We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 star hotel, 5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1 star hotel, 5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I got back from the Sur last night (6.10.12), having booked a holiday on the strength of reviews on here. It was a good decision.

OK, this hotel is not the Ritz. It's a bit old, and a bit tired - a bit like a comfy pair of shoes. But everything works, and is spotlessly clean. The rooms were serviced every day, except Mondays when the chamber-staff get a day off, and they do a really thorough job. In fact I heard a couple of guests voice my own thoughts when they wondered if the sheets were changed daily - certainly the sand that I always managed to trail into bed with me was invariably gone next evening, and the sheets always had a crisp, freshly changed feel.
My room, which I understand was pretty much standard (though I understand the family is starting to upgrade the rooms as a rolling programme), with wardrobe, dressing table, strongbox, fridge and two chairs. My room was a twin, though I had booked as a single (with no single supplement required!), with plenty of space. The balcony looked out over the pool, with two chairs and a table.
The bathroom was beautifully clean, with WC, wash hand basin and bath with shower over. To be honest, the bath was far too short for anyone over about 10 years old to bathe in, but I think most grown-ups shower anyway, don't they?

As I understand it, all the front-line staff are family members, and nothing is too much trouble for any of them. They were always ready with help, advice, or directions and, if they didn't know the answer, were always quick to Google it! There was one idiot guest who managed to lock his key in his room every day (sometimes twice!) but, despite this, the staff were very patient and good-humoured with me about it, and often had the spare key out when they saw me coming.
Any problems were dealt with very promptly. For example, when I arrived I noticed the rubberised floor of the lift was becoming worn and a bit wrinkled (this is something that is bound to happen to lift flooring regularly). This was no great problem, but few days later I saw the wrinkle had torn, and become a trip hazard. I mentioned it to one of the staff on my way out after breakfast, and by dinner-time the whole base of the lift had been replaced.

Meals were pretty much standard buffet fare, and not really to my taste, but many of the other guests were happy enough, so I guess it comes down to personal taste, but I think when I go next time (and I will), I'll opt for B&B, or even room only, so I can explore the other options available locally.

There is a small gym available, though I didn't see anyone use it (certainly not me), a lounge with a good selection of books, free wi-fi in the lobby and bar (bring your own laptop though) and the entertainment alternates day by day with the hotel across the road. The guy from Preston was especially good!
The entertainment all takes place at the front of the hotel, which makes the front-facing rooms pretty noisy, but while I was there it was all quiet soon after midnight, so it’s not unbearable. The rear facing room (facing he pool), get pretty hot, but sleeping with the balcony door open (maybe this wouldn’t work high-season) meant I didn’t need a fan

The pool is a quite small, though a good depth, with a separate kiddy-pool, though the sea was a lot warmer.

The local beach is about 1-2 minutes’ walk away. It's quite small and rocky, with a bigger sandier beach about 15 minutes’ walk away at Cala Millor.

There is a luggage room, and a shower room available for guests to use after they have checked out (check-out time 1200), and when I was there we were offered to option of keeping our rooms, for a very small fee, till 1500 or even 1800. I don't know if this option would be available in high season though.
I travel a lot for work, and have paid far, far more, and got far, far less, than the excellent quality, cleanliness and service I got at the Sur.
WELL DONE!!

Room Tip: Street side quieter Pool side cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    264
    93
    38
    47
See reviews for
179
326
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

2 friends and I (all students) recently visited the 'Sur Hotel' in Cala Bona. We chose this hotel for its cheap price, and location on Majorca.

... But it was clear even from the exterior, as some of the other reviewers have commented on, that we were going to get what we paid for.

LOCATION: The outside looked pretty shabby, although the location was great. 100 yards from the beach and a minute walk from the main square in Cala Bona. This was a big bonus for us, as we specifically wanted a beach holiday! There are also lots of bars and clubs if you walk down 20 minutes along the coast to 'Cala Millor'.

HOTEL: The hotel itself was not 5*, but that is to be expected from the price! The interior of the reception is very dated, although this is alright because lets be honest who spends much time in there!? Our room had no air conditioning, and with 3 of us sleeping in there, the heat was unbearable in the night, and we had to sleep with the balcony doors open every night to avoid overheating. This being said, the room itself was clean and with every necessity... lots of plugs, and the shower was powerful! The pool however was not great either, and we opted for going to the beach everyday, but it always was packed!

STAFF: The staff were very helpful and were happy to give directions/advice about restaurants and attractions in the local area.

FOOD: The food is diabolical!!! We opted for the 'bed and breakfast' option, but ended up buying special k and milk from the news-agents next door to avoid entering the cafeteria. I am a student and this was worse than I make! The bread was stale, the cooked breakfast was floating in a pool of grease, and we had to actually soak it in tissues before eating it, and the cereal was very stale and slightly soggy. DO NOT EAT HERE.

Overall, the food is dire, the hotel is average, and the location is great.

Room Tip: Request one with a sea view! There's only a few, but we did and we had the best in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharBChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Myself,my wife and my five year old son stayed at the Sur for 10 days at the end of August and had a wonderful time..
The staff would do anything to help you enjoy your stay and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are basic but spotless and yes they were warm at the back of the hotel but we hired a fan which helped. (it was the hottest August for 30 years!!) The food at breakfast and dinner was great with a good choice and always plentiful..The pool was cleaned daily and we never had a problem getting a sunbed..I think most people went to the beach so there were never more than 25 people around the pool which is great when you have a small child. The is entertainment most nights at either the Sur or the Moreyo across the street and always plenty of sport on the tv's.. Cala Bona is a quieter resort(but there are plenty of bars) and the hotel is close to the harbour so if you want breakfast,lunch or dinner at reasonable price then its there.
If you want a bit more life then Cala Millor is only a 15 stroll but it is targeted at the german market but there is a beautiful beach,plenty of bars,shops and eateries.There are plenty of markets in nearby towns and excursions a plenty..! All in all we had a superb holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sur .This was our first time in Cala Bona at the Sur and we have already booked for 14 nights in August next year and cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel was quieter but warmer in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I booked this with trepidation as a last minute holiday, due to being let down on prior arrangements. However I need not have worried at all. I requested a high room at the back as suggested and although the decor could have been updated, all I needed was somewhere to sleep, wash and sit a while and this ticked all the boxes.The room was cleaned by a lovely young lady who assisted me greatly as I broke my arm on the second day of my holiday - a word of warning here - if you hire a bike it is safer to cycle on the roads rather than the dedicated cycle ways which pedestrians do not realise are there. I only ate breakfast in the hotel, and that was basic but filling. This is a privately owned, family run hotel and it shows in the personal treatment and help that the staff all give willingly. (my sister stayed at a large Thompson hotel, and I am sure that my predicament of not being able to do much for myself would have been largely ignored, whereas fellow guests and staff all helped me at the Sur) I can honestly say this is the friendliest hotel I have stayed in, and if you want a cheap break with no frills, then this is as good as any. If you want a posh hotel withall mod cons, then this is not for you, but you get what you pay for and I certainly think this should be at least a 2 *. There are plenty of restaurants close by to suit all budgets, and the beach is literally on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but hotter. if you are a night bird then the front would be fine - esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We returned from this hotel yesterday (29/09/2012). We booked, as usual, at the last minute, and because of the hike in flight prices went with this hotel although we did read about the noise and heat on Tripadvisor. I requested a back room but we were allocated a front room. The room was clean and fairly large, the staff were friendly, we had only been in the room for 5 mins when we discovered the light in the bathroom was out, the maid was in the hall and we reported it to her, in a couple of mins a lad came and changed the bulb. No complaints there. We were on the third floor room 322. There is a bar in our hotel which plays country and western music on Mondays and Fridays, a bar opposite that plays live music on other nights and an hotel to the right which also has live singers. We were lucky that the weather was good and the temperatures were in the 30's but the room was very hot and having the window open was so noisy with music and traffic. I cat- knapped for three nights, but enough was enough with "the green green grass of home" competing with "river deep mountain high" and "the old home town" we decided to ask for a room at the back - the receptionist was very nice she said there was a room available almost opposite ours but it was smaller. For a good nights sleep I had contemplated sleeping in the bathroom so a smaller room held no fears for us. It was great with a lovely mountain view and sunset and we settled into room 327 which had a delightful shuttered window as well as a small balcony with separate door. Peace and quiet and the weather broke so it was cooler. Why we didn't ask for a change before i do not know!

Food - There was always enough food but unfortunately most meat was serverely overcooked and pasta, rice, fish and potatoes and a few soups were very over salted. But the bread was great and there was always salads and ice cream and puddings. On the last night Friday 28th we had a gala night which they hold once a year to celebrate tourist day. This meal was supberb lots of spanish dishes, meats fish and a glass of spanish cava - couldn't be faulty.

The hotel is located near the harbour, its close to the bus stop, Cala Bona is quieter than Cala Millor which we liked.

Would i recommend this hotel to you - I would hate for you to be disappointed - would i go back - yes provided i could be guaranteed a back room.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with a noisy room do ask for a change they really didnt make a thing out of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

in our hour of need this hotel turned up trumps. we had room only, as we had a forced extention to our holiday. (our dad was in hospital in manacor).the staff were very accomadating and the room to was just as good. very clean rooms and a fridge as standard not 39euros like other hotels. room rate was outstanding. and when it came to booking flights transfers and extending carparking in the uk, once again the staff were wonderful. they let us print everything from their printer. the rooms can accomadate 3 persons,and are cleaned regular except 1 day, always hot water in the shower, and we had a lush sea view, the pool area is very clean and plenty of sunbeds. the sun hits the pool late morning and stays there for the rest of the day. there is a full gym in the hotel and also tennis courts. there is evening entertainment every other day on the opposite days the evening entertainment is in the moreyo on the opposite side of the street. the bar and bar staff are very very good, and they usually show most sporting events live at no cost. as a big plus there is a lift to all floors. i did not experience the food, as i have been to cala bona several times and like to do my own thing. I WILL DEFINATLY LOOK AT BOOKING THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Room Tip: try and request sea view. these rooms are all street facing. so you can sit on your balcony and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Well we've just got home from our 6th holiday in the Sur Hotel (we go twice a year) and as before we enjoyed our stay very much, all of the staff are fantastic, in my previous reviews I've said just about everything I can say about this hotel, we always have a room at the front which is rather noisy and was even more so on this holiday, (more loud people about and rather a lot of very loud football on the TVs) but the rooms at the front are a little cooler than those than at the back which are quieter but hotter, we enjoyed the food too, we always stay half board and its amazing value for money.
This should be more than a one star hotel.
Thank you to the family and staff for making our stay as wonderful as ever xxx

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Anderson_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#9 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.4 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#3 of 13 in S'illot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Property: Hotel Sur
Address: Paseo Maritimo 25, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#14 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel Cala Bona
Sur Cala Bona
Hotel Sur Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing