We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atolon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Atolon
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having just returned after spending a week at this hotel we feel we must warn prospective visitors just what they are letting themselves in for if they book this hotel. We arrived at reception to be given our key with a hand gesture which we gathered meant .... room over the road, we were met with a room which looked like it had been locked away since the 1950's and only just opened, although having said that it was obviously well used due to the filthy (I think blue, but difficult to see) carpet, stained bath, no TV no kettle no fridge although you could pay extra for these things if required..... Oh except for a TV obviously no room or TV points wired to the room, which I do find strange there must have been ONE looking at the number of exposed wires! The view from our room (if you could call it a view) was over some dreadful run down dirty building, we decided the next day to ask if we could be moved, GUESS WHAT! We could be moved to a sea view room but it would cost! We paid! Only to walk into a copy of the same room (minus the carpet I am very pleased to say!) but with a much better view. THE FOOD! What can I say which hasn't t already been said, it's hard to find the words! Please can someone let me know the name of the yellow dessert topped with stale soggy arrowroot biscuits!
BE WARNED WHENEVER YOU ORDER A DRINK FROM THE OUTSIDE BAR NEVER LET THE WAITER TAKE YOUR MONEY YOU GIVE HIM FOR PAYMENT AWAY FROM THE TABLE (unusual as every where else they carry their change bag with them and deal with the payment at the table) OUR WAITER TOOK OUR MONEY THEN CAME BACK WITH TEN EUROS SHORT INSISTING THAT THIS WAS CORRECT, ( we are 100 % sure of the note given) THIS IS OBVIOUSLY SECOND NATURE TO HIM AS HE IS SO BLASÉ WITH HIS ANSWER AND OFF LIKE A SHOT. WE REPORTED TO THE RECEPTION DESK IMMEDIATELY ALONG WITH THE RECEIPT ...... GUESS WHAT ...... THEY COULD NOT CARE LESS. WE NEVER AGAIN HAD A DRINK THERE PREFERRING TO JOIN OUR FRIENDS AT THEIR HOTEL, THUS THE ATOLON MISSING OUT ON A GROUP OF PEOPLE SPENDING THEIR MONEY WITH THEM ON ANY OCCASION ( and let's face it they need the money to do the place up!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    187
    69
    27
    19
See reviews for
174
237
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just come back from Cala Bona and our stay at the Atolon Hotel. I would mention that we have stayed there several times over the years and we just keep returning.

The Atolon is a family owned and managed hotel in the centre of Cala Bona and it's position is unbeatable, right on the sea front. The ladies on reception are friendly and all speak very good English and we have always found them very welcoming and helpful.

The hotel is in two parts, with lift access in only one part, so if you have mobility problems then I suggest you state this when you make the booking. The rooms are very comfortable and are cleaned and towels replaced every single day. No there isn't a TV in each room but then that is something we are not too bothered about as we come on holiday to get away from the norm. If you really need to watch your favourite 'soap' there is a large tv in the bar next to reception.

I have read some awful reviews regarding the food at the Atolon, I can only give my own opinion which is, that the breakfasts are terrific with everything from a hot cooked breakfast to continenal. What more do you need? There is a lot of choice for the evening meal, from soup, a great salad bar and variety for the main course. There is also a variety of cheeses and biscuits. I can honestly say we always found our evening meals more than satisfactory.

Pedro, the head waiter and all his bar staff are lovely and we spent many evenings in the outside bar. What a perfect position, overlooking the sea, having a drink and listening to the
great entertainment.

The Atolon is a little gem of a hotel and we found our whole experience absolutely wonderful and yes, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our second stay at The Atolon, and we loved it. The staff were really friendly, and all working hard to ensure everyone had a good stay. We had a good room, which suited us perfectly. We thought the food was good; lots of different choices every day, and a really good selection for breakfast. The location is fantastic, overlooking the bay, and ideally suited for walking, shopping, and eating and drinking. Overall we think this is really good value for money.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the main building overlooking the sea, but there is a lift in the annexe if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Well well well where do I begin....

We asked for a sea view and got stung quite a hefty amount on top
Of what we had already paid for the privilege, quite handy that they don't tell you this. If only we knew the consequence we wouldn't have bothered!
Upon entering our room I was instantly transported back to a backstreet 1920's Calcutta hotel. The ceiling fan, which I warn you not to put above the speed 2 setting or big dust balls get thrown about the room, is horrific. There is no TV in the room and the wifi will not stretch past the reception desk leaving it impossible to live in the modern world within the room. There is a friendly welcoming card in your room telling you that if you want a fridge it costs extra €'s, if you want a safe it costs extra €'s, and surprise surprise if you want a kettle in your room it costs extra€'s!! The card also wishes you a sorrow less stay... Which is nice... Or a threat... I couldn't decide. Try not to stay in the bathroom too long as you might dehydrate and pass out! No need to set any alarms either due to someone 2 doors away having an alarm which can be heard through the paper thin walls

If you want food on your stay then go somewhere else as I will describe the dinner in the following as nice as I possibly can. You can have salad from the salad bar which is not labelled so you will have no idea what anything is as it's all covered in tuna and all seems to be the same colour. Main meal will consist of some kind of meat in a sauce, a meat covered in breadcrumbs and then some vegetables that have the consistency of out of date baby food. And for desert you can have some kind of multi coloured squidge. This material they call desert is not known to man as of yet but please let me know if you find out. If you like a drink with your meal then again best go elsewhere as the waiter who goes by the name of Pedro will decide when you need a drink. The old English people seem to think he's fantastic! If only they could speak Spanish like us then I don't think they would hold him in such high regard.
If you have any problem with a marble staircase then I would give it miss. On two occasions I witnessed a flying elderly woman which Is quite worrying. No lift or help with getting bags and stuff to your room as I think they rely on people who are using the wifi at reception to do this for them.

Our cleaner took to leaving our door open along with our neighbours too. And after reading some previous reviews this seems quite a worrying trend.

Seems most people who like this place are from the "Blackpool Generation" and like tapping their feet and maybe pushing it to a clap at the atrocious display of entertainment.

You couldn't pay me to go back to this hovel. Not a happy camper!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Where to begin? The check in debacle I suppose. Having paid £900 for a double room
for 10 nights, we requested a sea view if one were available. Virtually the first thing the receptionist did on our arrival was slap us with an additional £160 bill for the privilege of a sea view, and then keep our passports hostage until we had unpacked and proffered a credit card to settle the extra bill. The hotel was apparently full so not paying the surcharge was out of the question. It should be noted that we had to haul all of our luggage by hand up the stairs to the room as there is no lift in the hotel - steer well clear if you are in any way restricted in your mobility. The bedroom was horribly dated, with faded and worn bedding and curtains, chipped and broken bathroom tiles, grubby and discoloured towels, a bath mat which was not changed once in the duration of our stay, a fridge which did not work unless you paid daily for an adapter plug, no wifi signal and wait for it, in 2013, no television and only 2 power sockets. We were reasonably optimistic despite the sparse lodgings as on holiday we only normally sleep in the rooms anyway. No complaints about the pool/ terrace, other than the fact that every lounger was occupied only by a beach towel from 8am every morning - a German stereotype propagated by the English, but every other resident was English in this particular ho(s)tel. The piece du resistance of this horror show of a hotel, however, was the dining experience. Unidentifiable, overlooked slop for a buffet, with no conceivable meals, rather just an array of meat with chips, or frozen veg on a lucky day. As a vegetarian, I was horrified to find that even the dishes on the salad bar were smeared with tuna and/or other fish. Dry lettuce and tomatoes with a bread roll was all that was available most evenings if you are vegetarian or just don't like fish. I can't even offer any critique of the desserts, because I have no idea what they were, but judging by the fact that nobody ever touched anything but the tinned fruit and ice cream, they must have been as bad as they looked. Colourful, moulded slime would be my three word summation. Don't expect a drink with dinner either, Pedro the waiter will decide when he feels like taking your order and bringing it, normally shortly before you have exhausted the culinary adventure for the evening and are about to leave. He seems rather too busy bawling at the two young waitresses to do his own job. The waitresses are the only passable aspect of the hotel other than its location, which is of course only incidental. There is eardrum splittingly diabolical entertainment every evening in the hotel until between 11.30-12am, so having paid so much for the room with a view, we had to stay out of it until past midnight every night to ensure the fusty tribute acts at 200 decibels had packed up their transits and we could get some peace. Avoid avoid avoid. If I can save anyone a vastly inflated price and their precious holidays with this objective review of this hotel, so much the better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bongatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I just cannot believe some of the critical reviews on the Atalon. This was our second stay at this hotel and will certainly be back. The rooms are clean and comfortable, air conditioning and ceiling fan far superior to some four star establishments i have stayed in
.The situation is right in the middle of prom between cala millor and cala bona harbour with a beautiful pool and gardens cleaned every day.
Staff are all very friendly and work hard to please all holiday makers. Lovely breakfast and dinner in a dining room with superb view out over the med.Plenty choice every evening ,well cooked, hot and quality food.
A selection of entertainment every evening to satisfy a varied age group and good service from the bar staff.
This hotel provides quality 3* service and the fact that most visitors return year after year just proves how good it is.Cannot wait to return here to the Atalon.
Thanks to all the team for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden get the sun on their balcony from noon till sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Having returned for the second time to Hotel Atolon I have to stress that it probably is not for everyone, certainly not if you are looking for four or even five star entertainment, food and accommodation. On the other hand if you are looking for clean rooms with maid service every day providing clean towels and bed linen changed twice in two weeks, edible food, nice helpful people on reception, including the night porter, pleasant maids, great bar service in both the poolside and snack bar over the way also owned by the hotel then this is certainly the place for you. It is not for young children, teenagers or stags or hens and is more in the way of home from home for those over the age of 40 and as old as hitting late 70's. Most were in the latter age group, ourselves the exception! If you like to watch Emmerdale after dinner followed by Coronation Street or Eastenders then you can quite happily do so in the reception area off of the dining room. You won't find anyone falling about drunk but more likely to be sitting tapping along to the sound of the entertainer each evening on the pool terrace by way of tribute acts such as Tom Jones, Engelbert, Neil Diamond etc., some quite good others not so good but entertaining just the same. Pedro and his girls in the dining room are an absolute delight and if they ever chose to move on I'm not sure the hotel would have the same rapore with the diners who look forward to Pedro singing as he works and having friendly banter with the diners.
So, if you are young, single, looking for Karaoke, slammers and staying up 'till the wee small hours, don't go to the Atolon. If you are a family then don't go as the pool is small and really not much space for sunbathing or running around. If you are over 40 and looking for somewhere to chillax and chose to not look for too much more than just be there and enjoy then this is the place to go on holiday and we might just see you there because we will definately return.

Room Tip: The main building is by far the better of the two but it is quite costly to pay extra for the sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolmcg1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#9 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marins Hotels
Marins Hotels
#15 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#4 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atolon

Property: Hotel Atolon
Address: Paseo Maritimo 42, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#12 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atolon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Atolon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atolon Hotel Cala Bona
Hotel Atolon Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing