We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay July 2014”
Review of Dor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dor
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This little hotel is more of a 3 star than a 2 star. It has everything you need. It is in a very good central location and has plenty of sunbeds available. There is a range of different foods available at breakfast and we found it good value for money, just paying £7.00 each extra to upgrade to bed and breakfast for the whole week!!. The rooms are clean and towels are changed every day, as well as beds being made. On the balconies there are sunbeds available too. Staff are friendly also. The only downside is that there is a club on one side but you cant hardly hear the music once the door is closed. The safe is 18euros to rent for the week and there are many more things available to rent. The air conditioning is free and works really well! There is a happy hour available every day from 4.30 pm to 5.30pm, and there is a range of snacks available, (they have different offers on food and drink each day). At breakfast you get a daily newsletter re weather, offers etc. Internet is also available for free. All in all this is a very good little hotel and good value for money. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have sunbeds.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Dor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have holidayed in Cala dor for several years, but this was our first time at this hotel from 13 - 21 July. Wished we'd known about this place earlier. Much better than hotels with higher star ratings in the area. Lovely helpful staff and everywhere kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast was always plenty of choice even though I am a very fussy eater. As previous people have said there are always plenty of loungers by the pool at any time of day. Bar area is a bonus with comfy sofas to relax on whilst taking advantage of the free wi-fi. Most impressive for us was the totally relaxed atmosphere. No one bothered you and yet at the same time, as the hotel is quite small everyone recognises everyone else and there are plenty of cheery greetings to be heard throughout the day.
We will be returning to Cala Dor
In September to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else but the Hotel Dor. Wonderful place to be.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sashmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I visited Hotel Dor on July 17th with 3 friends for 3 nights. The hotel is small and basic but has everything you need for a weekend away.
The rooms are small but very clean,we got clean towels and the beds were made everyday. The rooms have air conditioning however we couldn't change the setting so whilst the room was cool after a day at the beach,we were very cold in the night.
The pool area is lovely. Very clean and spacious and there is no rush for sunbeds. The pool bar is open from 10.30am and serves sandwiches,burgers etc which were freshly made and good value for money. Happy hour is on from 4.30pm-5.30pm every day with buy 1 get 1 free on jugs of sangria,cocktails and beers.
We stayed bed and breakfast. Breakfast is served from 8am-10am and has a good selection from cereals,fruit, toast,cheeses,eggs,bacon and pastries. There was plenty of room in the restaurant and never a big queue for the food.
The location is perfect. 5 minute walk to the marina and 5 minute walk to the centre where there is plenty of restaurants and bars. The beaches are a 10 minute walk away. We visited Cala Gran beach, it costs 5 euros for a sunbed for the day. It's a lovely beach with plenty of beach bars and restaurants.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly. They would help you with anything.
Overall,we loved our stay here and would definately visit Hotel Dor again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank stephquinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Perhaps I'm biased as we come here every year from Norway, but after we discovered it by accident a few years ago, we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island.
Simple but tasty breakfast, very clean rooms and a pleasant bar.
Small but clean pool.
But what is it with English people who get up before breakfast to put a towel on a sunbed only to arrive around lunchtime?
If I ran the hotel those towels would be floating in the pool after 30 minutes!
The hotel arranged pickup from & to the airport, and the room prices are very reasonable so what more can you ask for?
Oh yes, 5 mins from the centre & the beach, we love it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TonyNorway55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is a budget hotel with plenty to offer for everyone.
Stayed at this hotel 23rd to 3rd July, I would definitely go back.
The good points are as follows

1.breakfast very good more than I expected.
2.Hotel is in a fantastic location for the bars/restaurants/beeches/marina.
3.Hotel is very clean in all public areas
4.No need to put out sun towels plenty of beds all day.
5.All staff were more than welcoming and smiled everyday even after working nights in the hotel restaurants.
6.Great happy hour from 4.30-5.30 every drink buy 1 get 1 free.
7.Air condition in all rooms a little noisy but needed.

The negative points

1.At times the bathroom in mine and our travelling friends smelt.
2.Music played by the hotel around the pool from 10.30pm onwards a bit much that early into the day
3.Only 1 English TV channel (bbc world news)

All in all a great budget hotel that's worth every penny as long as your not expecting 3,4,5 star service for 1,2, star prices

Will be returning in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank rcshaun36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is classed as a 2* hotel in Mallorca. This can only be because it is small and does not have a fully-fledged restaurant , but the pool bar is excellent from about 10AM through to midnight and later if anyone wants.They also have live entertainment on at least 1 evening per week.
We stayed bed and breakfast , and the buffet style English breakfast is excellent.
All of the staff are brilliant , and work so hard , most of them doing more than 1 job within the hotel during a typical day. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby , and one of the best is Don Leone , which is owned , we think , by the same people , and you get excellent food there as well as a generous 10% discount.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just home after a lovely stay in this Hotel our third visit. It is well run, clean and tidy, very good location for eating out, only a 5minute walk to centre of town. It is two star but with the newly updated rooms I think it should be 3,
My husband and I can't wait for a return visit. The weather helped 27 degrees c in October not bad!
Mrs Anna Clemmitt.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#37 of 46 in Cala d'Or
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo D'or
Hotel Leo D'or
#32 of 46 in Cala d'Or
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#23 of 46 in Cala d'Or
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fowlers Hotel
Fowlers Hotel
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ses Puntetes Hotel
#27 of 46 in Cala d'Or
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Es Bolero Aparthotel
Es Bolero Aparthotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dor

Address: Avda. Calonge, 7660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £33 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK and Cancelon so you can book your Dor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dor Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing