We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sur
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Great Barr, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just came back from the sur and what a lovely friendly place to stay in you get a fridge in the room no charge which is great for pop for the kids and beer lol allround great hotel close to the coves and two min walk to beautiful harbour safe for the kids all the shops you need

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    264
    93
    38
    47
See reviews for
179
326
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Ive stayed here twice now,2012 and 2013 and going back in june 2014.You always get a good welcome here.Rooms are clean and bright and cleaned often.food is great,bar is a good place to relax and watch the world go by.Christian behind the bar is a gem.I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: rear of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank roadwarriorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a great little hotel, we stayed October 2012 after finding the hotel on Travel Republic. We were not expecting much as we didn't pay much but what a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and comfortable although could have done with air conditioning. The food was plentiful and tasty. Reception staff were very helpful. The pool was good and always got a sunbed. The location is very central with a short walk to the beach. There is noise from the bar downstairs but this does finish around midnight. Brilliant hotel, great value for money and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank LadyPMancheser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Well placed with a short, level walk to the sea, and not much farther to the harbour and shops etc. The initial reception was pleasant & the lift handy.We requested a room at the rear because we thought the view would be better, and there would be noise from the road at the front, although it is not a very busy road.The room was adequately furnished and everything was clean, including the bathroom, in which everything worked properly.We booked Bed & Breakfast and found the breakfast to be tasty with plenty of choice We also tried the evening meal and were happy with the selection and quality for the price paid.This is a good place to stay for those seeking satisfaction at a sensible price. .

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the noise from traffic and revellers in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank audman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

stayed here 8-18th october 2013. It cost us £600 for 10 days, including parking at manchester, insurance, transfers etc. For that we got half board in a hotel that is clean and simple. Outstanding value for money, cant fault it for the money, had a room at the back, still fairly noisy but all over with by midnight. Slept well in a small but comfortable room, staff were very good and everything spotless. Took a travel kettle and a couple of cups, small spar next door and bought milk, coffee etc when we needed it. We read the earlier revues and saw there was a fridge and no kettle, so we were well prepared. Room at the back was fine in oct, as it wasnt super hot..just right 25-32 C . Its not a five star, but as a one star, it's fantastic!

Room Tip: pack a fan and a kettle,get a room on third floor at the back,expect a tiny bath with an exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Having returned from yet another great three week holiday at the Hotel Sur, I have to say it continues to give excellent value for money and the family with the staff who run it, give unparalleled friendly service to all holidaymakers who stay there, my wife and I always stay half board and the food is very good. As I have said in previous reviews, we holiday there twice a year and have already booked for next year. During our stay this 24th Sep till 15th Oct our stay coincided with the Tourista festival week at the end of September where there are all sorts of activities (flamenco dancing etc) around the island, some are held 2 mins walk away at the harbour in Cala Bona, and some just 15 mins walk away in Cala Mallor, with a climax of a wonderful firework display at Cala Millor on the last night of the festival. The Sur hotel also lays on a gala night in the restaurant with a selection of typical food of Mallorca as well as the normal buffet, with a glass of bubbly to wash it down, some of the staff also wear traditional dress on that night which adds to an already lovely atmosphere. A lovely holiday as ever.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but hotter (the sun is on them all afternoon) and rooms at the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank G_Anderson_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

very plesent hotel, rooms very clean, Ladies from reception really nice and helpful, breakfast very tasty. had a great time with my family staying there in october. The hotel is very close to the beach and mabye 5-10 min walking from Cala Millor beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#9 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.4 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#3 of 13 in S'illot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#6 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Property: Hotel Sur
Address: Paseo Maritimo 25, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#14 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel Cala Bona
Sur Cala Bona
Hotel Sur Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing