We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit”
Review of Protur Bonamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Protur Bonamar
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was without doubt the cleanest, staff friendly hotel we have visited in a long time. I was a little unsure on arrival as it was probably the smallest place we've stayed and have never experienced sunbathing round the pool while overlooking the prom. However, what a lovely place it is. Plenty of sunbeds at any time of day and shaded comfy areas to get some relief on the very hot days. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and evening meal was good - pretty much usual Spanish hotel choice. Ideally placed for walking into Bona/Millor where both beaches are lovely but packed!! Bedrooms are small but perfectly adequate and fridge hire 3 euros per day. For a treat we visited SaPunto restaurant (owned by the Nadal family) and had the taster menu (less than 30 euros each) it was to die for!!! On the other end of the scale, turn right, out of the hotel and a few yards down the road is a spar supermarket run by the lovely Eileen who makes you a sandwich of your choice in a huge baguette for 1 euro 60c! Absolute bargain and delicious!!
Biggest surprise for me was the excellent Rud Stewart (catch him if you can). I thought he looked familair and found out afterwards that I went to school with him and hadn't seen him for 35yrs!!
We had a lovely holiday and would recommend it to anyone.
Natalie was poorly all week that we were there and we hope shesfeels much better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donnyrovers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great little hotel, greta location. Food was what you expect from a hotel, good choice but sometimes the same options. The surrounding area was lovely, very quiet if that's what you are looking for. Nice shops around and a variety of bars and restaurants, have recommended the area and hotel to friends and family.

The pool area is smaller then most hotels, especially when compared to those in Tenerife. Make sure to go to the Pirates dinner show, very good entertainment.

All in all, good hotel, could have more options for entertainment in the night but make sure to check out Yates bar next door. This is where we went every night as the entertainment and drinks were fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J123760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our second visit after a 3 year gap, during ther last 2 weeks of July 2012. This is a quality hotel that offers customers what they want - good food, friendly staff, high standards of cleanliness and comfort and if you wish a full programme of entertainment. Many people return year after year, testament to a successful product. My wife and I found that the sun bed space was a little cramped compared to our previous visit. This exacerbated the only negative aspect of the holiday - selfish smokers. We have become (thankfully) protected from passive smoking in the UK by recent legislation but around the pool and terrace bar specifically and Cala Bona generally, the smoking fraternity were out in force, completely oblivious to those who do not wish to inhale their smoke.

The restaurant is excellent with friendly and helpful staff, serving a wide and interesting variety of food, morning and evening. I do share the view that the long trouser rule is flouted by some and no-one appeared to be challenged by the restaurant manager when they turned up to the evening meal in shorts or cut offs. If the rule is not to be enforced, then do away with the rule.

Overall a very good hotel and holiday destination. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the full sea view rooms at the front of the hotel. Rooms are small but perfectly acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just back from this great hotel. Stayed 31/07 to 07/08. Very clean staff all friendly and welcoming reception staff very helpfull. I emailed hotel with room request of top floor and thats what we got when we arrived. great side sea view room. Me and my husband had our 50th birthday while there and when we got back to our room after a day out there was ice bucket with a bottle of champagne, glasses and a card from hotel. It was a nice gesture not many hotels do that. The guests mixed ages young couples to older guests but all friendly. Great location for either cala bona or cala millor. The food was very good and plenty of choice. Nice pool area and even though hotel was full we could always find a sunbed with brolly no matter when we went to the pool. We stayed for entertainment some evenings when act was on it lasts about an hour we found it good and all the guests join in with clapping and had a good time. We found entertainment in cala Bona most nights all was good mostly take offs Tom Jones. B Gees. Rod Steward.ABBA etc.
Would recommened this hotel to anyone who likes a chilled out no kids type of holiday it was bliss!! I didnt want to come home a week was not long enough

Room Tip: email hotel two weeks before with request high or top floors for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amandajones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

we once again we have just returned on 4th august from 2 weeks stay at the bonamar,it is a fantastic hotel,this is our 3rd holiday there,every member of staff is so pleasent and friendly,my only problem is that the rule that gentlemen should wear long trousers is not adhered to ,there is a notice in the bedrooms also it is also stated in the holiday brochure,this is rather annoying and very bad manners come on bonamar get a grip ,what next speedo,s and flip flops.or and to the reviewer who said there maybe a seperate place for smokers where do they suggest think this is taking it to far,thats my moan over, also my i suggest that guests try the cocktail bar nex door,what fantastic hosts they make you feel so welcome,once again a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamelameek565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

As with many other reviews we had a good time at the Bonamar thanks to the friendly staff,good food, clean hotel and rooms but the thing we will remember is the smell of the "Show cooking" which was done in the restaurant. Unfortunately the ventilation is not up to the job and you end up smelling of food.This is bad enough if you are a meat eater but my wife who is a vegetarian found it most unpleasant.We also had one of 4 rooms that has a very small balcony(approx 1m square) but as it had a partial sea view and was away from the road we stuck with it.Our experience of the pool was not as good as others as we do not get up at @7:30am to reserve loungers as many did and when we came back from walking at midday we could not easily see free loungers so chose the fantastic nearby beach over the pool area which did remind us of the film Cocoon on times.The hotels location is excellent and the food variety was also very good. Entertainment varied from very good to very average and most guests were friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side of the hotel get the late sun but are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stu055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

went different time in july rather than august, was hot but a lovely breeze, and much fresher, as always we had brilliant holiday, the hotel is very clean, and all the staff, and i mean all the staff are so friendly and welcoming.There are loads of sunbeds, yes you do get the same people getting up early to get there spot, day in day out, but you ll always have that what ever hotel you go to, me and my husband like a day around the pool then a day out at the beach, to vary the holiday, but everyone to there own, theres a great choice of food in the restaurant, while we were there for 11 nights there was salmon 3 times and always a joint of meat, at the carvery end , and its not always pork, we had lamb and gammon a few times, the salad bar is very fresh and varied as is the desert table, and theres always pleanty of vegetables, the breakfast is very good too. the rooms are a little small but theres pleanty of wardrobe space and you can hire a fridge and safe if you want. Nice to see Natalie again, shes so lovely not a bit pushy and shes always got a smile for you, first time iv ever joined in a few of the games and enjoyed very much, only thing i missed was playing bingo for money , its for a cocktail and a bottle of bubbly, this year, so we didnt bother much, we only did the evening entertainment three times this year, theyre ok, not always the best but cala bona and cala miller has pleanty of shops and restaurants to go to, we love cala bona, its not roudy but lovely walking to the harbour.The age group varies in the bonamar, yes there is alot of older guests but they know how to enjoy themselves, we like to do our own thing and dont pair up with other people but we always say hello and have a chat, its a very friendly place, well done bonamar and its fantastic staff, we had a lovely holiday. from sally and steve

Room Tip: ask for a garden view or sea view room, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonamar

Address: Calle de Comellar Fondo, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Bonamar 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Protur Bonamar Cala Bona, Majorca
Protur Bonamar Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing