We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately go back!”
Review of Dor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dor
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I visited Hotel Dor on July 17th with 3 friends for 3 nights. The hotel is small and basic but has everything you need for a weekend away.
The rooms are small but very clean,we got clean towels and the beds were made everyday. The rooms have air conditioning however we couldn't change the setting so whilst the room was cool after a day at the beach,we were very cold in the night.
The pool area is lovely. Very clean and spacious and there is no rush for sunbeds. The pool bar is open from 10.30am and serves sandwiches,burgers etc which were freshly made and good value for money. Happy hour is on from 4.30pm-5.30pm every day with buy 1 get 1 free on jugs of sangria,cocktails and beers.
We stayed bed and breakfast. Breakfast is served from 8am-10am and has a good selection from cereals,fruit, toast,cheeses,eggs,bacon and pastries. There was plenty of room in the restaurant and never a big queue for the food.
The location is perfect. 5 minute walk to the marina and 5 minute walk to the centre where there is plenty of restaurants and bars. The beaches are a 10 minute walk away. We visited Cala Gran beach, it costs 5 euros for a sunbed for the day. It's a lovely beach with plenty of beach bars and restaurants.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly. They would help you with anything.
Overall,we loved our stay here and would definately visit Hotel Dor again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank stephquinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Perhaps I'm biased as we come here every year from Norway, but after we discovered it by accident a few years ago, we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island.
Simple but tasty breakfast, very clean rooms and a pleasant bar.
Small but clean pool.
But what is it with English people who get up before breakfast to put a towel on a sunbed only to arrive around lunchtime?
If I ran the hotel those towels would be floating in the pool after 30 minutes!
The hotel arranged pickup from & to the airport, and the room prices are very reasonable so what more can you ask for?
Oh yes, 5 mins from the centre & the beach, we love it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TonyNorway55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is a budget hotel with plenty to offer for everyone.
Stayed at this hotel 23rd to 3rd July, I would definitely go back.
The good points are as follows

1.breakfast very good more than I expected.
2.Hotel is in a fantastic location for the bars/restaurants/beeches/marina.
3.Hotel is very clean in all public areas
4.No need to put out sun towels plenty of beds all day.
5.All staff were more than welcoming and smiled everyday even after working nights in the hotel restaurants.
6.Great happy hour from 4.30-5.30 every drink buy 1 get 1 free.
7.Air condition in all rooms a little noisy but needed.

The negative points

1.At times the bathroom in mine and our travelling friends smelt.
2.Music played by the hotel around the pool from 10.30pm onwards a bit much that early into the day
3.Only 1 English TV channel (bbc world news)

All in all a great budget hotel that's worth every penny as long as your not expecting 3,4,5 star service for 1,2, star prices

Will be returning in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank rcshaun36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is classed as a 2* hotel in Mallorca. This can only be because it is small and does not have a fully-fledged restaurant , but the pool bar is excellent from about 10AM through to midnight and later if anyone wants.They also have live entertainment on at least 1 evening per week.
We stayed bed and breakfast , and the buffet style English breakfast is excellent.
All of the staff are brilliant , and work so hard , most of them doing more than 1 job within the hotel during a typical day. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby , and one of the best is Don Leone , which is owned , we think , by the same people , and you get excellent food there as well as a generous 10% discount.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just home after a lovely stay in this Hotel our third visit. It is well run, clean and tidy, very good location for eating out, only a 5minute walk to centre of town. It is two star but with the newly updated rooms I think it should be 3,
My husband and I can't wait for a return visit. The weather helped 27 degrees c in October not bad!
Mrs Anna Clemmitt.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel. Basic but spotlessly clean. 5 mins from everything. Turn left or right and you're right near the many restaurants and bars in the main square. Across the road onto the marina. The hotel itself is b&b so no kettle or fridge if you're room only, but a spa right across from the hotel means you can pop for a cold water or fruit juice in less than 2 mins.

The rooms are in need of an update but they are more than adequate and very clean. For the price you just can't complain. Our motto is 'how much time do you spend in your room anyway?'! Our only niggle is that we had a ground floor room which faced a bush so no much of a view to sit out and people watch, so we hardly used our patio area. Some rooms have been refurbished with better balconies. It was a case of those that asked were moved and those that didn't stayed put. With the hotel being small enough there was a fab atmosphere among the holiday goers which was refreshing. No fights for beds (there's plenty) and the bar does happy hour from 4.30-5.30 every day. Tip is to get in line early as you can be waiting a while!

Recommend you try the champaign sangria Katie makes!

Food is 'ok' if you're desperate but you can hop out to a much nicer choice within 2 mins or grab fresh bread and snacks from the spa.

Definitely try the marina for an evening. Much more chilled and a little pricier but worth it for a treat.

Main square is also very family/couple friendly. No big groups but still plenty of choice and atmosphere.

Marfil cafe / restaurant food and cheap for breakfast and lunch. Jimmy's food for sky sports if you're into that sort of thing. Nice steaks at the steak house and Bon Bini (think that was the name!!) does lovely Italian food. We tried pizza, pasta and salads all delicious.

All in all the hotel and cala d'or itself was fantastic and we would definitely look to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShirinK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a wee gem of a hotel rated at 2 stars its definitely punching above its weight,the staff are great and friendly,the room was clean fresh towels everyday(except tue),breakfast was really good with bacon n eggs every day also had cold meats,cheeses fresh fruit,juice,coffee etc.Location must be its biggest seller only minutes from town centre shops, marina and beaches.Would def go back and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Not sure which are good and if any are bad,we were in room 37 on the ground floor just meters from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#37 of 46 in Cala d'Or
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ses Puntetes Hotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Es Bolero Aparthotel
Es Bolero Aparthotel
#27 of 46 in Cala d'Or
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#31 of 46 in Cala d'Or
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dor

Address: Avda. Calonge, 7660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £36 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays and Stayforlong S.L. so you can book your Dor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dor Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing