We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel great location, Ready to book for 2011”
Review of Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Sol
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel great location, Ready to book for 2011”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We felt compelled to write this review based on the previous comments regarding room 008. We must respect everyones contributions on trip advisor however it just goes to show how peoples expectations and views can widely differ. We have just returned home today from the Gran Sol and had a fantastic two weeks holiday. This really is a beautiful hotel with great staff and great service. We stayed from the 18th of June to the 2nd of July and on arrival we were allocated room 008. On opening the door we were highly delighted. This room is on the ground floor and has a very large terrace overlooking the garden and sea. It has table and chairs with an umberella ( ideal to keeping in the shade, ) We often had lunch on our terrace delivered on a tray and handed over our wall by the bar staff . Nothing was too much trouble. It was also nice before settling down for the night to sit out and listen to the crickets in the garden and the waves crashing on the beach while having a night cap. There is also a rabbit resident in the garden who comes out at night to look around. If you do choose this hotel consider a sea view. The rooms at the back of the hotel as chosen by the previous reviewer are overlooked by the cafes and bars who play live music until midnight every night . Also you are overlooked by passers by on the main pavement area.
The breakfasts were excellent as described in previous reviews.We never ate in the hotel on an evening however everyone we spoke to said it was excellent. We tended to eat in the harbour in particular " El Pescador". We never heard anyone complain about the hotel while we were there and I find it hard to beleive that anyone would swop our room with a view ( as shown on our photos ) for the rear of the hotel, but again we are all different,
PS Please do not book room 008 as we would like to book it for 2011 !!!!! There are plenty of rooms on the back of the hotel should you wish to stay in June however you can come and join us for a drink on our terrace if you wish.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    109
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
455
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

My wife and I stayed fro 8th to 15th June and had booked a superior room with balcony, sea view etc. On arrival we were shown to room 008 which was on the ground floor, the sea view was obstructed by the surrounding hedge and the patio area was totally overlooked by the main outside seating area of the hotel. We asked to be moved and were told that the hotel was full. We insisted 3 times and eventually refused to leave the lobby area. We were then offered a street view room on the 2nd floor but onlty after we had signed a note written by them to say why we had moved. The street view room at least had privicy so we took this room. The street is pedestianised so was at least quiet.
We found out during the course of our stay that there are always complaints made regarding the position of room 008 and its classification as a Superior room (it has a sofa in the bedroom which makes it superior apparently).
The manager of the hotel and our rep did nothing to try to get us in a sea view room which we had booked and paid for.
The outside space of the hotel is poor, small unattractive beach and swimming pool overlooked by an eight story Apartment block which shades the pool completely from about 16:00 hrs.
Inside space is very good, food good and staff mostly friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VigilantPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

arrived at hotel around 10.45pm on a monday evening,i was travelling with my mother who is the grand age of 88 . i had booked a wheel chair from the hotel for our stay.
when our coach pulled up near the hotel our cases were taken from us and the wheel chair was waiting for us so i could push my tierd mother to the hotel.when we got inside the gran sol there was a drink waiting for us. our room number was given to us,our cases had already been taken to our room
as the restraunt had finished serving and was supposed to be closed we didnt expect a meal but we were told the restraunt had been left open for us and a cold spread had been laid out for us,which was very well presented,and much appreciated.
these are the things that make the gran sol special,its the thoughtfulness of the staff toward its guests,
the gran sol hotel is spotlessly clean in every area you go
the restraunt looks out to sea,the food was yummie every day,
i would like to mention angelique who cooks the eggs,bacon,omletts, at breakfast and the fish,steaks,pancakes at evening meal as well as doing the carvery, she`s always busy but happy , nothing is to much trouble for her, even though it must of been very hot for her behind that counter.
i read lots of reviews before i booked the gran sol hotel and agree with all the good reviews i read, im hoping mum will be able to travel again next year as she had a brlliant time at the gran sol .which is more than we can say about her holiday last year,when she stayed at the hotel kaktus albir in costa blanca,she couldnt wait to get home.
thanks to everyone at the gran sol hotel for such a fab holiday

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsalady09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Having just returned from a Thomson Gold hotel in Madeira after having booked last year's holiday through Thomson's Chic & Unique brochure and having stayed for 7 nights at the Gran Sol I just wish we'd gone back this year.

Our stay at the beginning of last September was most enjoyable. I am glad to see that Miquel is still running he restuarant. He was superb last year and having stayed in a much larger hotel this year we certainly missed that more personal service. After just one day Miquel knew our dinner drinks order and nothing was too much trouble.

The bar staff were superbly friendly, the service was far better than we experienced in Madeira and the quality of food at the Gran Sol is possibly the best I have ever had on holiday - DO GO HALF BOARD, it's well worth the extra money.

The only thing that lets the hotel down is the location as Cala Bona is a little like Poundland-On-Sea but I wouldn't hesitate going back but Palma Airport really does my head in.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richteacharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We have just got back from the Gran Sol and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel (as others have said) is immaculate. The staff are really friendly, special mention for Miquel in the restaurant, who put up with me trying out my spanish on him. All staff speak very good English, so if you arent willing to try the lingo, you wont have any problem being understood.
The breakfasts were great, masses of choice, you can order lunch on the terrace for around 7 euros each, I highly recommend the tortilla espanola. Dinner in the restaurant is 12 euros each, plus drinks. It is a buffet style dinner, but dont be put off, it is very good. Normally we eat out on holiday every night, but the buffet menu was so good, and value too, that we ate in the hotel 3 nights.
Will also mention Ben (Thomson rep) like the viewer before me. Cracking lad, full of good tips and informative without being pushy on the day trips.
Our room was immaculately clean, air con worked very well, which is important for us. Had a lovely view of the sea. Bathroom was very clean, marble and tile finish, bidet too. Though I must admit I've never used one and dont really know how!
I enjoyed the fact that there was no entertainment in the hotel (you are free to use evening entertainment at Levante as they are all in same group), as we dont like too much noise at night as hubby is a light sleeper. This is the quieter end, but there are live music bars about 5 to 10 minutes walk away.
I read some reviews a while ago that said it had a shingle beach which I wouldn't agree with. I would say more of a coarse sand. To me shingle is painful underfoot, whereas coarse sand is just a bit gritty. I liked the beach. The sea has several small breakwaters so the tide isnt too strong and its not got a steep shelf, if anything its quite shallow. If you enjoy snorkling there are loads of fish.
The pool was great, very clean, with changing rooms and toilets if you needed them. Also point out that there is a purpose built chair to get disabled people in and out of the pool if its needed, which I thought was a good touch, ramps throughout the hotel would make it a good place for those with mobility issues to stay.
In general, the hotel guests were mostly in the 50 plus age group, and we are not. This is a plus point for us. We dont enjoy lots of drunks from our age group and younger, or masses of kids. Neither were there, so we had a great time!
All in all, a fab place to stay.
Just some notes about other stuff:
If you want to go to Porto Christo to see the caves of Drach, the boat is 20 euros each, the bus is less than 4 euros. If you do go, be mindful of the prices in the beach front cafes, we got stung 20euros for a sandwich, chips and 2 drinks (and it was awful).
The cafes in Cala bona are much nicer.
Good restaurant in Cala Bona is Paparazzo in the harbour area, also one 3 doors up who's name escapes me.
Other day trips: we did pirates show and dinner - food was ok but the show was so amazing I couldnt have cared less that the food wasnt anything exciting. Endless sangria too!
Lazy cruise: was good but needs a few more Brits on it. Whilst I'm fairly pro europeans, it was slightly overwhelmed with male germans. Food was good, sailing was good and crew were lovely. Skipper spoke at least 4 fluent languages.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives Cambs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The Gran Sol truly is a gem. It is small, friendly with excellant standards throughout. All areas are cleaned to an extreamly high standard and constantly. The food is excellant and the first floor resturant looks out over the sea. The hotel is situated right on the beach with a lovely patio are with chairs, tables and sofas for you to relax in and watch the sea. From the patio you walk straight onto the beach. Loungers on the beach are charged for but with the hotels location there is no need to sit on the beach as they have all the chairs and seating required for you to enjoy the beautiful views and the sound of the sea from their terraces.

The staff are all extreamly polite and friendly from the high management to maitainance.

There really is nothing to fault about this hotel. The rooms are to a very high standard and you get flowers and fruit on arrival. Bathrobes and slippers are also provided.

We would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel or to return. You will not be dissapointed.

Thomson holidays appear to have the monopoly on this hotel and their rep Ben is very well suited to the sort of people who go here. You can use the two hotels next door the Levante or the Levante Park. Both these hotels have evening entertainment. We were quite happy with the peace and quiet of The Gran Sol though.

Perhaps not in the best location on the island for visiting other resorts and places of interest, but there is a good bus service and boats run trips from the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flintoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at the Gran Sol 29/5/10- 5/6/10. This was the second year running that we have stayed at this lovely hotel. The rooms are well decorated and clean to a high standard. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We felt like we were staying with friends. The food in the restaurant is buffet style but good quality and very delicious. The restaurant staff are lovely. The hotel is overlooking a small man made beach. My favourite place was to sit on the gorgeous hotel patio with a freshly sqeezed orange juice or glass of wine and hear the waves lapping against the sand. My husband and I are looking forward to visiting this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
723 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#7 of 19 in Cala Bona
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Som Llevant Suites
Som Llevant Suites
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Sol

Property: Gran Sol
Address: Paseo Maritimo Cb 4, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in front of the sea, in Cala Bona, a fishing village, where fishermen can be seen heading out to sea from its pretty harbour.The totally renovated hotel has all modern commodities available for their client’s enjoyment. A PERFECT PLACE FOR A REST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Cala Bona, Majorca
Gran Sol Hotel Cala Bona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing