We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there.”
Review of Hotel Atolon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atolon
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Went to this hotel with my father. Stayed in a room across the road from the main building, obviously I was in a room on my own and felt unsafe as the door wasn't secure and anyone could walk into the building off the street. The room was dingy and smelt musty, there was mould on the wall. My dad had water gushing down the wall in his bathroom. The food was awful and the service poor. One particular member of staff, on reception, was very abrupt and unfriendly. What a shame as the location is quite nice, overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leogelert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

the hotel its self was excellent. lovely location.we have stayed here twice now.the only problem we had was with one of the waitressess so much i dreaded going for breakfast and tea.she was very rude and made it quite clear she didn,t like me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubi0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The family have been visiting the hotel for many years (from late 1970's onwards) and every year it gets better. A superb family run hotel in a brilliant location. The main hotel is situated on the coast side of the road and as a result the pool area (which is clean and well maintained) has panoramic views of cala bona and cala millor, Sea view rooms a bonus. There is a good choice at mealtimes in the air conditioned restaurant and also a poolside bar serving snacks at lunchtime. I would also recommend the bar across the road (also owned by the hotel) for a change of scenery and an afternoon G&T and ice cream for the kids. There is entertainment each evening (although no Tony Peppon this Year !). The owners and staff are friendly and helpful and really accommodating when making booking arrangements. Rooms are of a good size and have been updated over the years. Towels are changed daily and linen weekly. There is a hair dryer in the room and fridges and a room safe for hire. The hotel is well located for walk to cala millor or cala bona. We have tried other holiday destinations but return to the Atolon again and again as nothing compares.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolaAshtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Hotel Atolon is a lovely family oriented hotel, with friendly and helpful staff. We have stayed at the hotel on many occasions, and return again and again because it is so nice. The entertainment is varied, and most evenings takes place on the open air dance floor, which has an open air bar, lighting and a fantastic view of the sea. I would recommend it to families and to couples. Cala Bona and Cala Millor are relatively peaceful and have well maintained, clean beaches if you like the beach, however, the pool at the Atolon is set into the rocks around the coastline, so you can get a lovely sea breeze as you enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly66L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I have been going to The Atolon Hotel for a number of years and have always been made welcomed. The owner and staff are only to pleased to help in anyway possible if required.
the location of the hotel is the best in that part of the Island, over looking the sea. It has a well placed swimming pool which is maintained to a very high standard.
The pool side bar is run by a very helpful and polite staff. At lunch time you can buy at a very reasonable price a well presented platter of food which you can eat in pleasant surroundings over looking the sea.
There is entertainment provided in the evening, but there is nothing stopping you visiting the other hotels in the resort to sample the entertainment they have to offer if you so wish.
Outdoor music ceases at midnight, but you can still sit at the poolside bar and have a quite drink before retiring for the night for a very peaceful night's sleep.
A Lovely hotel, well worth a visit, and like me you will go back time and time again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwsfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Suitable for mixed ages and accommodating for families as well as couples. Staff are very friendly and helpful and many have been there for several years. Pedro runs the bar and restaurant very efficiently but also has some fun whilst working by interacting with the holiday makers. The pool has a fantastic view but is open to the public.
Entertainment in the outside bar every night during the season which is quite unique in this area. Restaurant food is good quality and the choice is adequate. We have been on many occassions and would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Stayed august 2010,we have been staying here nearly every year for 15 years.The hotel is small and friendly with excellant staff.The jewel of the hotel is the position,the pool area is surrounded by the sea and the hotel is split by a promanade,one way cala bona,the other cala millor.It is excellant for familys who like hassle free holidays.Some reviews complain about lack of tv in room or poor entertainment etc,I can only say to them ,go to a large hotel with such ameinaties.For me a holiday is for relaxing and knowing your children are safe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanwhickerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#10 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencia Son Floriana
Residencia Son Floriana
#15 of 19 in Cala Bona
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atolon

Address: Paseo Maritimo 42, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range: £76 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atolon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atolon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atolon Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Atolon Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing