We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bonaire - still the one to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bonaire - still the one to beat”
Reviewed 4 July 2007

2nd time here in two years, and booked up for next year already.

This place is just so good. The accommodation is good and quiet, with decent aircon. The hotel restaurant is very good value, but the village of Cala Bona is only a few mins away if you want to eat somewhere else. Excellent pool, excellent pool bar, good beaches not far away, what more could you want?

The reps make or break it for a Superfamily hotel, and this lot are just fantastic. The entertainers (Ruthii, Dan & Jovaltine) were brilliant - they always remember your name which counts for a lot, and they *always* have time for a chat and a laugh. They're a great team and put on a good evening show.

The Kidzone reps were great with our 5yr old, who'd been looking forward to going back to Tots all year. And a special mention for the Creche reps Nat, Lou and Rachel who clearly love working with kids and are very, very good childminders. Our 2yr old spent her first ever evening away from her family with them, and loved it so much she wanted to go back the next day. Thomson ought to look after all these people, they're a tremendous asset to the company.

Nearly everyone we met was on their 2nd or 3rd (or more!) visit to the Bonaire and that speaks for itself. It is well worth the money! Now, only 348 days before we fly out again...

  • Liked — Perfet for young families
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wombat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    520
    118
    23
    7
See reviews for
1,538
328
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

My family and I (wife and two kids aged 4 and 2) visited the Bonaire for the middle 2 weeks in June. This is a great family hotel in a great location but I feel I should point out a couple of things I wish I'd known about before I visited that nobody else seems to have noticed !

First the Good:

The staff are fantastic, 24 hour reception and all speak immaculate english. The Thomson desk is also very helpful and there is pretty much always someone there. Entertainment staff are great and although they have activities running throughout the day, if you don't want to take part you don't have to and are not pressured into doing so. Be warned tho if you don't want the full blast of the music and chat get a seat near the deep end ! At night the entertainment staff are on again and do a great kids show (although the entertainment for the grown ups is pretty sub standard !!) and the bar staff will have your drinks with you in no time despite the high number of people there - very efficient ! Finally the staff in the kids club and the creche were great and made both my boys feel very welcome and at home.

The apartments are spacious and cleanish (i'll get to that !) with loads of kitchen amenities for the self caterer and a nice big balcony. The TV has BBC1, BBC2, Sky news, sky sports 1 and cbbc and cbeebies - very handy when trying to get ready to go out. The beds are also pretty big and comfortable. Plenty of cupboard space and i'd advise hiring the safe - 6 digit combination for about 17 euro for the 2 weeks.

The restaraunt is very good in terms of food quality and selection - it's also great value at 13 euro per adult and half price for kids (under 3's are free). Out in Cala Bona itself there are loads of nice places to eat and the harbour has been pedestrianised now so its safe for the kids to run about. Our fav places to eat were the Fonnoll Mari, Chari's and the London Inn, great fresh food for all. There is also a great sweet/sandwich shop at the Port run by an english lady and again the food is great !

Excursions - Pirates is a must, it's brilliant for all the family, a bit pricey esp if you do quarterdeck (which isn't worth the money) but the show is amazing. We also really enjoyed the Western Water Park and the Palma Aquarium although I have to say the markup that Thomson put on these excursions is pretty high, if you have a car go yourself ! Newspapers are also a bit of a rip off at reception - get them in the supermarket !! Speakinf of which if you have a car go to the big supermarket in Cala Millor (capabra I think it's called) or if you don't the BIP supermarket, about a 5 min walk from the bonaire along the main street, is much better value than the SPARs on the waterfront.

Things to look out for:

We found the cleanliness of the apartment to be of an ok standard, not much better. The floor was constantly covered in oose which got everywhere and they never bothered to sweep up under couches or tables - something to watch out for !

The pool is DEEP - esp for kiddies. The main pool is 1m deep at its shallowest point (too deep for under 5's) and the deep end is 2.3m deep. The kiddies pool is fairly small and pretty murky by the afternoon, would have thought a shallower end in the big pool would have been in order for a superfamily hotel ! There is also a fish pond which is very easy for kids to fall into. Saying that the pool complex is good and there are always loads of sunbeds - despite this there are people out at 6am putting towels down, and we think the Germans are bad !!

Probably the most annoying aspect of the holiday was having to queue the night before to reserve a spot for your child in the kids club for the following day, if they had the extra staff to meet the demand then your day would be more relaxing - but we had to queue for at least 20 mins the night before you want to put the kids in to get them a place.

All in all a great place to relax but watch out for the things i've mentioned.

  • Liked — Location, staff and food
  • Disliked — The noise from the shows at night for pool facing apartments
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Having read reviews for this hotel we decided to go for it and we were not disappointed. The place really does live up to its high recommendations. We travelled with two 13 year olds, 11 year old and a 5 year old and loved the whole Bonaire experience. Everyone from the hotel made you feel welcome. From the excellent staff at the front desk. (Joanne is very hard working and nothing was to much bother for her). The entertainers, (Dan, Jo and Ruthie, who must be on red bull constantly as they always have bags of energy and time for everyone) to the bar staff. Kids Zone Reps were fantastic, remembering peoples names (always a nice touch) to the swim instructors of Crouchy and Kirsty. All had a smile on their faces and seem to love their jobs. Well done Me Julie for your fantastic team. Thats what a holiday is all about. Thank you everyone.

The place itself is immaculate and nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. I have never been to a place where I have felt so at home immediately. Friendly staff and all of the guests were just as family orientated and us. Its nice to be somewhere and not think there could be trouble.

Rooms are spacious with everything you need. (Fridge with freezer compartment, microwave, toaster, electric kettle and all utensils. We were half board but it was great to get a coffee in the morning without having to put it onto those electric rings and wait for an hour for it to heat up. Maids were very friendly and always done a great job. Would recommend having a safe (17 euros, worth the piece of mind). Six digit combination digital lock so felt very secure leaving our valuables in there.

Buffet restaraunt fabulous with plenty to choose from. Something there for everyone and very good value for money. Lovely staff in there too.

Entertainment from 11 in the morning trying to involve everyone. True our teenagers were too old for some stuff and not old enough for others but im sure if there was more of them on site the entertainers would have been more than happy to set something up for them, there just wasn't enough of them there. Didnt put ours off though. Made the best of it and loved it. The kids club was great for all the kids upto 12, different groups for different ages and our 11 year old went to Tribe and the reps were fantastic (Kit Kat and Groovy Gary - hats off to you both) 3.30 - 5.30 and everyday something different for them.

Entertainment at night involves everyone. From the little kids to the big ones. Also some fantastic shows. Madonna tribute was brill.

Cala Bona harbour is 2 mins walk and is a very tranquil and pretty town, with neighbouring Cala Millor 5 mins walk. Beach is beautiful and green clear sea perfect for all ages. A great selection of shops which we found really reasonable for prices.

Went on a trip to El Arenal Aqualand and booked independently through l.Punkt Tours S.L. Saved euros doing it that way rather than going with hotel. Check your receipt though because we didnt and paid for 8 people when there was only 7 in our party. When we complained the man said we told him 8. (Why would we possibly do that when only 7 of us travelled abroad?) He got 20 euros for an extra child and although it was our fault for not checking receipt we found his manner a bit unprofessional. Our advice would be to book in cala millor and not cala bona. (Same price but may be more honest.) Personally speaking we went to Magaluf aqualand last year and found that one to be much more family orientated and nicer park with more rides altogether. Travel that extra 15 mins for a better day out. Arenal full of rude teenagers (not many english) running about not watching out for the little ones. Kids still loved it though (it is after all a waterpark)

Can't rave about this place enough and will definately be going again next year. Will never have to scroll through the internet for a holiday again. Go for it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Akasha1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north shields
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We have just returned from the Bonaire and what can i say but fantastic. Everything you need and more. Went with my 2 kids 13 and 5 and my friends and there 2 kids 13 and 11. Kids clubs are available for the kids but dont have to but the staff are brill keep them entertained all day.

We had a room which over looked the full resort which was brill so could see the entertainment at nite if i wanted but was too good to miss. But dont worry you can close your door at nite and cant hear a thing double glazed which was great also. Air con in bedroom and living room also brill. Safe in room if you wanted it that was 17 euro worth every penny peace of mind. The room was very clean and loads of space. All you needed if you were selfcatering toaster, kettle, microwave, 2 rings pots pans as i say everything you need. Even had a TV in room which kids loved when i was getting ready (give me a chance to sort myself out ) and them a chance to chill b4 we hit the nites entertainment.

The staff have so much energy was tired just watching them. You can join in if you choose not forced into anything but after you try 1 challange you cant stop. Chance to win Thomson prizes (t-shirts, cool bag, keyrings beach bag (which i won ;) ) and many more so much fun hard not to enjoy.

The meals very very nice loads to choose from every nite and a seperate kids section this was great but my kids so fussy had to go onto adult section which wasnt a problem. Can go back as many times as you like so scrap all those diets if you plan to eat there prices were 9 euro`s 4 breakfast and 13 euro`s for evening meal half that for the kids so very cheap i thought and for what you got.

Thomson the dog my daughter loved him came out and told a story every day and back out at the night time to join in with the entertainment which all the kids loved. They have kids time from about 8 til 9 disco games and much more then the reps would do Prize Presentation time which was g8. All the little 1,s who had been learning to swim would get up and receive a certificate and all the games that had been played through out the day you would go and receive your prize. Then more fun til with the reps or the evening entertainment , we had a Madonna trbute nite g8 and a magic show brill 80,s nite with the reps and so so so much more could go on 4eva, thats how much fun it was.

Loads of shops and a lovely walk along the harbour and beach front.

  • Liked — Clean and off set not overlooked
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newcbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

What can I say but it will take a lot to top this. I stayed here in May 2007 for a week with my wife and our 2 sons aged 6 and 3.

I have nothing negative to say about the place and the accomodation. The 1 hour coach ride is pleasant enough as you get to see a lot of the mountain terrain on the journey from the aiport to the resort.

The staff are all helpful and the reps and entertainment is great not only for the kids but also for the adults as well.

The kids clubs were great and the kids had a great time which left us the adults to have sometime to ourselves and not have to worry about entertaining the kids let alone if they were in good hands.

The resort is not far from shops and eateries dotted around the local area. The nearest decent beaches are in Cala Millor or Sa Coma and both are very well kept and great fun for the kids.

The accomodation is very clean and very well laid out and has ample space for all. The reps desperate dan and his clan are great fun and the kids loved them and Thomson the dog is now their favourite dog.

This is the first time we have been on holiday with the kids and now the expectation of any other holidays we go on will be hard pushed to exceed this one let alone match it.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and space
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Just got back from the Bonaire. Travelling with my husband and our 14 month old son. We went to another Thomson Superfamily hotel in October (Coma Gran, Sa Coma, Majorca) and cannot recommend these hotels highly enough especially to anyone nervous about taking small children abroad. They think of everything and the facilities are marvellous. We preferred this holiday overall as the location is better. The harbour of Cala Bona is beautiful and lovely to eat out in at night. Thank you to previous reviewers for recommending Paparazzi and Es Mollet - lovely meals in both. Would also recommend Restaurant Sa Cantina and Chiris. Generally found that the service was quick, food lovely and highchairs plentiful. Great when eating with a 14 month old!!
The reps at the hotel are great (Ruthii Jugs where do you get all your energy from) providing activities all day long but never any pressure to join in if you didn't want to.
Would recommend this hotel/resort to anyone with small children.

  • Liked — Freeform pool with plenty of sunbeds
  • Disliked — Brits claimng sunbeds from early hours when more than enough for everyone!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Thank you to all you reviewers, I spent weeks, making sure I booked the right hotel, after a few disasters over the years, I read all the reviews for this hotel and went for it! very impressed, great for the kids, shows every night for the adults and kids, enjoyed the magic show that was very good, and the Bee Gees tribute band was excellant, Cala Bona is lovely and just a short walk to Cala millor which is great too, we drove to Sa Coma after hiring a car, no where near as nice there! Booked through Thomson Hotels only with out the package and it was a hell of alot cheaper than booking it as a package, £274 for the 3 of us for 8 nights and then booked easyjet which I was impressed by too £150 flights, I have always ever gone on holiday as a packaged holiday, will definately do it like this again, you save loads ££££££ and you can choose how many nights you want to stay for too through Thomson hotels!. RECCOMENDED HOTEL - EXCELLANT, THANK YOU BONAIRE

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing