We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a 1 star”
Review of Hotel Moreyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moreyo
Ranked #1 of 2 Cala Bona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed bed and breakfast for a week and had a good time . The location is very good near the sea harbour shops bars and supermarkets .
the hotel is very clean bedroom quite basic but the beds were comfy and a nice bathroom fully tiled .
Buffet breakfast is ok .
Walking around the area is easy because it's flat .
We have booked another week in September
Try Janet and Johns resturante and Xaloc also the Indian on the sea front .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've stayed here twice in the last 6 months...it's a great little place to get away, especially on the low season. The hotel has been renovated since my first stay in Octover '13...a new, more open front terrace, reception area, bar & lounge, and pool area. But the essence of the Moreyo remains exactly the same: affordable, clean, cheerful accomodation next to the buzz of Cala Bona harbour. I requested a high-floor room at check-in, and the lovely lady on reception gave me just that: a perfect room with a wonderful sea view. The rooms themselves are basic, but clean. There's no a/c, so it can get warm. Bathroom was lovely, and water was hot. The restaurant (which has had glass walls put in) is basic...breakfasts are standard affairs, hot English-style buffet formatted, coffee machine, juice, rolls, cold-cuts. Dinners (if you go half-board) are enough to fill a hole, and I enjoyed them. But choice is small. The chef is a really nice chap...he lieks to see his patrons. The Moreyo staf take your drink orders at the table, and they are a great bunch...and always happy to welcome you and they do remember you for a chat! But if you are picky, stick to bed and breakfast, and try any of the fantastic cafes/restaurants that are minutes walk away (the Argos for lunch I'd defo suggest), Janet & John's on the harbour-front for good, cheap meals with great service (I ordered a Spanish omelette and it arrived in minutes), and others too numerous to list. However, for "a la carte," try the Moreyo's own Restaurant Xaloc, now accessible from the pool area of the Moreyo, and right on the sea-front. The service is outstanding! The Xaloc's food selection is adult-orientated, but the restuarant (one of Cala Bona's oldest) has a lovely atmosphere. I'd defo recommend having a wander in if you are sitting outside...it's very "old-world Majorca." The sangria is TOP! The pool area, in the old rear courtyard of the Moreyo, is small but defo a sun-trap. A huge, old tree, there last October, has been cut-back and the result is sunshine most of the day. The best part of the day, for me, was after an early breakfast, sitting outside the Moreyo on the front terrace, watching Cala Bona come alive in the morning...it's just soo relaxing :-) Night time is noisier, though didn't disturb me. Entertainment at the Moreyo and neighbouring hotels the Sur and Cala Bona, make it a busy place at night. I was sad to leave. Cala Bona beach, a minutes walk away, and the gentle sound of the waves...what a place to be. The morning I left, well-before breakfast, the young, night-porter made us a complimentary coffee as we waited for the coach. Cheery maids, staff happy to help and have a chat, always willing to go that little bit extra...I will return again, and again :-) I agree with the chap below who said that he was reluctant to review in case news of this little hotel got out! But credit where credit is due...the Moreyo, my happy home away from home (at least two weeks of the year ;-) ).

Room Tip: Say whhat everyone says: it can be noisy at night with the band/singers in the bar (this is alittle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shewsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just returned from a 5-night stay here. It was basic and clean, and the staff were nice. We didn't take any meals there except breakfast, which was repetitive and tailored more to British taste. But for the price, it was fine. There was very loud music every night but it ended at midnight (perhaps because it was not yet high season). The hotel itself is loud and you can hear other people banging doors and talking in the hallway etc. but earplugs worked for us (and I am very noise-sensitive).
Generally speaking, it is fine for the price. You cannot expect 5-star surroundings for a 1-star price. I think this hotel is probably best suited as a base to sleep rather than a place to hang out.

Room Tip: Room 211 and the one directly below it are to be avoided! There is a walkway leading to 2 other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmeraldBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just arrived home from this lovely hotel. Its an excellent 1STAR accomodation. We stayed half board and most nights found something to eat even though it was quite basic . There were three choices of main meal 1 Pasta 1 Meat and I fish together with lovely homemade soup and fresh salad.We went out 3times in our 11day stayto a place overlooking the beautiful little harbour named Janet and Johns. Great food really friendly service and good prices. Cala Bona as no beach but just a 10mins walk in front of the Levante hotel is a nice stretch of sand with chairs and umbrellas but not good for swimming as very rocky in sea but ok for a paddle. Another 10min walk along the beautiful promenade is the beautiful beach of Cala Millor with safe sea for swimming and lots of bars and shops. All in all between the 2 resorts there is something foe everyone . Theres plenty of entertainment everynight at the Cala Bona and the hotel opposite the Sur and just a short walk around the corner the Karoke bar Sanddances was a great night out all down to the Geordie chap in charge. We have been to Majorca many times but this is the first time to Cala Bona but we will certainly be back especially to the Hotel Moreyo where you can't fault the cleanliness and friendliness of all the staff, Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely family run hotel. See you again in September

Room Tip: ask for a pool view its a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseekersheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

with themwell this is the fifth time we have stayed here and we still enjoy it now the staff are brilliant had a lot done to this hotel only basic rooms but it only for sleeping in and getting cleaned up and changed cleaners in early day food is quite good good entertaintment every other night it family run and they are lovely people you can get on with them and have a good laugh will go back again very soon me and my wife was there 12th of may 2014 for 10 nights worth every penny

Room Tip: first floor looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimmy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What can I say, another enjoyable stay at the Moreyo. Our fourth stay at this lovely little hotel and hopefully wont be our last.
As in other reviews the staff and cleanliness of the hotel cannot be faulted.Dont expect five star luxury and you wont be disappointed.
We are welcomed like family and we dont want too many people to come here in case we cant get a room.
Suitable for mature couples but maybe not for the younger generation.
Thanks to all the staff and keep up the good work.
Josie and Graham

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

this little hotel is a great place too stay it is clean and so friendly the staff are so helpful to, the location of the hotel is excellent close too loads of shop and bars and plenty of restaruants and it caters for all ages, close by is cala millor this is the place with more too it with a lot more shops and bars and there is a little harbour in cala bona, it is also on the flat beautiful walkways, and lovley beaches. One thing i have too mention in the hotel is there is no lifts and also food was a bit repedtative but still worth the money, would advise anyone too give this hotel a go, we would go again in the future. :-)

Room Tip: No lifts and there are three floors. Back rooms facing pool maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Bona
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#10 of 19 in Cala Bona
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
Som Llevant Suites Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cala Bona
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#4 of 19 in Cala Bona
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moreyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moreyo

Address: Paseo Maritimo 8, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cala Bona
Price Range: £81 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Moreyo 1*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moreyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moreyo Cala Bona, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing