We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised - great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised - great family hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2007

Three of us travelled to Majorca (me, my husband and 4 year old) and we stayed in the Hotel Bonaire. It was a fantastic hotel to stay in. I am struggling to find something bad to say about it, the only thing i can think of was that the water fluctuated badly in the shower and one minute it was freezing and one minute it was scolding. If this is the worst thing i can think of then thats not bad is it? We were very impressed with this hotel, it is extremely family orientated and this made us more relaxed. My son loved Thomson the dog who came on stage a couple of times while we were there. We went self catering but bought some vouchers to have breakfast and dinner a few times in the week; it was cheaper to eat at the hotel and i can honestly not think of anything else you could have asked for, for breakfast. There was everything. Nice choice for dinner too and the kids have their own food area where they can choose their own food. There is enough to do at the hotel not to leave, however we like to go sightseeing and so we hired a car to visit Marineland and Aquaparc. I would say thou that the Reps were a bit naughty by telling us that the Aquaparc was closed when actually it was open, we nearly missed going to the water park. Thomson dont recommend you go in early season because the water is very cold, but we enjoyed it - well my other half and son enjoyed it more than me and we ended up getting sunburned. The weather was very good towards the end of the week but we did have cloudy weather and terrential rain in the first couple of days, but you take you chance on the weather dont you? We would recommend booking through Car Jet which is part of Europcar. Very nice car, we had a Ford Focus and it looked brand new. We took our own car seat though just to be on the safe side. We were a bit miffed about having to pay for a full tank of petrol before leaving the car hire place but on looking at the paperwork it did actually say this would happen.. so our mistake. We were just worried that we wouldnt use a full tank of petrol and we would not get any refund for what we didnt use. Overall though we all enjoyed our time at the Bonaire and want to go back already.

  • Liked — restaurant, pool and entertainment
  • Disliked — hit and miss temperature of the shower
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    535
    121
    24
    7
See reviews for
1,584
329
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Just arrived back from the Hotel Bonaire in Cala Bona. There was myself, hubby and 21month old daughter and we all had a fantastic time. Found the holiday online through Thomsons but because I wanted to add extras I had to book over the telephone.

Booked a highchair for the room (£10), stroller (£20) and nappy pack (£25). Nappy pack contained a large pack of Pampers nappies, pack of nappy sacks, pack of 63 wipes, plus mothercare bubble bath and mothercare shampoo). We also booked 3 creche sessions in advance, paying £25. If you book when there spaces are limited and each two hour session costs a little more than if you pre book.

Anyway, the room was spacious, tidy and had everything we needed. There was a safety latch high up on the patio door out to the balcony. Plenty of wardrobe space, huge beds and nice sized bathroom. Room safety deposit box cost 17 Euros for the week but well worth the peace of mind. There were ramps into each apartment block and lifts in all but one, making life with a puschair a lot easier.

Staff were exceptionally friendly all the way up the hierarchy, from the gardeners (who were constantly at work keeping everything in pristine condition) all the way up to the manager. Reception were very helpful with any questions we had or items we needed.

The hotel itself was in very good condition, immaculately clean in every area. Didn't once see any litter or anything in the pools. The pool was cold at this time of year but some were in there having fun. We used the indoor pool which was quite big with a toddler pool and jacuzzi (you have to pay for the jacuzzi). There was also a baby pool in the main pool outside. We hired towels from reception for 10 Euros per day each (refundable) which saved on valuable suitcase space.

The Thomson reps do an excellent job of keeping everybody entertained. There are various activities throughout the day for all ages (adults and children). At night there is the reps entertainment in the bar where they put on a show and get the kids dancing and sometimes the adults.

We used the Creche and cannot rate it highly enough. Totally professional and found very at ease leaving our little one in there as we had never taken her to nursery back here before. They keep them entertained with painting, singing etc. Our daughter loved it. There was a Kidzone there but we didn't have a child old enough to use it. They seemed to have fun, often marching the kids round the pool singing etc. What I found good was that on site there was a sandpit, play area and soft play room for our little one...we struggled to get her away most of the time.

The resort itself is fairly quiet with a good selection of restaurants. It looks like it has just been given a makeover with a lovely pedestrianised walk to the harbour/restaurants. Would recommend the Sunday Roast at 'Argos' which is right on the (very small) beach. We had a huge portion and it was very tasty. Also, if you like english food, the Rope and Anchor opposite the harbour is excellent.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, I suppose the only downside was that we had to come home :)

  • Liked — Family orientated facilities and activities
  • Disliked — Transfer from airport approx. 1hr 15mins
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jappySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, Cornwall.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

We have just had a week at the 'Bonaire' (pronounced Bon - i - ree ! ). Dont have any complaints really, check in was quick and they took your bags to your room if you wanted, hotel was very clean, rooms were large, lovely big outdoor pool, huge choice of food in the self service buffet, not far from town and beach.
Apartments were very well equipped, we were half board but still appreciated the fridge and other kitchen utensils in our room.
All the staff were helpful and friendly.

The only slight let down we felt, was that there was not quite enough entertainment for the children, especially when it was raining for our first three days! One day it was so wet we couldnt really leave the hotel, so we thought as the weather was so bad and that this was a 'superfamily' hotel, that they could have put on some extra activities to help keep evryone amused.

I would reccomend this hotel and i would reccomend a trip to the pirate adventure show, definatley worth the money.

The transfer took about an hour from airport to hotel.

  • Liked — Clean & spacious
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lougarbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Just back at work after a week at the Bonaire. Had a very relaxed time doing a lot of very little.

Firstly the apartments were fantastic. Lots of facilities, good entertainment, helpful staff, very clean and good food.
Cala Bona was very pleasant - lots of nice places to go for a coffee etc. The best restaurant we went to was the Paparazzi - just round the corner from the hotel. Great Italian food though the owner / artist guy seemed a bit unstable.
Cala Millor had a nice beach and lots more cafes / shops etc.
Weather was great - worried that it may be cloudy but it was hot and sunny every day. It was cool in the evening - take a jacket.
I'd sum by saying that the hotel and place are great for those wanting a peaceful break or for those with children - if you want an action packed lads holiday then go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Gym
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DinoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

Great hotel if you've got kids. Room adequate. TV with CBeebies channel so kept my toddler amused. Godsend when getting ready to go out. Has also Sky Sports 1 for sports fans. Meals excellent and piping hot. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. All english spoken. Has a small soft play area good for young babies and toddlers. Also has small paddling pool and sandpit. There is also a climbing frame with various slides for older kids. Entertainment OK in hotel and drink prices reasonable. Very quiet resort and most bars were still closed at this time (apparently opening in May for summer season). Harbour area really nice and good promenade for long walks into next resort (Cala Millor). We found a family pub called Sandancers just down the road from Bonaire which just opened as we arrived. Excellent. Faz and Tracey very friendly and go out their way to make you feel welcome. Went there every night. Our holiday would not have been the same if we had not found this pub. Excellent for kids too. Karaoke and quizzes to keep adults happy and computer games at back for older kids. Playground out back for younger kids. WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK AGAIN.

  • Liked — Facilities for children
  • Disliked — At quieter end of Cala Bona
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TheYoungOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2007

The Bonaire is faultless . If you are on a self catering holiday you can pay to eat in their restaurant, which i would advise as the food there is exceptional, probably better than most restaurants on the island.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank k84b3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy fife
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

we are both in our late 50s and this was our first trip abroad
we booked up with the travel agents and all was set for our belated honeymoon
on arriving at the bonaire we were treated like royalty
any questions were answered in a professional manor
the first night we were at the entertainment venue we ordered
advocat and 1 blackcurant and lemonade what a laugh we had trying to get the young waiter to understand what we needed
eventually we got our drink and from then, we were mr and mrs "BLACKCURRANTY"
this young waiter, the cleaners and staff up to the managers were a credit to the hotel
as for the resort itself its the best place for a quiet time walking along the vast promanade, lots of shops with very pleasant people
finally watch out for the flower sellers they can be at you in seconds and take your money as quick as a flash
we lost quite a few euros
be on your guard at all times
apart from that you can have a really good time at the bonaire with excellent entertainment best of food and most of all the best staff to look after you

as arnold swartzanegger said "WE WILL BE BACK"


JACK AND LORRAINE KIRKCALDY SCOTLAND

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Tips/Secrets — watch out for the gypsy flower sellers
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank jacanory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,701 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,059 reviews
2.7 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing