We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at the Bonamar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protur Bonamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Protur Bonamar
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Bonamar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

It was our first stay at this hotel,and it definitely wont be out last !! as we have already booked for next year.Position of this hotel is excellent , with Cala Bona harbour a short stroll one way and Cala Millor beach a short stroll the other way with plenty of bars and restaurants inbetween. The manager and his staff work very hard to keep this hotels standard very high , yes , room was slightly small but acceptable for a holiday room.We found the standard of food very high and the choice was varied. Kevin , the entertainment manager was excellent , and we hope to see him on our next visit , although the evening entertainment wasnt always to our taste. Pool and facilities were excellent , plenty of sunbeds and shades.Met some lovely friendly people and looking forward to next september !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pwtattersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    238
    61
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
542
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcaslte
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We have just returned from one week holiday at the Bonamar and this was a long enough stay. We found that the reviews which we read previously did not all live up to our expectations. The staff were tired and unhelpful, on the two occasions we asked for information they were not very helpful at all. The entertainment was on for two evenings and the rest of the entertainment was 'Bingo' or a pathetic quiz which was put together by a young Spanish student who had very little personality or experience.

The hotel was clean and the maid very pleasant.

The food was of a very poor quality (tough meat, quails legs, fish fingers, ham and cheese parcels to name a few of the courses) The vegetables were cold and watery, the potatoes hard, however the chips were OK - if you want to eat chips every night! We often had to wait for food trays to be replenished and the chef did not seem to care.

We have stayed many times at Cala Bona and I would suggest that you think seriously before you book at this hotel. Thomson rep also listened to other guests opinions which were similar to ours and I would suggest that the hotel should not take it for granted that people return year after year and that they have become too complacent

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hotelreviewNewcaslte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We are just back from staying a week at the Bonamar. The staff all get along very well and seem to love working there, even the cleaners. Everyone has an 'Hola' for you every day and are very helpful. The hotel is very clean, including both the indoor and outdoor pools. It's a 1 minute walk to the sea, and 5 minutes to the beach. The buffet dinner was different every day with plenty of choice, though it would have been nice to see more genuine Spanish or Mallorcan dishes on the menu.
The only real negatives we had were that, as with most hotels it seems, the beds were too hard for us. Also, the shower curtain was placed too far in so touches you when you shower. Finally, no free WiFi, which is a must I think nowadays.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CraigIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

This is our second year at the Bonamar and we think its a great hotel.It is spotlessly clean the staff are very friendly and the food is superb.Most of the guests are very friendly and mix well together.We met people from last year which was very nice.I cant recommend this hotel enough.We had a great holiday and will be going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireMilkmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be better than some four star hotels we have stayed in. We found it to exceptionally clean, staff hard working, very pleasant, friendly, and helpful, rooms average size (would recommend a seaview,) also rooms would benefit from tea making facilities. Food was ok, (could find something to eat at every meal time.) Unlike other reviewers did not have problem getting a sunbed at any time of day although the hotel was fully occupied. entertainment was aveage holiday entertainers. Bar prices very reasonable. Try the cocktail bar at the side of the hotel. Miguel, and Pedro, will make you feel really welcome, and really appreciate your custom. The hotel is ideally situated between Cla Bona and Cla Millor. Overall we found this hotel to be the best three star we have stayed in. and are about to book again for next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marino057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is the third time we have holidayed on this wonderful island, and it got better every time we visited it. Our previous holidays were in Alcudia but we chose Cala Bona as our friends next door recomended it as a wonderful location. The hotel was spotless, the room was ample sized and the food was absolutely out of this world. There were at least 5 or 6 different main courses and 5 or 6 sweets to chose from every night, some people complained but in our opinion they were looking for a la carte food for 4 star prices. The hotel was situated right between Cala Millor and Cala Bona within easy walking distance of either beach and close to lots of shops. Before our holiday we read all the reviews and about lots of guests coming back year after year. We always say if are going to pay a bit extra you should visit different places but we would definetely return to this hotel next year. There is a little Spar shop just about 200 yards from the main entrance, that is run by Eileen and Pedro (a lovely couple), where you can buy very tasty baguettes filled with whatever filling you like for 1.65 euros.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingqueen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Please note the following is my own opinion of this hotel
Just returned last week from this hotel on a Thomson holiday and in the main it is a good hotel. Good points include cleanliness, bar prices, peace and quiet, adults only, no race for sunbeds, plently of sun shades, and activities.
The hotel is on the sea front so great location for Cala Bona and Cala Millor.
Bad points are the basic rooms with the usual Spanish hard beds with little or no luxury in the room. They still charge for the safe at 14 euros a week and there is no fridge.
I see many people are happy with the food but I thought it was very poor. It is my opinion that the hotel is buying in cheap quality and there are problems in the dining room. Staff appears to be short and the chefs are rarely at the counter. Plate collection and replacement is slow.
We gave up and went outside to eat.
Even at breakfast there are the cheap cereals and bread and if you enjoy fried eggs in a leather jacket this is the place for you. We tried through the Thomson rep to see if it could be improved but to be honest she had little interest.
In summary, this is a good enough mid range hotel but it is badly let down by the food quality.
It is our first ime in an adult hotel and this was great with lots of friendly like minded people around. Staff were also friendly but a bit run off their feet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hipotels Aparthotel Cala Millor Park
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marins Hotels
Marins Hotels
#14 of 65 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Bonamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonamar

Property: Protur Bonamar
Address: Calle de Comellar Fondo, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Bonamar 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Protur Bonamar Cala Bona, Majorca
Protur Bonamar Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing