We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarkket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We were looking for a good hotel in a quiet area of Mallorca and thanks to the reviews we read on Tripadvisor we found this gem. I have never written a review before even though I use this website a lot. The Gran Sol was so good that I had to leave a review.
We booked two adjoining rooms direct with the hotel so that my daughters 12 and 15 could have their own room. When we first arrived we were disappointed to find that the rooms were at the back of the hotel looking over the street. I asked if there were any sea view rooms available but the hotel was full. Also the sea view rooms dont have connecting doors.
Actually we quite enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the evening watching the people strolling along the street below. The balcony got the afternoon sun which allowed us to dry out towels etc at the end of the day.
The rooms are very comfortable, good size beds. The double bed is actually 2 single beds pushed together. Nice bathroom with powershower.
The food is unbelievable... breakfast to cater for every taste ... eggs and bacon are cooked to order. We booked bed & breakfast as we were planning to eat out some nights. We ended up eating in the hotel every night because the quality and variety of food was so good. With two fussy eaters in our family the buffet style meant they could try different types of food which they would not normally choose at a normal restaurant. By the end of the week we had all tried just about everything on offer.
There is a good size pool ... we had no problem finding loungers at 10.00 am. The beach is right outside the hotel with plenty of beds and umbrellas. The bay is very calm and great for snorkelling. Crystal clear water
In Cala Bona there is a diving school called Albatross. The staff there are very friendly and we went scuba diving on several days.
We are planning to go back next year

  • Liked — Food and local area
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    109
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
455
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Arrived back from a week at this hotel yesterday, and as far as the hotel is concerned I cannot find anything to moan about.
We were in a sea view room staying on a half board basis. The room was sleek and modern and quite spacious; it had all the elements of a 4 star room. I particularly have to commend the bathroom which was excellently decorated and provided ample room.
The pool area was where I spent most of my time. Sun loungers were always available, yet the sun had left the area completely by 5pm. It was clean, comfortable and quiet - exactly what you want for relaxing in the sun.
Now for the restaurant: I thoroughy enjoyed the food and looked forward to both breakfast and evening meal - I put four pound on in weight. Freshly cooked, full of flavour and incredibly morish. The waiter/esses were very helpful, yet it became a running joke that as soon as you put your knife/fork/spoon down they were ready to sweep in and take your plate even if you hadn't finished!!!
The hotel bar was great and one of the cheapest in the area. Similarly, the food at lunchtime was great and very reasonable.
Overall the hotel was fantastic and I would certainly go to the hotel again but they would have to move it somewhere else.
Having only been to Majorca when I was a child, I was unsure what to expect. I have holidayed in a variety of different places, yet this has to be the most down-market resort I have been to. It was simply a warm Blackpool, and I found myself feeling sorry for those people who were trawling their children around the tacky shops and downclass amusements. Cala Millor which was only a 5 minute walk away was slightly better as long as you avoided the middle of the town.
Overall, excellent hotel.

  • Liked — Food and Pool
  • Disliked — Hold onto your plate!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We are a family of 5 and have just returned from a week's stay at the Gran sol. We have 3 girls aged 10, 12 and 15, and knew that the hotel really doesn't cater for children - although they were never made to feel unwelcome. Apart from one other girl of similar age the rest of the guests were either couples or families with babies. This however was not a problem for us, as our girls loved the size of the hotel and the central position - right on the beach at the rear, and promenade at the front was ideal. The kids also loved the restaurant, and we knew they would eat something freshly cooked, and some kind of vegetables or salad that was always on offer, and always very well cooked. The food was of a consistently high standard, and oh so cheap - dinner is 12 euros for adults, 6 euros for kids - we are used to 35 euros per head in other 5 star hotels in Europe, and no difference in quality. All the staff are very attentive and friendly - although I can agree with t the comment about the cleaners waking you up at 7 am - we had the same problem on the ground floor! Whilst not a plush hotel, everything has been finished to a very high standard, and is kept squeaky clean. Bathroom fittings are Villeroy and Boch, crisp white bed linen, mood lighting and flat screen tvs all add to the modern feel of this hotel, and it felt like returing to an oasis after venturing out in the evenings! There are still some minor niggles - Cappaccinos and milkshakes need mastering, and the food at lunchtime is not nearly as good as other times - in fact I have a feeling that they carry it over from the Levante next door! Regarding the comment about the towels on beds at 6.30 am - I think these people were very unlucky. We never ventured down to the pool unitill 8.30 or 9 am some mornings, and always managed to get 5 beds together, and some days there were some available all day. There are always beds on the beach - which i believe you have to pay for (not the hotel) . All in all - an excellent hotel depending on your needs. We shall hopefully be returning soon!

  • Liked — Clean, modern hotel in great position
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
engalnd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

a fantastic hotel.we went for two weeks and had a total relaxing holiday,we used to stay in the levante hotel next door but can't stay there anymore as we have a child now,so when we heard the grand sol was taken over by the levante owners we jumped at the chance to stay there,
i think it is great that we can now visit cala bona again and stop in a top class hotel with a child(about time).
food in the hotel was top class and staff are great.

the only downside for us was that we stopped in the room next to the gym and spa.every morning at 7.00am we were woke up to the noise of the cleaner's banging doors rattling bucket's and talking..when i say talking they seemed to need to shout.
i had to complain 3 times and it took over a week for it to stop.i also confronted the cleaner's one morning ,they said sorry i went back in my room and they carried on.
the hotel is new and they seem keen on feedback to get even better,this was the only downside for us..

overall it was a great holiday and we will be back next year,just not in room 404 i hope..

  • Liked — on the beach
  • Disliked — noise outside room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzy7077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Our target for the holiday was to find somewhere that we could both relax and really wind down. As far as the hotel went it was perfect, I wouldn't recommend this for anyone that wants to go clubbing etc but for anyone that wants to chill out and take in some sun its perfect. The place was immaculate (altho it has only been finished since May 2008 - so time may put this to the test) cleaners did a great job, not just on our room but the whole hotel including swimming pools and bar area. There was always space on the private beach and the pool area was never overcrowded. Food and drink was reasonably priced in the bar, the resturant offered a great breakfast buffet and also dinner in the evening was good, we chose to do this the 2nd night as we were both still a bit hungover! There are lots of places around the hotel to eat and have good food. I definitley recommend this hotel for anyone who needs to wind down and relax - staff were helpful and friendly - no problems whatsoever.

  • Liked — Relaxed Atmosphere and Sun
  • Disliked — Strength of the £
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theduck1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Desperate for a last minute holiday we trawled the tour operator sites and finally came across the Gran Sol in Cala Bona, Majorca (Thomsons Gold). We have twice before visited the island and new Cala Bona well. The area, together with Cala Millor, just a short walk along the boardwork is free from the usual rowdy pubs and clubs and is therefore suitable for couples, families and singles who thankfully appear to know how to behave. It is quite cosmopolitan in that it is frequented by British, German, Swedish and Spanish people.

So what about The Gran Sol; newly opened earlier this year after a full refurbishment, the hotel exudes class! From the grand modern entrance to the chillout seating area at the rear, from the modern boutique style rooms to the classy restaurant on the first floor, it makes you feel good the moment you walk in. The food is excellent with the meat and fish dishes cooked in front of you by the resident chef. Although buffet style it has none of the frantic fights for food you get in so many holiday hotels.

The hotel only has about 55 rooms and this is what also makes it special. It sits right on the beach literally ten steps from the pool area. No smell of chlorine here as the pool is saltwater!

It has a lovely intimate gym on the roof together with Sauna and indoor pool and jacuzzi overlooking the bay together with a further sundeck for the real fanatics (no natural shade)

The staff are well trained and look after you with politeness and efficiency - with nothing being too much trouble.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for those who wish for a quieter holiday and would only suggest you take your children if they are well behaved and respect others. That comment might sound a bit snobbish but apart from the pool there is little for boisterous children to do here so find a different type of hotel where they can let off steam and enjoy themselves. (a genuine comment as we have a young grandchild ourselves)

So what are the negatives? well for once I can say very few. More of a recommendation to the hotel really. Direct access to the beach means that depite the notices non-residents do wander in to the grounds and use the toilet facilities - they stand out a mile because of their body language and they leave the toilet floors covered in sand because they don't shower off their feet. A gate (keycard operated) at the two entrances to the beach would put a stop to this. And of course the usual problem of sunbeds being reserved with towels at 6:30am despite several notices that say it is not allowed. We abided by the rules for the first two days and were unable to sit round the pool due to all beds being reserved but some hardly used. Unfortunately we were forced to join in and get up early to reserve. So again either more sunbeds round the pool or on the grassed area would reduce this problem.

However these are small problems compared with the great peaceful and chilled out week staying at the Gran Sol - a definite one to return to in the future. RJS. Staffordshire, England

  • Liked — Classy! Classy! Classy!
  • Disliked — Non-residents using some of the facilities (without permission)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank France-is-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
723 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing