creche finishes at the end of the summer season). We arrived at the end of the Thomson Superfamily season, so only caught the very end of the children's entertainment which entertained our children endlessly. However, the entertainment continued independently and was still a good night out! We would not hesitate in going back to the Bonaire, and hope to do so next year. The word 'fantastic' just doesn't do it justice!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ellarhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

WOW WOW WOW!!!

Myself and a mate decided we wanted a last minute deal for a relaxing holiday (we are both 26) and decided on The Bonaire. As it was November we expected dodgy weather and not much atmosphere............we were wrong!!!

When we arrived we were very impressed with the room and then decided to lounge by the pool and outside bar with waiter table service (we will get onto them guys later), what more can you ask for..........

Well, on the second night we met another 2 lasses and we spend the whole holiday together having the time of our lives!!! Caberet acts 4 of the 7 nights (including 'Elvis' and an amazing magic show) and in the day there was entainment and games. The average age of the guests was about 60 BUT that didnt stop us having fun and we made friends with many of them (they even showed us how to ballroom dance!!!)

I could go on and on about this holiday but I will finish by saying a HUGE thanks to Oskar and Dani (the very hard working and lovely waiters), Migel the bar manager who managed to make everyone laugh and to the reps who were great!!!

11 out of 10 and we are already planing our return trip!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Its was all great!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank sukeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham,uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2006

hotel bonaire - well what can i say a fantastic place to stay .
We read all the reviews on tripadvisor before we went & they were all spot on. there were 4 of us all adults that stayed there & we stayed self catering,the rooms were big & spacious & very comfatable,we payed 12 euros a night to eat in the restaurant which is worth the money as you can eat as much as you want & there is plenty of variety, the pool was very nice & big, we went right at the end of october after my brother in law got married it was nice & hot the 1st few days but november is there winter season & then it was still warm but very cloudy couldn't get a tan - the pool was freezing too when the weather changed,but that is not a major problem as they have a great indoor pool around the back of block 4 with a jacuzzi,it was never packed as well, as im not sure many guest knew about it, you also had satalitte television in your hotel room so you can watch english tv, which is great when your relaxing in the afternoon, in a nutshell the best way i can tell you how good the bonaire & cala bona is, i always go somewhere diffrent every year,but we are going to return to the bonaire next year but abit earlier in the season , we would highly recommend ...FANTASTIC

  • Liked — Everything really ,great pools,staff etc
  • Disliked — have to got to cala millor to have a nice sandy beach
  • Tips/Secrets — we was in block 2 had a sea view but had privacy on the balcony has it did not overlook the pool area
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,656 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,030 reviews
2.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing