We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good hotel”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and good hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Just returned from stay at the cala bona hotel,good standard of food and accommodation. Evening entertainment quite good. The best thing about the hotel is it,s location right in the middle of the harbour which adds to the stay.All in all for the money you pay it is good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowett52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    334
    110
    38
    17
See reviews for
239
626
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Arrived at hotel very late due to Parma airport issues of recent but from the very start the staff at Hotel Cala Bona impressed by quickly organising check in then to our suprise organised a late meal due to delay at airport.
We booked half board and the meals for breakfast and evening meal where very good and a good selection to choose from. The hotel it self is very clean and well looked after with a great pool and the rooms where fantastic with the linen and beds changed every day.
I found the rooms very secure and spacious very clean and modern with great views depending where your room is situated.
The bay of Cala Bona is fantatsic and caters for the young and old alike with relaxing cafe bars seating by the sea front and with the Hotel Cala Bona taking much of the frontage theirs great live entertainment every night.
Would travel back again as 10 out of 10 for me.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Had a good relaxing time. Brilliant location next to harbour and square. Interesting street entertainment

Hotel good clean and friendly. No shortage of sunbeds around pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chester14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel has five separate buildings, the original hotel that overlooks the harbour, three more buildings situated to the back of the original hotel - across a road (this is where the restaurant and pool can be found) and a new build overlooking the seafront about a 7 minute walk away from the original hotel. This is not a traditional hotel complex, it is three different developments with the same owner/manager. Most of the decent reviews you read on this hotel are from guests who have stayed at the main site or in the new build. Unfortunately, we were accomodated in the original hotel, which is substantially inferior to the accomodation in the other buildings.
We booked through the Thomson group - which includes Thomson's, First Choice and Portland. The picture of the hotel room on their website bears no resemblance to the room we were accomodated in and is more akin to hostel accomodation than the 'three star hotel' grading promoted by the Thomson group. The problem with this hotel is that there is massive variance in the standard of accomodation - particularly between the new build and the original build. The photograph of the room on Thomson's site is of a room in the new build, until recently it had the caption 'a typical sea view room' - this has now been removed and if you look hard enough you will now find a mention of the varience in the smallprint on their web site.
The original hotel is not air conditioned, so if you do not have 'airconditioning' explicitly listed on your booking/invoice, chances are you will be in the original hotel building. The photos I am attaching do not adequately convey how grim this hotel is. It has no airconditioning (the temperature in our room was around 34 degrees), the rooms are small (expect to bruise your shins on ends of bed), twin beds the size of bunk beds, the towels and linen frayed with holes in, the furniture grotty and falling apart, the fan provided did not work, one plug socket in the room, the stairwell smelt damp, the balcony was tiny with a couple of grotty plastic chairs (which we couldn't actually sit on because the shutters blocked access). We overlooked a canopy covered in dirt, debris and old socks!
To add to the horror that is this hotel, we were on the first floor, just above the area that the live 'artists' set up every single night - from around 9pm until after midnight - the noise was deafening and we couldn't close our window because we couldn't cope with the heat in the room. No chance of an early night, it was usually around 1.30am before things quietened down outside - and at around 7am the noise started up again!
I spent the first three days trying to get a room change, I spoke to the representative on site, contacted Thomson's '24-7' customer support line twice, emailed Thomson's, spent several hours in reception trying to get some help from hotel receptionists and we not offered a solution. The representatives of the company consistently asked me to understand their difficulties!
During the several hours I spent in reception I saw time and time again holiday makers checking-in, sent across to the original hotel only to be back at reception within 10 minutes to complain that the room was not adequate. They were given the same scripted response, that they had not booked airconditioning and that they would have to sort it out with their representative the following day. They were all then told by the rep that they would have to pay an additional 50 euros to get a room (like the ones shown on the website) and that they would have to wait until the hotel manager allocated one. This took on average two nights . I asked for a room like the one on their website without airconditioning - and was told this was not possible!
We spent four nights in these conditions The stress became unbearable so we took the decision to find alternative accomodation at our own personal cost.
One of the most upsetting things for me was that the put old people with complex health problems in these unbearable conditions. I heard one old lady of 86 asked for a rubber mat for the bath, she was afraid to use the bath without one and the one they had sent over had perished. She mentioned that she had stayed at a 4 star hotel within the resort a couple of months earlier, and that they thought they were coming to a similar standard of hotel. The rep's response was 'you've been spoiled that's your trouble!!!!' Totally disrespectfull in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank derby1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

ving visited many hotels in Mallorca, this has to be one of the best. All the staff laugh and smile with you. Sebastian( the owner) is always there to listen if you have a problem and help you out. Yes I agree the pool did get busy and it is uncomfortable with kids screaming and jumping about you, but thats life. f you want to wander there are loads of places to go. Visit Carlos and Nelson in "Cafe Caribe" on the way to Cala Millor, its a little bit of Cuba, and the burgers are great. No one should go hungry from the food in the hotel, if you want for something different, then ask, we did , and got it. The beef and pork are cooked to perfection. The rooms are clean and tidy, but yes make sure that you want air conditioning if you want it, there are times you will need it. The harbour is idylic and calming. The entertainment was different, but enjoyable. If you want a lazy walk, visit Bar Jemica around the corner, where John and Migual are classic. The beer and drinks in the hotel are claen and clear, and served by polite and at times funny bar staff, would I visit again.........most definately

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DW1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Ideal location,cheapbus service to most areas of Majorca on your doorstop. We went the week before school hols so the pool was relatively quiet however 2nd week we were invaded with lilos beachballs etc. All the staff were very friendly, entertainment mediocre,but make sure you have an outside seat on Saturdays when Johnny is on. Evening meals average,Paella served on Fridays so no need to sample the other restaurants. Rooms very clean and spacious but recommend you ask for air conditioned room as not all of the rooms have the luxury. we booked an air conditioned room which made our stay comfortable.First time that i have been abroad and there has been no tea or coffee service in the room.However you can rent akettle,iron,hairdryer,safety deposit box,fan all at a price.
Levante Hotel 400 yards towards Callor Millor with better entertainment. Be aware that for two people having a sun bed plus the shade will cost 10.50 euros each day (3.50 each).not recommended for young couples or families with children.lots of reviews say to book a sea view room which is ok if you dont mind the noise.There are no activities in the daytime. Not a nice place for swimming suggest the short walk to Calla Millor.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sp1re1te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Been back 2weeks and i want to go back had such a lovely time , hotel was lovely , very clean and i really enjoyed the food, i thought there was something for everyone , i had something different every night , i did hear a few people say the food was all to english but im sure if it was all spanish then you would get people moaning about that , guess you cant please everyone. location great near everything beach , shops , resturants . if your looking for night life there is only a few clubs but there in cala millor , which is not far at all i walked there most days , my friend and i found a really good cocktail bar called bannanas that was really good . i think cala bonna is for all ages and if you have children they will love it . i really hope you enjoy your holiday at the cala bona hotel as much as we did . vicky xx

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#11 of 19 in Cala Bona
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Property: Hotel Cala Bona
Address: Passeig del Moll, 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing