We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

My sister, friend and I have just returned from a weks stay in these apartments and really enjoyed our stay. They were clean, comfortable and spacious, we were self catering and found lots of lovely places to eat in Cala Bona during our stay. The swimming pool was stunning, staff were friendly and the grounds were kept extremely tidy. Would be more than happy to return to this complex at any time. First class.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversaxoCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    504
    114
    21
    7
See reviews for
1,492
307
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We booked this as a last minute deal for an excellent price so for what we paid (£450.00 for a week SC for all 3 of us!!) this was a brilliant holiday and well worth every penny. The pools were excellent our son (3yrs ) loved the splash bit and then spent the last couple of days in the smaller round children's pool which he also enjoyed and could easily stand up in.

The hotel staff could not be faulted they were friendly and helpful (reception, bar, cleaning staff etc) as was the Thomson rep mainly on their desk (sorry don't know her name small with a bob). Hotel is kept spotless and when we had a problem with our TV it was sorted very promptly.

We had a theme room as a treat for our son. No-one was sure what this was (inc the travel agent when we booked it). It has Thomson the Dog theme with bean bag chaird, clock, bedding etc. Our room had a view over the pool and we did not find it nosiy at night.This included a personal visit from Thomson.

We went to the evening entertainment our son thought the disco great and as for the Gigglebiz chair went up three times (previously holidays had decided against that!). We did find though kids reps mixed, one in particualar appeared miserable all the time and she apparently was normally in the creche which is a bit worrying as clearly she has chosen that as a career and did not appear to like kids! I don't know whether this was beacuse it was so late in the season and they were waiting to go home. King Louie was great and even he said at one point to the reps perhaps they would like to interact with the kids as that was the idea!! Also despite putting Josh on his registration form and him telling them that was his name they insisted on calling him Joshua. We don't normally do the kids clubs as he is at nursery when we are at home but he fancied the chocolate party (and who can blame him!) and he enjoyed that. He also attended the pirate session as he is pirate mad and enjoyed that.

Hotel is in a really good position. Close to Cala Bona Harbour and if you don't mind the walk you can get to the bigger resort of Cala Millor. We did it daily, as the beach was better there, and got there in about 25 mins having a nice leisurely walk. All of it is along a promendade with shops, restaurants etc and a really nice walk. Our son also insisted we hire out one of the bikes and mummy and daddy could cycle him around. Something different and they seemed very popular. We also went to Marineland and House of Katmundu on one day hiring a car from the hotel as we only wanted a day hire. That cost about 55 euros inc a car seat for a corsa. Again, all sorted by the hotel staff quickly and efficently.

We had looked at this as our AI holiday for next year (which we didn't remember when we booked it) but ruled it out as a bit too expensive as we wanted 11 days. We were hoping to go back in March as we were so impressed as it is my partners birthday (a big one) and my son's but disappointing we have been told that Thomson don't have kids entertainment until May, unlike the Holiday Villages, and we would not go back without the kids activities particulary the evening disco as this made our son's holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed at the Bonaire for one week. The hotel is located off the main promenade of Cala Bona which as the sound proofing of the building was poor was a good thing.

For the price we paid we felt that the hotel and its facilities were very good value, it was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Our only disappointments were that the beds were very firm and the sound proofing very poor. This was especially bad as our room was situated above the main reception area meaning that you could hear everything going on in the hallway and main bar.

The pool was well maintained and there is another splash pool for little ones with a pirates ship etc.. we don't have kids but it seemed that they were very well catered for. We were disappointed that there was no gym, it seemed to have been emptied and shut down. Oh well we were on holiday so I guess it wasn't really that bad.

We were on a self catering basis but ate in the restaurant two evenings. It was the usual buffet style but very good at only 12 euros a head for all you can eat. We had one breakfast which cost 10 euros each. You could upgrade to half board or All Inclusive but there are so many nice restaurants in Cala Bona that we didn't bother and made our own breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittenziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel when we visited in August. We stayed in a self catering apartment which was fairly basic but had everything you need. The only downside was the lack of wall between the bedroom and living room. This was fine for our 2 year old but privacy may be an issue with older children.
The facilities for children were excellent with the children's pool and park particular highlights. We found plenty to entertain our little boy and we never struggled to find a sunbed by either of the pools.
The only downside we felt was the extremely loud entertainment which went on until 11 at night and could be heard very clearly in our apartment.
The location of the hotel was good, just on the edge of Cala Bona in a quiet area but within easy reach of the harbour cafes and restaurants.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We spent a week in September here and it was fab.

The rooms were clean and large. The cooking facilities were not great but I was not there to cook. The only complaint was that there was no sofa beds as I would call them but cushions on the wooden settees. We ended up sleeping with our sons.

The swimming pools are really large and well kept. There is entertainment by the pool which was a bit much for me but was done well. The kids pirate splash park was awesome. My 2.5 year old son played in it for hours.

The entertainment was a bit "Butlins" but then my son loved the disco with Thomson the Dog (found it a bit weird but he loved it). King Louis and the gang were fun and did keep me amused.

The lovely sandy beach was 20 minutes walk away but it was a nice walk and became a feature of our day.

For eating out we loved L'Oliva, the fish restaurant next door was lovely too (Paella was delicious). We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that.

I would recommed going on the boat to Cala Rajada. This cost 20 euros each and the resort is lovely. We found a little beach down the coast which was small but beautiful. Though it was crowded.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband, i and two children ( 2yrs & 15week old ) stayed at the Bonaire from 25th Sept 2010 for a week.
It was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The staff are so friendly & helpful.The grounds are imaculate & kept very clean.
We booked to go self catering but upgraded to all inclu once there. We read on reviews that people were littering & being greedy with the all incl but we didnt see any of that going on. There is a wide variety in the restaurant, pool bars & drink selections.
The entertainment was really good & the reps put on day time activitys but wernt in your face with it - they were all top notch & great with the kids.
The only fault we could find was that the splash pool for the children was absolutly freezing!! But it didnt stop us going in.
There is a beach literaly 5 mins from the resort but if you walk 10/15 mins along the coast, past the harbour there is a lovely soft sandy baech which we found to be better.
We will def be returning next yr without a doubt. Think we have found a place to return yr after yr. THANKS FOR A GREAT HOLIDAY.
Adam & Caroline.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexCaz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Our second time at the Bonaire as a family with 2 children under 3.
Facilities for children are great, especially the new splashpark.
Thomson Kids Club and Creche are fantastic, the girls working there are just brilliant and the children loved their time with them.
Clean, well-maintained complex, excellent pool and play areas.
Food in restaurant is great.
The hotel provided a beautiful birthday cake as a gift for my little boy during our stay which was lovely.
Excellent location.
What more can I say?!
Highly recommended!
Thanks to the Thomson staff, they are brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca5935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
16.4 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
Viva Zafiro Alcudia & Spa
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#11 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
45.8 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
19.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Property: Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing