We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel..... Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Cala Bona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cala Bona
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We have just returned from this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone. We were in a pool view room which was lovely. It was very clean and the staff were lovely. The bar and and snack prices(which were lovely) were very reasonable...even sitting outside with a a harbour view which you would normally pay extra for!!!
Most days we went along the promenade and ate at the Donkeys Rest which again is reasonable and next to the sea.
So back to the hotel.... Excellent location in the lovely harbour area with bars and restaurants in close proximety. Easy to walk into Cala Millor. Very very very clean and food is super. The salads are fresh and there was a good choice every day. Breakfasts were super. Upon arrival you are allocated a table in the dining room and you have the same table for every meal which is good as your not fighting for a table when you get there.
The hotel do stress you get a better deal booking directly with them which seems to be true so worth while checking prices with them first.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gspeed11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

Arrived 28th september for a two week stay. We were allocated pergola block, sea view with air conditioning. The view was brilliant of the pleasant harbour. I cannot fault the hotel for anything, the food was excellant as were the fantastic cleaning staff. Changed towels every day, and we did not even have to throw them on the floor. At this time of the year we had no difficulty finding sun beds by the lovely pool. We had most of our lunches at the Rope & Anchor next door. Thanks to Claire for ordering my wife 7up light for her shandy's. The prices were very reasonable ( 2 euro for pint of San Miguel ) . The entertainment in the hotel seemed very good ( singers every night ), but we spent most of our evenings in the Argos bar round the corner by the sea drinking our sangria's ( served by lovely Lorraine ). The only minus side of the holiday was the pathetic display of the Thomson First choice staff at Palma airport who directed us to the wrong area of the coach park to find our coach to Cala Bona. Eventually we found the coach, only to find the number we were given was not the one for the correct resort. All of this in horrendous rain - we were soaked when we got on the coach.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animalhouse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This family run hotel is excellent. We enjoyed a week here in July 2009 - extremely clean, excellent service, delicious food - a fantastic choice for a quick week away. The staff were accommodating and friendly - definitely book half board, as truly amazing value - you certainly would not be disappointed with the food and corresponding service in the dining area.

Maid service daily and the hotel manager is seen doing spot checks on a daily basis so high standards are retained. All in all, an excellent choice. We enjoyed a fab and memorable week. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Had an excellent stay at the Hotel Cala Bona. Booked with Portland with air conditioning but no sea view avaiable. Contacted hotel prior to arrival and upgraded to sea view for 50 euros per week. In our opinion well worth it for lovely views of the harbour and the
"goings on" Reception on arrival extremely efficient and quick. We had a room in Nemo which was spacious, comfortable and very clean and had a great view. Food at all times to a high standard and I did notice that a lot of guests had a "full cooked" in the morning. Pool area well maintained with a pool bar serving light lunches. Plenty of sunbeds but there was a queue just before 8.00am to put towels out. On several occasions we arrived in the afternoon and had no difficulty finding a bed,.Evening entertainment was good especially John on a Saturday night. In fact the entertainment in other hotels was excellent . The Rod Stewart impersonator in the Levante was well worth watching. As mentioned previously this hotel caters for older guests many of whom return time and time again but I can see why so much so we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellywelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Can't really fault this hotel. Great location in the centre of Cala Bona surrounded by bars and restaurants. Good food and staff friendly and obliging. Booked through Cosmos and didn't pay for a sea view. However our room was in La Pergola block with a partial view of the harbour which was a lovely surprise. Air conditioning was included but extras such as a hairdrier, fridge, kettle, iron, etc, could be hired fairly cheaply from the hotel. You can even hire electric wheelchairs if you wish, and I noticed some of these charging up outside the rooms on the ground floor. I would say the hotel is popular with more mature people, but this doesn't mean is isn't lively. There is bingo and entertainment every night in the hotel bar/lounge and the drinks were reasonable, although not the cheapeast in Cala Bona. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This hotel was perfect for us, we had a lovely room overlooking the wonderful harbour, the room had airconditioning, fridge, kettle and flat screen tv. The hotel staff were very efficient, all areas appeared very clean, we were made to feel very welcome, most of the other residents of the hotel seemed to be on their second. third, forth or more visit! We were staying at the hotel on a bed & breakfast basis, and could not fault the quality. of the food on offer. My husband and I will most certainly be back and have already recommended the place to several family members.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherbertOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Just returned from another stay at Hotel Cala Bona with my daughter. We had a great time again. Pool was so much warmer in September than May. Food was just as good, lots of choice and loads of fresh fruit etc. buffet style always means I eat more than I should but hey - it's my holiday! Julies (The Sweet Shop) just down on the left is the best place to get a midday snack, great baps, crusty rolls, pies, cakes etc. etc. Perfect for sitting by the Marina for a midday picnic!
We love Hotel Cala Bona and although the clientele may be of an older age bracket and there is not much for children to do, this suits us! I would agree with the other review on this site about the "street entertainers" - good the first time you see them but boring when they appear every night and expect to be "paid".
We will be returning in May 2010 for our 3rd visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StormStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Bona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bona

Address: Passeig del Moll, 7, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Bona 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cala Bona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Bona Hotel
Hotel Cala Bona Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing