We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Holiday in Protur Bonamar”
Review of Protur Bonamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Protur Bonamar
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
ESSEX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday in Protur Bonamar”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was how first time to this hotel and we were very pleased with our choice it was small friendly and excellent staff throughout. Natalie the entertainment manager was great at her job and always smiling considering she was there morning, noon and night!!!!! The hotel is in a great location you can walk to the harbour in Cala Bona or along the seafront to Cala Millor where you can get the Glass Bottom Catamaran for trips around the island. We took the Sea Adventure trip to Porto Cristo for 20 euros each return. It was well worth it you are taken to all the small caves on route which are outstanding and then dropped off at Porto Cristo for about 2 hours. There isn't much to do there but there are a few shops and plenty of bars and restaurants. It is a pleasant walk to the harbour where you will find plenty of bars and restaurants to sit outside.
We had a room on the first floor overlooking the gardens pool and seaview which was ok. After reading other reviews before we left I was expecting a very small room so was surprised when we got there, it was bigger than I expected. The maid was very good she cleaned room and changed our towels everyday. There are no tea making facilities in the room. We hired a fridge which cost 3 euro per day or 20 euros for a week. It was well worth it to keep milk, water, wine and beers in to have on your balcony before your evening meal or lunchtime. There is a Spar 5 mins outside the hotel to the right with Eileen and Pedro who are very helpful they will even open your wine if you forget your corkscrew!!!! We didn't buy lunch there but they are well known for lovely baquettes freshly made to order and you are allowed to eat them round the pool area.
Also 5 litres of water was only 1.10 euro.
The hotel was extremely clean throughout and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bar is open until 1am even though the entertainment stops at 11-11.30 pm. I would say it caters more for the over 60s, although there were a few younger couples there.
Breakfast is 8-10am and Evening meal 7-9pm. Gentlemen must wear long trousers in the evening meal. Breakfast was good but evening meal could be improved.
We were there 12-19 oct. the weather was really good it was cloudy a few mornings but no rain at all. We had no problems getting sunbeds there were always plenty of empty ones all times of the day. There is a back door in the pool area which leads you to the sea front. Go left to Cala Bona and right to Cala Millor.
You can go into most hotels in the evening to see what entertainment is going on. We went to the Cala Bona Hotel by the harbour to see the Jersey Boys which were very good and had a great evening, got back at 1.30am.
There is also the Waterfront Bar on the left as you walk to the harbour they do lunchtime special which is a toastie sandwich, chips and salad for 4 euros. which was great. Also Smithys bar down on the harbour was nice to sit outside in the evening with a nice cocktail or wine.
The only thing I would change if I returned was to go earlier in the month has bars etc. were getting ready to close for the season and the entertainment in the hotel was finishing on the 22nd Oct.
There were a lot of returning guests but they were all very friendly I am pleased to say.
If you are thinking of going here, book it and ENJOY!!! You won't regret it.
If you go out the back door and walk to the seafront there is a cocktail bar on the left called cocktail palace it is a great place to eat and drink the atmosphere and staff are absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7august
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    238
    61
    11
    3
See reviews for
52
546
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a great ten days at the Bonamar Hotel in Cala Bona,Majorca.It was a change for us as we usually go to the Talayot Hotel.Reviews about this hotel were all good they are all spot on!We could not find any thing to fault at this hotel from our arrival to our leaving.The reception,the restaurant,the pool,the staff,and natalie for entertainment.all excellent and the whole place is spotless too.People say the rooms are small,well maybe smaller than some we have stayed in,but clean and comfortable,and we dont go on holiday to stay in the room anyway.There was some good entertainment after Natalies Bingo although we tend to go out after dinner.There is plenty going on nearby,bars and such and a good night at the british bulldog in Cala Millor can be had as well.All in all this was a great holiday and we are not youngsters,if you cannot enjoy a holiday here then you shoulld stay at home.we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were in side room with a sea view,but you can get sea view rooms and rooms over the gardens.sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our 4th stay at this lovely hotel and resort. If you're wondering why,its because its a hotel that we cannot fault ( unless you want to be unnecessarily picky )The location alone is 1st class , the hotel is run excellently, the standard of the food, the cleanliness , the friendliness of the staff ( including the cleaners ) are all excellent.A special mention to the hard working Natalie,and the ever smiling Jose behind the bar.We normally have another holiday earlier in the year, but the other hotels never seem to compare favorably to the Bonamar. We have met some lovely people over the years and most of them return at the same time, and its really nice to see them again.We have booked again for next year and cannot wait ( you just know its going to be a lovely holiday again ) Had a sea view room on the 4th floor and watching the sunrise was just beautiful, which we would recommend.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room , well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pwtattersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at the bonamar from 12th to 19th october this was our second visit,we stayed in room 317,a garden view room which you could get a look at the sea from the side,the rooms are cleaned each day beds made.All the staff are friendly nothing is too much trouble for them,Natalies good fun who sorts games out around the pool(shes very proud) you will know what i mean if you have already stayed there.Its lovely and quiet too so if you are after a peaceful break go for it!!! Well done to all the Bonamar staff,will "def"visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janDuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Bonamar hotel from 1st Oct - 15th Oct, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is classed as a 3*, and it is a very good 3*.
We decided before going, having read several reviews, that we would prefer to have a pool/sea view room, so contacted the hotel shortly after making our booking requesting one, if available. We were delighted to find out on arrival that we were allocated one. There was a charge of 10 euros/day for the upgrade, which we were quite happy to pay. We had a good size balcony, and our room was in the sunlight from first thing in the morning to about 3.00pm, ideal for when we had lunch on our balcony, or when we just wanted a quiet area to sit and read.
We have been to Cala Bona before, so know the area quite well. There is a nice stroll up to Cala Millor ( Cala Bona and Cala Millor merge into one another ), or alternatively a short walk into Cala Bona itself, down to the pretty harbour area. There is a nice long promenade, about 2 miles in length, between Cala Bona and Cala Millor, which is nice and flat, ideal for those who like nice long strolls, or if you have any mobility difficulties.
The room size is reasonable, there is both a bath and shower in an adequately sized bathroom, sufficient storage space, and comfortable beds. There is a high standard of cleanliness throughout this hotel. We found all the staff friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient.
There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols, even after the early risers had claimed theirs!!, and there are cushions available, if desired. The pool area has been refurbished, the pool size is reasonable, and there is a guard on duty from 10.00am, when the pool officially opens, through to 6.00pm.
We found that there was a good selection of food in the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meals.
There are daytime activities, evening shows 5 days a week, evening quizzes twice a week, and bingo 6 evenings a week. All of the in-house activities are organised by Natalie. For those who have read other reviews, you will probably have seen her name come up regularly. She is everything everyone else has said, and more. She is bubbly, good fun, but very strict when it comes to the rules of the games, but it's like she says " I'm not bossy, it's just the rules" in her welsh accent!! We've always liked participating in the activities. We find it an ideal way to socialise with other guests, and it can be very enjoyable, especially if the organiser is good fun. She is great and, as we have booked to go back again next year, hopefully we will get to see her again.
So, from a personal point of view, we had a very enjoyable holiday. If we weren't keen on the entertainment in our hotel, there were plenty of hotels close by to go to for alternative acts to watch.
I will also mention Stanley's Tea Rooms, which is just down the road, for afternoon snacks, sandwiches, or an afternoon tea comprising sandwiches of your choice, scones, jam and cream, cakes and a pot of tea, all for 6 euros each, and lovely staff, there is Pedro and Eileen's Spar shop on the same stretch of road, for still water, and rolls made for you while you wait, with a choice of fillings, at very reasonable prices. Also, there is a bar called Yates, which is just around the corner from the hotel, where again you have quizzes, bingo, and a happy hour, if you want something away from the hotel.
I will also make you aware of the following, (a) if you do want a sea or pool view, you will have to pay for the upgrade, (b) if you want a fridge this will need to be hired. This year it was 20 euros per week, (c) there is a TV in the room, and you will need to pay a deposit for the remote control, which was 5 euros (d) and similarly you will need to pay a deposit to have towels, which was 15 euros per towel, and they could be changed every 3 days. There is a safe in the room, for which there is a hire fee and a key deposit, but we find this is standard in most hotels we have been to.
As stated earlier, we are going back again next year. We don't normally go back to a hotel 2 years running, but we found this to be a very relaxing hotel in a resort we both like.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

just came back to uk from bonamar hotel 12th to 19th oct 2013 and i must say to you all out there that fault find ect dont because me and my partner loved it very clean hotel and the food well yum yum first class / spotless hotel /very clean /i could not fault the hotel or place so forget all the rubbish you read on here and go there so when people say food ok hotel ok rubbish i would say top notch service ok super holiday folks.

Room Tip: 314 top notch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our first time at this hotel as we usually stay at the Alicia but thought we would try this hotel as it had good reviews and no children, and we like the area. We were not disappointed as it was just as the reviews had said, good food nice staff lovely pools both indoors and out and plenty of beds and good weather, only little niggle was very small bathroom and shower curtain (bit dated ) and the room was a tad on the small side but the bed was king size which was nice.
and yes 30 euros for two towels was a bit steep. Would return though..
But once again Thomson transport was a nightmare, we had six drop-offs on arrival and at least nine on return going round the resort for a hour before we even headed for the airport so the journey took two hours and no rep got on the coach so we were helping the more elderly find there way and there were three reps sitting inside at the Thomson desk !! I know its near the end of the season for Majorca but come on Thomson you need to sort this.

Room Tip: I personally would not pay 20 euros a night for full sea view as the side sea view was fine but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#8 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#13 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#8 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonamar

Property: Protur Bonamar
Address: Calle de Comellar Fondo, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Bonamar 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Protur Bonamar Cala Bona, Majorca
Protur Bonamar Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing