We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday - would not go back on all inclusive though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday - would not go back on all inclusive though”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

we have returned from a weeks stay on all inclusive.

positives - thomsons staff excellent, friendly, welcoming and childrens entertainment brilliant.
hotel staff mostly excellent, particularly the restaurant staff.
hotel itself great for families, we went with our 3 year old who had a great time at the splash pool, playparks and loved kids zone.

improvements could make this hotel better - mainly the all inclusive option. we would not reccomend this as we found the choices to be very limited in terms of lunch (sandwiches, toasties etc would be better than hotdogs, burgers) and healthy options for children. being all inclusive meant limitations on where you can eat and we were limited to the restaurant in the evening.

we found the bar staff not very welcoming to all inclusive guests.
what people forget is we have paid in advace for this service , therefore it is not fair we are given the cheap cola, ice creams and food / drink. the food at the pool bar looked amazing, such a pity all inclusive guests were stuck with the barbeque, which was cheap junk food swarming with flies as it was left for hours not covered.

but all in all we had a great holiday, can not fault thomsons in any way, the best service we have ever experienced, and would defo book through them again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    519
    118
    23
    7
See reviews for
1,533
328
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We selected this hotel entirely based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. It's a good basic 3 star hotel and perfect for small children - we went during second week of term and the hotel was full of families with babies and pre-schoolers, perfect for our 3 1/2 year old to play with! Also nice that the pool was quiet, without big kids leaping about! The apartment was clean and spacious and contained everything we needed. Definitely not plush, but perfectly adequate. The pools were great and we all thoroughly enjoyed spending much of the day there. We went selfcatering and were glad we did, as the glimpses we saw of the food looked very un-tempting to say the least. Bought a few drinks and icecreams at the pool bar, also not impressed with the drinks (coffee was the most appalling one I've had!) or the service, but since we did our own thing it didn't really matter to us. THe location was far better than we had hoped for - pretty views over the hills, nice little tow with good choice of restaurants (L'Olivas was our favourite but there were many others, including Nautic (?) for the best (and cheapest) lattes). We had lunch at our apartment and there were several good supermarkets within easy walking distance.

The kids club was FANTASTIC! Amazing and lovely girls who made huge efforts to entertain the children both at the club and in the evenings. I was SO impressed with the standard of the kids reps and so was my daughter - I hadn't really expected to be able to leave her there as she's a bit shy, but she loved it and went every day happily.

Thoroughly recommended if you have kids - but if you don't, you probably should go somewhere else! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

we went for 11 nights started self catering and we were able to upgrade for last few days to All Inc - Our kids are 1yr and yrs old and I couldn't have asked for better - good food - good service - fab reps - great entertainment
The only bad thing I could say if I had to was I wish the creche was a little cheaper as we put both of ours in and it cost 26Euros for both of them but the service was well worth it
EXCEllent

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilshaw1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelt, Glos
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband, his parents and our 2 year old son went to this hotel and we had a nice time. The hotel & Thompson staff were excellent with our little one and very helpful and polite to us also. There is a very small soft play area, giant sandpit with toys and a "hard" play area with small slides and games which our son enjoyed. There is also a tennis/football area which is where our son spent most of his time playing football (when it was dry).
There are 2 pools one for adults with an area for small children and another pool designed for toddlers with a pirate ship and small slides.
The restaurant was big, clean and the food replennished regularly. I wish there had been a little more choice for my sons meals, he can be quite fussy so sandwhiches or bagettes would of been a nice option.
In the evening there was childrens entertainment from 8 to 9 which our son loved, as there was dancing and games with Thompson the dog. There was then adult entertainment but most of the children seemed to stay up very late so adults couldn't really relax by themselves even if they wanted too.
Cala Bona itself is lovely, a great little marina and only a 20 minutes walk along the promanade to get to the bigger beaches in Cala Millor.
We had wet weather the week in which we went and that made it very difficult to keep an active 2 year old entertained, as all of the activities are outdoors perhaps more indoor play ideas for kids if the weather is bad.
The creche and staff were lovely, we used it once but our little one didn't really enjoy it, more because he was the eldest of the 4 that were there and he had no one to play with.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton aycliffe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was our first family holiday and our first with thomson. We travelled with our 1 yr old daughter who absolutely loved it. On our arrival which was late in the evening there was food prepared for us in the fridge in our room which was a fantastic start. It's all the little things that make the difference with this hotel. Lots for our daughter to do including the wonderful splash park, soft play and chillout rooms. The staff, reps and other guests were very pleasant which added to the enjoyment of our holiday. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone of any age. We went all inclusive and were not disappointed at all with the food. We were a little worried on how our daughter would eat but we didn't need to have as she loved everything she had.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathandjohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I shall keep it short as pretty much what everyone else has said is spot on.Even for myself and my wife going as a 40something yr old couple we found the hotel to be very good,though i would say that it being very quiet was down to the time of year,with regards to the lack of children and therefore the plentiful amount of sunbeds/space around the pool etc.

We went self catering with the intention of upgrading to AI once there,but after having done our usual first morning walk around the area and see the abundance of restaurants we decided we`d leave it a few days then do it.The restaurants around were of that good a quality we didn`t end up on the AI and found,that for 2 people of course,the difference between AI and SC was negligible so we stuck with what we had.Good places to eat were olivia`s and even better the restaurant next door to the left(apologies can`t remember the name) .

We have never returned to a hotel before as we like to move around europe but we both decided if we were stuck for somewhere to go again we would most definitely put this down in our top 3 places.

Quick nod to the room cleaners who were very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Chancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This was our first time to a Thomson Family Resort and now I am thinking how could I book another holiday without going to one!! We were my husband, myself, my 3 yr old and 1 yr old boys. The hotel was spotless, staff really helpful, rooms basic, but very clean and very well equipped - we went AI and very much enjoyed the food, as did our boys!

Our eldest son loved the kids club, which he went to most mornings, and we put our youngest into the creche once (it was brilliant and he loved it but he tended to need to sleep at the session times!). The reps are (mostly!) all fantastic, Exciting Emma, Rhiannabel, Haribo Hayley, to name the best but all work so hard in making you and your children' s stay fantastic.

If you have young children and are looking at this hotel you, and your kids especially, will not be disappointed! Also, if its your first time at a Thomson Resort, prepare yourself for the Thomson the Dog song - soooooooooo catchy!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
16.3 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#8 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
19.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing