We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so easy to relax”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent 5 lovely days at the hotel Cala Bona this July .we booked a superior room and was put in room 107,which is a newly refurbished room overlooking the beautiful marina. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and efficient .the room was superb,with excellent walk in shower..we were booked in for half board and the food was very good. This hotel and resort attracts the more mature visitor due to the resorts flat terrain.this wasn't too much of a problem to us but our daughter wasn't ,t so impressed. Evening bingo session each nightThe resort is lovely,plenty of good restaurants and bars ,we spent our first night around outside TV watching Spain win the European Cup!Great fun.Entertainment at hotel each night was great,then when that had finished we went to our room and watched the street entertainers from our balcony.Hotel makes a good sangria.Now what was not so good was the hotel pool arrangements,very cramped,you had to move the sunbeds from a stock pile and try and find a space to place them!Didnt like that and felt uncomfortably close to the next sunbathers. the pool itself was clean and well maintained.Sunbeds were a little old and didn't seem to be cleaned daily.pool bar and staff were very good.in resort go to Julie's for the best local ice cream,and the Galleon shop for the best range of competitively price Nao.we had a fabulous 5 day and would certainly recommend the hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Insist on sea view.they are over the bar so can be noisy at night,but rooms are air conditioned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beverley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

visited the cala bona upgraded to one of the new rooms on front block no charge very chic went for first evening meal nearly fell over dining room utterly transformed what a fab refurb congrats to owner sebastian on the splendid modernisation all in all great hotel in the best position in cala bona

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AshtonULyneGregoryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband & I had the Cala Bona suggested to us by our Travel Agent & we were sooo pleased she did. We went out in May this year (2012) before it got too busy. It was the right time for us, there were people around our age staying too (50's) plus a few younger guests. The hotel overlooks the beautiful harbour, the front of the hotel is kept spotlessy clean with tables & chairs where you can sit out & enjoy a drink & a meal - beautiful. The hotel is very modern, the rooms are spotlessly clean & a maid cleans & changes your towells every day. There are two downsides! One was was the restaurant. The tables are too close together, sited in such a way that if someone passes your table as you are eating, you just may get your elbow knocked as what happened a few times with us. The food overall is good, although there are always those that would disagree (can please some but not everyone). Having said that there was one night when the vegetables were cold. I told this to the Head Waiter & it appeared the hotplate on the servery hadnt been switched on! He was very apologetic but it did ruin my dinner that night. The second was the beds! We found them too hard & the pillows were not very comfortable either. The mattress protectors on the beds had a waterproof backing which made you perspire even with the aircon on! We didnt get a decent nights sleep all week.
We would certainly go back to the Cala Bona again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view, 2nd floor or higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CARRIBEANQUEEN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Cala Bona Hotel and have to say this time it was much better than a couple of years ago. The rooms are still nice and airy and clean, we couldn't fault the maid who came in every day and did a great job of keeping our room nice and fresh, we don't make a mess anyway but it is nice to have someone come in every day and sweep and mop the floor. Sorry don't know the name of the person that cleaned our room but we were in 361 and couldn't complain about her at all, she always greeted us when she saw us.
We had a great view of the harbour I would never book without having a sea view room as we do sit on our balcony quite a bit due to my husbands disability he likes to sit on the balcony early morning and late afternoon for a rest and with the view you get it is always well worth it, we also love to sit there on a night later on and seeing everyone go past and watch the entertainers that are in the plaza. We could hear the entertainment from the bar which didn't bother us as not being able to get a seat in the bar you could run down grab a couple of drinks and listen to it from the balcony if you wanted to.
The restaurant was great this time, I was not fond of the food 2 years ago when we stayed there but thought that giving you the same table for all you stay was a good idea and I am glad to see its one thing they kept the same. The food this time was fantastic, I am very fussy and there was only 1 night where I struggled but this is because of being so fussy. We had a lovely choice of meat with pork, lamb, chicken, beef and even yorkshire pudds on sunday to go with the beef very nice touch and I am sure much appreciated by the brits that stay there.
I would def recommend this hotel to anyone that hadn't stayed here before stayed somewhere else last year because of the food previous year and even though other hotel was nice food was awful but with Hotel Cala Bona revamping the restaurant and the food this is def a better hotel.
We used the hotel some days for our dinner had a lovely tuna pizza which they don't mind you sharing which we did with some fries as too much for one of us and other days we used a gorgeous sandwich shop called Julies just across from the front of the hotel you can even get pork pies and stuff there.

Room Tip: well worth staying in the pergola with the sea view we stayed in room 361 and had a really good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinkgirl479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have stayed in The Cala Bona on many occasions and loved it but this year I am afraid not, to start with too many people in the restaurant, they were three of us and had to sit at a table for two a bit squashed to say the least. The worst thing was though they should have been six in our party but the day before we flew one of the party had to have a operation therefore they and daughter and son-in-law could not come, they informed the hotel straightaway, three of us still went but the transport from the airport to the hotel still cost us for six people even though they knew would be only three. I do not believe the hotel when they said they had to pay the taxi company because they wouldn't be giving the taxi firm the business if they was not getting anything out of it. So unfortunately we will not be staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

We regret to inform that the guests who cancelled although were not able to recuperate their deposit in cash have now carried this forward to rebook later in the season.

We were advised of this cancellation the evening before arrival and therefore were not time (24 hrs cancellatin policy transfer company) to cancel. A minibus was send for 6 people although there were finally only 3 people. We have do pay the full account in this case to the transfer company as this service is outwith the Hotel, there was nothing we could do.

We are sorry if this spoiled your holiday and will not be returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

That's me done then lads -- my wife loved every minute and it looks like a lifetime of The Hotel Cala Bona for me and we met people who first came here in the 1960's.
A real family hotel where one of the staff ( i assume a waitress on maternity leave) appeared in the restaurant with her new born, a beautiful little baby with a MASS of jet black hair, only to be mobbed by people leaving their meal half way through to admire the newcomer and her obviously much loved Mom.
A lovely, lovely moment which wouldn't happen with one of the big providers.
We had requested a pool view room as someone had recommended in ROOM TIPS but please be aware that there are ONLY NINE and with regular guests booking direct ( free fridge, hairdryer, room choice , free days out of season etc) it was illogical for us to expect a premium room as first timers. Our further request of a high floor room with a sunny aspect was met (thankyou) and we were in room 335 in the main reception block. This looked out,over a little street, straight into the rear of the bar block, but our block had reception, dining room and pool and we would be happy with the same room again.
A previous reviewer had mentioned the close proximity of the dining room tables but this worked massively in our favour as we shared 22 meals with Fran & John from Edenthorpe, Doncaster who made every meal a lovely experience ( Thankyou )

A great holiday in a great hotel.

Loved Reception, our maid in 335, our waitress on table 62 (name tags would help) ,restaurant , pool , bars and entertainment.

HANG ON LADS --- I'VE TURNED INTO ME WIFE

See you soon Hotel Cala Bona

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maverick048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

just back from hotel cala bona it was a very good hotel.when we arrived a porter was waiting to take our cases to the room,nice touch for a three star hotel,we were given a suppierior room for free it was really nice too.from then on it just got better,food was lovely always something nice to eat,dinning room was spotless staff there are very friendly and effient.there were entertainment every night.it was my husbands 60th birthday when we were there we didnt mention it to anyone but the hotel staff put a bunch of flowers,a card and some chocolates in our room whilst we were out for the day,very nice aye.cala bona as a resort is very welcomeing and friendly local people went out thier way to talk to you,we dont normally go to the same hotel twice but we go to this one again im sure lv from room 302 xxxxx

Room Tip: ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank biggsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Address: Passeig del Moll, 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing