We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late booking gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palia Dolce Farniente
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Late booking gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned (5th July) from a weeks stay at Farniente having only booked two weeks previous .
First time at Cala Dor and was not disappointed !
As with any first time at a hotel ,always a worry as to what to expect especially as this was an excellent price ! We arrived late on Sat. evening /Sun morning and met with a warm welcome ,shown to our room and then told there was food for us in restaurant ! This was a first for us ,it was a plate of cold meat ,pastries ,quiche ,bread and fruit and drinks very nice ,
The room was very clean with nice decor. And after a good nights sleep we set out the next morning to explore!
The hotel is a complex of three storey buildings ,a pleasant change from high rise .Every where was spotless and staff were very pleasant there is a large central area with two pools and always something going on . If as we were you were after a quiet time there was a brilliant adult only pool which was nicely positioned just at rear of our room !
The restaurant was really good always good variety of food and plenty of staff to look after you ,this I find lets many hotels down here your finished plates taken away quickly and never a shortage of food empty trays replenished at once ,and some very nice meat cooked on griddle.
To me was as good as many 4 star ,steak, chicken ,pork ,salmon muscles prawns too much to mention ! It was in all a really nice stay ,not many English but to me that not a problem every one seemed very happy .
The animation team worked tirelessly to amuse all but not a lot in English ,I have never seen greater participation in a hotel before ,some nights you you had a job to find a seat wonderful atmosphere ,we just couldn't understand what they were saying , and for all the people there the bar staff coped brilliant .
Out and around it is short walk to Cala Dor centre but everywhere so chilled out and spotless ,
We walked to marina about 20 min. And hardly seen any one till we got close.so if you want a nice relaxing time this place is good .
To sum up I don't go away to pick fault and I wouldn't say any thing against this hotel I wanted a cheap bit of sun and this place ,for what I paid was very good it's an old saying , you get what you pay for ,I think the Farniente gives you a bit more than you pay for .
Well done the whole team ! We may well return .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    439
    213
    111
    78
See reviews for
422
364
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I found this hotel by mistake. We were booked into the Palia puerto del sol which was dire, so on a walk one evening we stumbled across the Farniente, what a relief!!!
We enjoyed the food and restaurant which really left our hotel [its sister] in the dark.
The grounds are well laid out and there is always something to do. If you prefer a quieter time, the other pools provide for this.
We really liked the fact that you could top up your water bottles, something we were NOT allowed at the del sol even though our manager was at both hotels???
Our friend and waiter [Toni] did a fantastic job in looking after us and securing a lovely table each time. The carafes of wine during lunch and dinner were superb as was the afternoon snack lounge which was spot on [not like the palia puerto del sol which served pig swill near the toilets].
We stayed until the entertainment had finished because our all inclusive only had one bar and finished at 10.30 whilst this hotel served A/I till 11pm.
We probably wouldnt return to this hotel, Cala d'or is our preference, but if you are wanting an all inclusive family holiday which caters and performs as an all inclusive should do, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Palia Dolce Farniente, you saved our holiday from the pathetic servings of the Palia Puerto del sol. Wish we had found you sooner but a good weeks holiday was had. Other guests staying at our nightmare hotel also agreed with us and it was quite funny seeing us all walk from our hotel to this one and the numbers grow as the word got around.
Not able to offer any room advice as we always left at about 11.30. They all looked pretty good though.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the complex would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for a week in Sept 2012 with my wife. Arrived late at night and was made to feel very welcome and offered bottled water and shown to our room. Room was neat and tidy and the balcony overlooked gardens and trees. The resort is French and everything is in French including all the entertainment, this said the staff did everything they could to involve all quests in everything that was going on. The hotel is located in a side street away from the main street so is nice and quiet but within easy reach of all the bars etc. Just over the road is small sandy beach and cove, the centre of Cala d'or is a short journey away on the land train and a nice 20 minute walk via the Marina to get back. Had a really relaxed chilled stay at the hotel and resort and dispite the lack of other English speaking people would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin171160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked last minute with my husband and two fourteen year old children. Wished we had gone for longer than a week! Staff friendly. Pools clean and restaurant choice extensive. Mussels and prawns were fantastic. Near a beautiful beach. Rooms spotless as were bathrooms. We booked two separate rooms so as to have a bit more privacy and two bathrooms, they were fairly close together and both had a patio. The kids made good friends with french children and enjoyed all practicing their languages. The entertainment was of a good quality and funny to watch, particular thanks to Naomi who involved our children so much. Would come again . Thankyou

Room Tip: our rooms were a short stroll from the pools and bar which meant it was quiet on the balconies. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaliaHotels, Director Comercial at Palia Dolce Farniente, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays at with your family.

It is very nice to hear you did have a good time in the Hotel Palia Dolce Farniente, and we will be very pleased to welcome you, if you decide to visit us again.

Best regards,

Palia Hotels
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days in the middle of August with my family. The hotel is mainly French and Italian orientated and it is difficult to join in with activities, enjoy entertainment and feel included if you do not speak those languages (This was also a problem when trying to tell the restaurant staff of my food allergies, which they dismissed). I cannot however, fault the room, we had a quad room on the top floor which was absolutely spotless. It was cleaned everyday with fresh towels, bleached floors, the lot. We even had access to our own balcony with four sun loungers to use as well as a table and four chairs. However, I felt that the staff at the hotel, especially in the bar and restaurant areas made a huge effort when they recognized you as a new face but grew to be sharp and rude with you the more they got used to you being there. Rules were suddenly being given and enforced on the last day which were not told to us prior. Also, as our flight was at night time on our last day, we were told beforehand we would have access to a room where we could wash and change before our flight, for free. However, when we went to the reception the day we were leaving to ask for a room that was available (as instructed by reception the day before) we were told we had to pay 20 euros. After explaining that we had been told the room would be free they said to keep our existing room until 7 oclock (as our original checkout was at 12 oclock). The resort has brilliant activities for children if they speak French. Also during my time there there was a thunder and lightening storm that lasted almost two days. Obviously this could not be helped by the hotel and they were very attentive in making sure everyone had somewhere indoors they could go. Also, the entertainment went on until around 1am and was rather loud even at the furthest point away from the stage with the doors and windows closed (as our room was). Music was also played non-stop all day whilst sunbathing and swimming, slightly offputting when you want to relax or even talk..especially non-stop club anthems. Overall, a great hotel with great facilities (if French) but staff can be abrupt and rude at times.

Room Tip: Higher floors have private balconies, try and be further away from hotel building/entertainment - ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel and service was very good. Only downfall is this hotel is with a French/Italian tour operator so everything is geared for them. Very little English spoken. The kids club is fantastic if you can speak French. Family holiday 2 adults 2 kids 6 & 9. Ok for adults but kids missed other kids they could play with. Would go back and take a phrase book this time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaliaHotels, Director Comercial at Palia Dolce Farniente, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays at.

We are very happy you enjoyed your vacation and had a good time in the Hotel Dolce Farniente. We always appreciate to hear your opinions, because they help us to improve.

We hope to see you again in Palia Hotels.

Best regards,

Palia Hotels
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel the first week of July. The hotel was plenty of people from different nationalities but I did not have problems to comunicate because employees help me to translate, specially animation guys. Every night, my family and I enjoyed different activities and shows at the hotel. It was great! I recomend this hotel to everyone who wants to relax at the beach and at the same time have fun at the hotel in family!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaliaHotels, Director Comercial at Palia Dolce Farniente, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays at.

It is very nice to hear you did have a good time in the Hotel Palia Dolce Farniente, and we will be very pleased to welcome you, if you decide to visit us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.1 mi away
Es Bolero Aparthotel
Es Bolero Aparthotel
#27 of 46 in Cala d'Or
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Parque Mar
Apartamentos Parque Mar
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palia Dolce Farniente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia Dolce Farniente

Property: Palia Dolce Farniente
Address: Avenida Cala Egos S/N, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palia Dolce Farniente 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palia Dolce Farniente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia Dolce Farniente Hotel Cala d`Or
Palia Dolce Farniente Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing