We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I've stayed in!”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were immediately impressed as we walked in through the front door. Checking in was so quick, easy and pleasant and when we opened the door to our room, wow, fantastic, what a view! We had paid for a superior room with a sea view and it certainly didn't disappoint. A lovely touch was the rose in the bathroom and the bath robes and slippers waiting for us on the beds.

Staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a good one. Friendly, super efficient, helpful, the best I've ever come across.

The public areas of the hotel were pristine and smelt of something resembling fresh melon, it was simply lovely. The restaurant was light and spacious with a huge choice of food each evening on the buffet and it was all so good.

Worth every penny spent.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying to upgrade to a sea facing room for the views. However in the height of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trishannebullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Writing this review live from gran sol hotel, we came here last year at this time and we were hopeing this visit would be as good,can honestly say it's better everything wonderful lovely sea view room spotlessly clean food amazing and also the staff .
Thomson team brilliant special mention for Elsa & Baz they work very hard to make sure everyone has a lovely time.
Unfortunately the weather has been awful but hey it does'nt rain in the bar!!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patriciaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is just about the best place we have stayed in,from the moment we stepped off the coach the staff were there to help us check in quickly and take our luggage up to our very impressive room,which was laid out with welcoming drinks and bowl of fruit ,slippers and dressing gowns and a vase of beautiful fresh roses.We had room 211 with a sea-view and balcony and this was perfect,The restaurant was amazing with every taste catered for ,the food was delicious and prepared so well , we even had champagne served with breakfast and caviar added to the salads at dinner this is definitely a chef who knows his onions,the variety of food served and attention to detail was exemplary and the waiting staff were so friendly particularly Miguel,who went out of his way to please us.such a nice man with a genuine friendly nature. There is a very pleasant bar area and an outside terrace ,the pool and sun deck are ideal for lazing and watching the boats go by. The rooms were cleaned spotlessly and bedding and towels changed every day The hotel is right on the beach but also within the centre of the resort and near to the pleasant harbour.If you are after discos and action don`t go to this hotel, but if you want pure relaxation and exquisite food and surroundings you should definitely try this out.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with seaview are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beekaypit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a marvellous well at the Gran Sol. I loved everything about the hotel. The Location is fantastic, the rooms excellent, but what made the difference- the staff were exceptional.
The assistant manager greeted us with a wide smile and made us feel very welcome, the chef who cooked fresh omelettes every morning and fresh fish/ steaks at night couldn't do enough to make sure it was cooked exactly as required. The waiter and waitress were always smiling and attentive and made you feel individual and special. The Thomson reps friendly and very informative.
As you can read by my report everything about this small hotel (58 rooms) is exquisite and I cannot recommend it highly enough for people who are looking for somewhere quiet, but exceptional.

Room Tip: Choose the evening meal at 15 Euros a head, the menu extensive,( fresh fish/ meat cooked to order pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location right on the beach, friendly staff and good service.
However, make sure you do not get allocated 107 Sea facing junior suite or 108 sea facing double deluxe as neither of them have balconies and this will not be made clear to you when making your booking. The price is the same as other rooms which all have balconies, so if you want a balcony as most people do, get confirmation of the room number you have been allocated, because once you arrive at the hotel their hands are tied and you will not be offered an alternative room.

Room Tip: 107 & 108 do not have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robins19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for a week in mid October and really enjoyed ourselves.
We had a sea-facing room with balcony and breathtaking views.
It was a pleasant, twin room...light, fresh and spotless.

The hotel is directly on a sandy beach and the beach is cleaned every morning. There is a snack-bar looking out to sea. It serves delicious meals, coffee and cakes etc. The waiters are charming and full of fun!

The area is a bit touristy but the marina is very pretty with a choice of restaurants and shops. We were half-board at the Gran Sol but next time we will book B+B only so that we can eat out when we want to.

Hotel staff were helpful and attentive. The birthday girl had a cake, decorated table and a rendition of "Happy Birthday" by the waitress choir! The dining-room is lovely and the food delicious and good value.

The hotel has a pool with loungers, an outdoor terrace and a small bar.
There is occasional entertainment.
Everything was still open during our visit but most places seem to close at the end of October. Trips around the area were readily available during our stay.

We very much enjoyed our holiday and definitely recommend the Gran Sol.

Room Tip: Our sea-facing room was a delight. We requested it, by email, a month before our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissisB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely hotel on the beach small and quiet hotel for relaxing high standards, clean rooms and lovely staff. Highly recommend this hotel, ideal location walk to the Marina and lots shops, bars and restaurants as you step out the hotel all flat and can walk for miles along the front or hire a bike! Lovely stay free WIFI in reception which was fast breakfast great choice cooked fresh bacon, sausage and black pudding at your request.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor it was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jo19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing