We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palia Dolce Farniente
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 31 January 2011

It was last minute deal and a fast decision to choose this hotel for our holiday in Majorka.
Hotel area is pleasant. It gave an impression of holiday village. With rooms it is not that great. Depending on how lucky you are, you can get "acceptable" room or damp and dark accommodation. At check in we ended up with the second option and try hard to change it.
We managed to change the room after two days.. Staff was helpful I must say.
The food was ok, big choice although the quality is typical for the hotels.
If you look for a family hotel then it's ok, but no frills.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ive1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We had to stay in this hotel for one night as ours was over booked. It is not fit for a dog to stay in never mind people. The first room they gave us was like a prison cell and the smell was disgusting. When we refused to stay in that one they gave us another which was a bit better. There were windows which we were able to open which helped with the smell. When we looked around people were quite happy to be there which makes me wonder what they have a home or were they trying to make the best of a bad job. Having stayed in this hotel for one night I would never in a million years go there on holiday. I work too hard and have a nice home - why would I want to stay in a place like that and pay for the privilage. I can't comment on the food as we ate and drank in the hotel that we were booked in. The entertainment seemed to be aimed at the children and it was usually in French. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy never mind a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The whole complex is a little tired, bordering on shabby.
On returning from a visit to CalaD'Or during a very heavy rain storm we found the room flooded from leaking windows and cracks in the ceiling. The bedcover had soaked up a lot of water ant all our clothes in the wardrobe were soaked thru'.
On the plus side the food was quite good !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marconi2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I went with my wife on August 09. Our first impresion was very good .the architecture is very nice, mediterranean style all painted in white.The staff were very friendly and service were o.k. The cleanliness is very good, we had our room cleaned daily and every day new towels, the most i liked was the food , good quality and variety.the entertainment were o.k adapted to italian and french requirements.
The only thing i did not like is the presence of too much cheap french tourism.but ok you can get on for a week time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

As the title says,Basic but clean.We had a large room with comfy beds & abalcony overlooking the pools which got the sun all day.Bathroom was a good size & the towels were changed every day,the hot water was a bit hit & miss but we coped.Drinks from the pool bar were reasonable,but the down side was the food,it was atrocious!!Breakfast you could just get away with but the evening meal!!Don`t bother booking all inclusive or half board as there are plenty of good eating places near the hotel.The animation got a bit annoying as you could`nt escape the loud music ,although having said that the team worked really hard,it did calm down a bit after a couple of days as most of the guests were elderly!I don`t know where people get the impression the staff didn`t speak english,we found the reception staff helpfull,a smile goes a long way!If you like swimming the two pools are large but round not square as in some of the hotel discription photos.Plenty of bars & resteraunts a short walk away.The beach at cala egos is practically non exsistant but lots of people swimming in the cove.would not recommend this hotel for a weeks stay but o.k for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank funkycas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We booked our holiday through a well known UK company, the guy booking the holiday assured us the hotel was not a french hotel as the other reviews on this web site would suggest. Taking his word for it we landed out at the hotel to find we were the only English speaking people there! The rooms are really basic no air con, fridge etc. We shared one room between 4 of us ( 2 adults 2 children) and found it quite squashed. The staff were vey rude and ignorant on the whole and made you feel as if we were in the way! I would definatly not go back to this hotel. On the upside the entertainment was sometimes really good..all credit to the pali club staff!
Dinner was hit and miss, breakfast was brutal!
Swimming pool was great with the main pool shallow enough for my two young children (5+7)
Bar was pretty rubbish only serving crap beer on draught. Only reconisable beer was corona in bottles.
Had a good time....could have been better
Shaun, 27 Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sean206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank imedeksza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
7.5 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,257 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
0.6 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#37 of 46 in Cala d'Or
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
1.1 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palia Dolce Farniente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia Dolce Farniente

Address: Avenida Cala Egos s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £57 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palia Dolce Farniente 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palia Dolce Farniente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia Dolce Farniente Hotel Cala d`Or
Palia Dolce Farniente Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing