We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

this was our second visit to cala bona and it was brilliant. location is excellent as is the accomodation (really clean with good air con.)restaurant and food absolutely fine.pool area clean and always managed to find a space to sit. staff really friendly and helpful. the entertainment was a bit old for us forty somethings but it was good fun and a great atmosphere. we just wanted some where to chill out for a few days and weren't dissapointed. Just get rid of the plate juggler[he's pants] then he has the cheek to ask for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ruby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    319
    104
    37
    16
See reviews for
234
595
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

4th stay at the hotel but 1st since the refurb. The hotel is in the best location you could possibly wish for overlooking the harbor. Sitting on the balcony people watching & looking at the boats coming in & out is amazing. The staff are all fantastic & tend to be the same ones every year. Love Miguel out at the pool bar.. Top bloke & Ali the chef who does the show cooking, the owner Sebastian also a lovely man. The main thing to remember with this hotel is to book a sea view room as this is what makes the holiday so special. Bit of a problem round the pool on our 2nd week when hotel full with selfish regulars thinking they have the right to lay on 2 sunbeds & saying it was because they had a bad back (even though they were fine to run like Olympians every morning out to get the beds when the doors were open) shame on you all when one couple had to lay on the floor & another lady had to have a huge row with you to have a bed for her & her husband (who had just had a massive heart attack) don't let this put you off just stand up to them or go & tell the management. Everyone is so friendly on the whole, a couple of the oldies didn't like children & made this very clear (we had 5 year old very well behaved child) there are plenty of hotels that are child free so maybe they should bear this is mind before they book for there next hol! But realistically 99.9% of the guests are fab & loved my little one. Food was always delicious, far higher than other 3 & 4 star hotels iv stayed in, plenty of choice & if there's nothing you fancy on the menu look in book in reception & there's some menus there for kids/vegetarians & special diets which includes jacket pots, pizzas etc & you can order from this instead. Entertainment was good with Abba again band being excellent. If you want a table inside to watch show you do have to get there before bingo starts (2 games 8.15 & 8.30) good money too. Some people do go after bingo so tables free up then. We preferred to sit outside though where there's always some kind of street entertainment going on & you can still hear the entertainment. I don't want to give away my favorite room numbers as honestly the regulars book direct with the hotel & choose the same room every year but alot of rooms were already sold out this year as its just so popular, there were people in the booking room booking for 2014! I'm not mean though & iv already booked our room for next year so if anyone is thinking of booking direct with hotel message me & I'll give you some tips & can show you some photos of various rooms & views. Book the right room here & you won't regret it :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank abbey1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just returned from a stay at the Hotel Cala Bona. My fiance & I were looking for a chilled, relaxing holiday, prior to the manic preparations for our wedding next year. Couldn't have chosen a better resort or hotel. We had visited Cala Bona previously with family & as an ex travel consultant I had checked out the hotel, so that I could give feed back to my customers. I was a bit apprehensive about the different blocks & room types, however after being unable to secure a sea view room, I requested one in the 'Azul' block as I had heard this was quieter. Request was accommodated & our room was a good size with air con. Balcony overlooking the road, however we did have nice views of the hills behind Cala Bona & the road was very quiet. We got the sun in the evening, which suits us as we like to sit on our balcony for a couple of pre dinner drinks. I have stayed in lots of accommodation abroad, ranging from 2* apartments to 4 & 5* hotels & cruise ships & I was very impressed with the Hotel Cala Bona - rooms & public areas were spotless, food was of a very good quality & the staff were very friendly & helpful. We are both in our early fifties & the entertainment wasn't always to our taste, however it was fun & light hearted & we spent a number of evenings at the bar, ( a welcome change from the football). Pool area was busy but we were always able to get a sunbed despite being fairly late risers. We would always go back to the pool late afternoon for a swim as it was a lot quieter & a welcome relief from the heat. All in all we had a great holiday & having stayed in much less impressive 4* hotels, we both agree that we will definately be coming back here.

Room Tip: Do your homework, there are lots of different blocks with different facilities in each room. The hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENT18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cala Bona, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks for your post. We are pleased to know that your stay was what you expected. We will continue working to improve. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold Wood Romford Essex England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Cala Bona Hotel again, everyone so friendly. The dining room has been refurbished since we last visited which I must say decorated very nicely. Only one negative and that is the dining tables much too close to one another and difficult at times getting direct to your table had to make a detour around other tables. But we can put up with that, we have been to this hotel 4 times now, we love the location,the friendly staff,food is good plenty of choice -atmosphere in the bar during the evenings just great, The Cala Bona has good entertainment during the evenings and certainly a place to relax and enjoy. We have met so many good friends when we have stayed here.

Room Tip: We like a high floor - if you have a room overlooking the pool it can be very hot late afternoon and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaureenHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENT18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cala Bona, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks for your nice words. We are pleased to know that you have spent a nice time with us. Thanks for your comments about the dinning room, we will work to improve that. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Enjoyed our stay in June 2012. This has the best location in Cala Bona (overlooking the Habour). This hotel is a favourite with the "golden" generation (who return year after year) and everyone seems to know everyone. We were put in one of the annexe hotels (Nemo) in a standard room (non-sea view) which was nice and quiet, clean and the bonus was it had A/C. The balcony got the sun in the afternoon, which made it too hot on the sunny days. Food was of a very good standard, the restaurant was really well organised and calm. We used ResortHoppa to transfer to the hotel (using the limited number of stops option), this was a mini-bus (seating 7-8 people) which was really good and would recommend paying that little extra.

Room Tip: Non-seaview standard rooms in the Nemo annexe are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichwithDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENT18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cala Bona, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks for your nice words. We are pleased to know that you have spent a nice time with us. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is absolutely fabulous one of the best I have stayed in, food fantastic, pool lovely and very private pool area, the location is amazing right near Cala Bona harbour! Going back next year probably September - went with two friends and we hope to go with our partners/husbands next year! Stafff very friendly, very clean - don't have negative thing to say just fabulous!

Room Tip: Try and ask for room overlooking the harbour - we were in other building behind harbour building ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StLucia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENT18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cala Bona, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks for your nice words. We are pleased to know that you have spent a nice time with us. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Lovely hotel in the centre of Cala Bona resort. Staff are wonderful and very helpful and as I booked direct with the hotel they were very attentive. Rooms are very good especially the ones with a sea view. We were in La Perogla block which is just separate from the main block and the view was amazing. If you don't mind booking everything yourself then it is worth it as you get the kettle and fridge etc. included. The hotel organised taxi's to and from the airport which was a great help and so easy. Very good value for money, food (especially breakfast) was good and excellent staff. Thank you Christine for all your help with the booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENT18, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cala Bona, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your nice post. We are happy to know that our booking directly with customers has been helpful. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#13 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#9 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencia Son Floriana
Residencia Son Floriana
#15 of 20 in Cala Bona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Property: Hotel Cala Bona
Address: Paseo Moll 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing