We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

We were really pleased with our choice of hotel. As it said in the brochure the decor was modern and stylish and everywhere clean.

The room was very comfortable , though I didn't realise you had to put in the key card to activate the electricity. The air con was quiet ,unobtrusive and seemed to have some automatic temperature control on-no need to fiddle with control in the middle of the night.

The pool area was very chic and we didn't have a problem getting chairs. Also liked the spa pool and jacuzzi upstairs for a more leisurely swim at the end of the day and its fantastic views over the bay. I didn't use the beach-though my husband did - as it was too gritty for a soft sand lover like me- but Cala Millor beach is a stroll way.

Service was excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful without intruding. Special mention to Miguel and Sissi in the restaurant who were patient with my attempts at Spanish.

Excellent food!! Cannot praise the choice and quality enough- especially the "postre" -desserts. It was worth going for the food alone. The upgrade to Half Board is very good value for money.

Didn't miss having entertainment -happy to sit on the terrace with a drink. There's always the Levante if you want it.

Summary fantastic hotel in a more "touristy" location- Cala Bona is quite built up. Would return to the hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teatowel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    104
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
100
434
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

The hotel was one of the best I have stayed in. We has a beautiful room with a modern, swish bathroom. The curtains were really thick so the room was dark - essential if I am to sleep well. The food was excellent with a huge choice and many items cooked on the spot for you. The whole building was very stylish and modern. Staff were always helpful and pleasant.
The only drawback was the pool which was rather small and cramped for a hotel of this quality. Also the sun went behind the neighbouring hotel at about 4.30 pm so you had to move onto the beach if you wanted the late afternoon sun.
BUT - Cala Bona was horrble. If you want a tattoo, to buy a nasty tea shirt and then drink Guinness with your burger from Burger King, this is the place for you. We hardly left the hotel as there was simply nowhere to walk to that was pleasant or interesting. We did walk up to Cala Millor - which was even more ghastly. For that reason, I would not go back, which is a shame as the hotel was so lovely.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forshaw107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Gran Sol when we were recently in Mallorca for a friend's wedding. We usually try to avoid parts of Europe and definitely the Spanish resorts because of the 'Brit Abroad' attitude, and we were disappointed when we drove into Cala Bona as it looked as though our worst fears would be confirmed. However, the hotel turned out to be excellent with the Gran Sol being a haven away from the resort atmosphere. The staff were excellence, so friendly and helpful- a special mention to Liz, Juan, Javi and Kristian for making our stay really good. The hotel food and drink is good value and pretty good and having cava at breakfast is a nice touch and not something you would usually expect at a Thomson hotel. The rooms were clean, pretty spacious and modern, the beach was nice and the roof terrace with the outdoor sun deck and indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna with excellent sea views was really good. The only thing which spoiled the hotel slightly was another couple who were really rude and intrusive. However, after complaining about this the hotel dealt with them and they were to be banned from returning to the hotel again. All in all, we had to go to the area for a wedding and did not have high expectations to be honest, but this hotel was a little gem and we would definitely return for a cost effective break in the sun with excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

The Gran Sol hotel is a stunning diamond unfortunally set in a ring of cheap plastic. The surrounding hotels are a Butlins away from home with unexpected shouting booming from the Levante Hotel's poolside- swimming competitions and bingo were held around the pool during our stay- the relaxed and calm holiday we expected was sometimes very difficult. The only hotel in the resort thats directly on the beach there is no doubt that this accomodation pure luxury, the indoor chlorine pool next to the boiling rooftop sunbathing area, the outdoor saltwater pool that always remains spotlessly clean, the rooms are spacious and air conditioned, cleaned to perfection everyday and the staff are friendly and welcoming- the beach is clear and, although a bit rockier and seaweed infested later on in the day, the sea is clear and safe for even the most ambitious of swimmers. The only complaints about the beach are the extortionate prices charged for sunloungers and parasols- 3,50 euros a piece and the somewhat frequent exlamations of 'MELON ANANAS COCONUT' from the beach fruit sellers that the hotel's information channel so kindly warns you not to buy from.
The food is of 5 star standard, cooked breakfast with an abundance of fruit and reasonably priced lunches with Spanish flair. I would reccomend visiting the port for dinner, 'L'olivia' Tapas restaurant serves delicious lemon prawns amongst other delights, 'Paparazzi' pizzaria is the best in the area and 'Millets' is a fabulously spanish restaurant with wonderful seafood. The nightlife is quiet, a plus for some, and entertainment at the 'Levante' is laughable, the entertainers at the small Hotel Moreyo were enjoyable and addictive, attracting crowds that lined the streets and had most people dancing some nights but, much alike every bar and hotel in the resort and surrounding resorts, there wasn't a very native feel which I personally value on holidays.
All round this holiday was OK, the Hotel itself is worth every penny and the weather and beach will keep you entertained all holiday, but if you are looking for a quiet holiday, away from the boistrerous british hoiday makers I would suggest you look elsewhere. It is a shame that this amazing gem of a hotel is so let down by its very contrasting setting.
We travelled with Thompsons, the check ins and flights were easy and quick, the bus transfers were simple and our Rep- Danny- was friendly and always full of good ideas and suggestions that made our holiday more enjoyable- I highly recommend travelling with Thomsons, they provide a surprisingly brilliant service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizz_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

Anybody thinking of 5 star standard at the Gran Sol had better think again.5 star with Thompson means a hotel facing agritty beach with sea weed in abundance. The resort has tacky gift shops and only mediocore restraunts.The evening meal at the Gran Sol are pretty average, not anything like 5 star and are self service.To cap it all on our last day there was no room maid service!!!
All in all a pretty bad experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warringtonian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

From the moment you arrive and are greeted by a welcome drink from thr bar as you check in, to the moment you check out to leave, you will experience the most peaceful, relaxing holiday. This hotel is not for you if you like loud music and entertainment on a nightly basis. If you want this, you will be disappointed, book into another hotel. If you want spotlessly clean rooms and public areas, excellent food and prices that are very competitive with prices outside, then the Gran Sol is for you. The food in the restaurant is second to none, with bacon and eggs cooked to order for breakfast, and meats and fish cooked to order in the evenings. Although the remaining food is "buffet" style, we can honestly say, if you couldn't find something you liked , you must be a very fussy eater. The choice of desserts in the evening was amazing, there must have been a choice of at least 10! We booked B&B and ate out only once in the evening, such was the quality and price of the food to eat in, at 12 Euros you couldn't better it. We also found the wines in the restaurant to be extremely reasonable and of very good quality.Most expensive being around Euro 17.
We found the staff very friendly and accomadating, and nothing appeared to be too much trouble for anyone.
The outdoor swimming pool is kept extremley clean, there always seemed to be someone cleaning somewhere in the hotel.
Towels are changed on a daily basis, and rooms are cleaned every day.
The only downside in our eyes, was the number of sunbeds around the swimming pool, however, we always managed to get one, but I could see this could be a problem for some people.
The hotel however is directly on the beach and so plentty of sunbeds are available here at a small charge for all day. Best bet, go to the beach late afternoon, we didn't get charged.
All in all, a totally relaxing holiday. Will we go again..........definately!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debsmurray19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

Gran Sol was apparently renovated in April 2008 - it looks like it was completed a week ago! The public areas were finished to a very high standard and were absolutely spotless.
We arrived at 12.30am and were greeted with a friendly smile and a glass of bubbly! We were expected so check in took 30 seconds - we were also allocated rooms with a sea view balcony - you must try and get one of these!
The rooms were clean modern and had no hint of 'tourist holiday' about them - think modern business hotel and you are closer to the mark. The bar and outside areas were fantastic - this hotel is on the beach and unlike many we have stayed at, is quiet at night - the location is great - in front of a pedestrian area so no late night mopeds!
Staff were super friendly - every cleaner, waiter receptionist was well trained, professional, and polite.
Breakfast is a treat - more than a continental buffet - this has hot food cooked for you and once again to a high standard in a restaurant with spectacular views of the sea. The evening buffet is also recommended - a 12 euros pp a bargain and the best food we ate all week!
The resort was better than some have commented - the usual British bars but the overall feel was comfortable and not tacky - go to the port area (a short walk) for nice sea food restuarants etc.
Clientelle generally fell into the 'mature category' but this was great - no late night rowdiness and this added to the relaxed feel.
All in all a great hotel - we would certainly recommend this place - it must be top choice in the area for 4* accomodation.
We will return!!!!!!!!!
PS I am super fussy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 59caddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#5 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 20 in Cala Bona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
26.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
35.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing