We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just returned from spending 10 days at the Gran Sol - one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We were a group of eight and everyone thought the same. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. Food in the hotel was excellent and although we had only booked bed and breakfast we ate several times in the restaurant in the evening as it was such good value at only 12 euros and you could eat as much as you liked! The only drawback I would say is the pool is quite small and unless you got down there before breakfast and put your towels on a bed there was no chance of getting one later, although the beach is just a few steps away with plenty of sunbeds available at a charge. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Cala Bona.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    104
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
101
434
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have stayed here twice and love it. The sea views from the terrace are amazing. All the rooms areairy and modern.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.
We had all our meals here, it is very good value and the food is delicious.
Best to allow for extra weight gain when staying here!
We love Cala Bona as a place to stay especially the Harbour Area. It still has a very Spanish feel to it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

What an amazing hotel and in the perfect location! I can never usually be bothered to leave reviews after my holidays however i really felt this hotel was werthy of doing one! Me and my partner returned home yesterday after a weeks stay at The Gran Sol and are already well on our way to booking again to return next year! The hotel itself was first class and the location, being set on the beach was fantastic but above all the that the staff and management were amazing! Their attention to detail was touching and they simply couldnt do enough for you! Returning to our room from a few hours on the beach we found a huge bottle of champagne and chocolates with a message from the management and staff to celebrate my birthday. With this and cocktails on arrival and Laura the waitress presenting me with a cake and candle at dinner you couldnt fault their dedication to going above and beyond to make our stay as perfect as they could. A special mention to Laura the waitress and Miguel the Maitre de and all the other staff who helped make this the best holiday ever! The weather was great to! Cant wait to return next year!! Kirsty and Sarah

Room Tip: Get a sea view room! Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

All the staff are helpful n point you in the right direction, car hire from the reception is as cheap as going direct to hire shop, so don't bother waisting your time. The food is as good as anyone can expect.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Gran Sol rises from the 'run-of-the-mill' hotels in Cala Bona like a breath of fresh air. Modern, contemporary design, coupled with a high quality of finish and excellent service standards from the friendly staff make you feel that you are definitely experiencing the next level of accommodation within a traditional resort.

Being a smaller hotel means that you are not afforded all the facilities that you may find in a resort with several hundred rooms, but in reality, you have pretty much everything that you need - a good restaurant, swimming pool and leisure facilities which are sized to suit the hotel. We didnt experience the issues with getting sunbeds, and could always find a gap by putting a towel on our beds when going to breakfast (usually around 9am).

Be wary of being allocated a room near the dining room - a lay-in will definitely be disturbed by the scraping of chairs due to the dining room being located on the first floor (a tip for the hotel - put something on the chair legs to stop this!).

The beach is on the doorstep, but does suffer slightly from shingly sand and seaweed, altough this is cleared on a daily basis. The sea itself is relatively clean but there are a number of rocks etc that can damage your feet if you're not careful - but it's good enough to lay on for the day if you prefer that environment.

As other reviews have noted, this is not an adults only hotel but, due to the size of it and the lack of a kids club or facilities, you will find that families tend to be those with very young children - we always try to go adults only, but we were really not troubled by the three or so families that were staying at the same time.

We went B&B so that we could sample some of the local restaurants (recommend L'Oliva, Es Mollet & Chiri's), but we did eat in the restaurant a couple of times in the evening and found the food and choice to be of good standard - and amazing value at only €12 each!

What must be remembered is that you get what you pay for - this is not a budget hotel, and you could probably get a long haul holiday in a lesser hotel if that's your thing - but we felt that the Gran Sol was perfect for a one week stay.

It's clear that this hotel enjoys a substantial amount of return business - that usually gives a good indication of it's rating amongst the guests. It does stand out from all of the other hotels in Cala Bona, but we did notice that there is definitely a move towards investing more into the resort by local government - hopefully that will translate into more hotels similar to Gran Sol!

Room Tip: Pay for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Along with most other Trip Advisor comments we would agree that the Gran Sol is a top quality hotel. During our stay we found the staff to be polite and efficient, the food, especially the breakfasts, to be excellent and the dining room extremely well run. Cala Bona was rather more busy than we had anticipated but in a generally good way with a very pleasant and bustling harbour area. It's worth pointing out also that it is not the end of the world if you are not in a sea view room. Ours over looked the front of the hotel and was a real sun trap from about 3pm onwards.... unlike the pool area alot of which was in shade for much of the day. This, along with people reserving sun beds in the early morning and then not appearing until the early afternoon, was our only gripe.
We would certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Whilst the resort itself isn't exactly classy, the hotel is superb. I believe it was modernised about a year ago and the marble floors and sleek interiors should be enough to please the most discerning guests. It has a simple luxury feel to it and on walking into the air cooled lobby, you know it's a good hotel throughout.

Great service in the cafe / bar from Christian Arango the waiter (a mini Ronaldo himself!) and the terrace over looking the sea is fantastic. The environment is great, the couches are comfortable, the view is good, the music is spot on and the pricing is just right - not too much whilst being high enough to deter certain types.

Rooms are clean, modern and some of the most comfortable we have been in. The gym whilst small is well equipped and has everything you need for a short stay.

So, do we regret going - not in the least. It's a gem of a hotel and we will return to get married in Port Verd up the coast next year. We will probably pay for some of the guests to stay in the Gran Sol. For a cheapish break (about £750 - £800 each) it's well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
26.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
35.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing