We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Screaming Kids !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Screaming Kids !!”
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Everything about the hotel is superb with the following exceptions. Firstly I have never stayed at a hotel with so many uncontrolled young children. This is particularly noticeable at breakfast time when they are charging round the dining room. Secondly dinner at the hotel, although in lovely surroundings, is boring. The food is totally lacking in imagination and poor quality.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevorduncombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    103
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
143
275
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Just returned from our second stay at the Melia, after being so pleased with our previous stay last year. Our room this year was a ground floor suite, just off the pool side. Fantastic room, can't fault a thing. The only comment I would make about this wonderful hotel, is the lack of a decent bar area. There is a small lounge with a tiny bar tucked into one corner, but it's never really manned, and the lounge itself has zero atmosphere. The addition of some mood lighting and back ground music would transform it (in my humble opinion). We just thought it would have been nice to come back to the hotel after going out for a meal, and have a drink in an intimate bar setting, whilst interacting with other guests. That said, this minor point would not deter us from going back next year to the Melia for a third visit, and anyway, there are plenty of bars within a short stroll of the hotel. We simply adore the resort of Cala D'or, and a stay at the Melia completes the package.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkHHastings_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Stayed 11 nights in a junior suite and quite frankly it was probably the best hotel we have stayed in. The hotel staff from management, bar staff and maids were all very friendly and happy to assist in any way. Cala D'Or remains a very family orientated resort and appeared to us safe for all age groups. Evening meals at various restaurants in the resort and marina were indifferent however, given the obvious change in available customers each night this could be expected. Although we did not eat at the Hotel I am sure the food would have been outstanding! All in all we will definatley revisit this hotel or a very similar type in the group at some time in the future. Anyone similar to us who always look forward to returning their own comfortable bed towards the end of a holiday will not want to leave this hotel - the beds are huge and most comfortable experienced!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nickinyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2007

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Melia Cala D'or from June 15th to 29th 2007. Excellent hotel Had Omlettes most mornings for breakfast, Beautiful selection of cheeses and fruits. We ate out at the Fernado and Capriccio Italiano Gran Café Restaurante & Grill. Both were excellent. Worst meal was at the Casablanca. Had a junior suite which was excellent. Free newspaper every morning.Yes we will be back. There was the usual problem with sun bed reserving as early as 7.45am around the pool most mornings but the gardens are extensive and have sun beds in them.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Too many small children
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Melia Cala D'Or - The hotel is magnificent with excellent service and services.

The Junior Suites that myself, sister, nephew and parents were each allocated were exactly as requested - quiet, away from lifts, with south facing views. The suites themselves were spacious and lovely with a small kitchen comprising all the amenities needed to put together a snack or dinner if needed - best things were the fridge and microwave to aid with making sure the baby got fed!
The towels were changed at least twice a day and more if needed. We were given our own beach towels which were changed daily. The staff even went out their way to purchase a bath mat for us to stop the baby slipping in the bath.

We got a nice surprise on the first night when returning to the rooms as the bed had been turned down, a chocolate left on the pillow and the weather information for the following day left as well - this happened every evening.

The breakfast buffet is out of this world and the set dinner menu (loads of choice) was exquisite - being a fussy eater I always managed to find something delightful to eat

The swimming pools and childrens pool area were always clean and well maintained.

All the staff - from the meeting at reception, waiters and waitresses and cleaning staff were all excellent and always had a smile and a hello for us.

Cala D'Or itself is lovely - not overly commercialised. Yes you have some themed pubs and restaurants - but where doesn't now adays?

We all loved our stay and will definately be returning the Cala D'Or and this hotel.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Bug_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emylucy71
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2007

This is the first time I have written a review for this hotel given that me and my family have stayed here numerous times and felt I had to dispell any negative remarks I have read about this hotel.

My family and I have been visiting this hotel since our son who turns five soon was 9 months. We have met and made friends with so many people from honeymooners, retired, single travellers and families alike all who have one thing in common - they enjoy quality and this hotel has it in abundance.

Each year we return we believe it cant get any better but yet it does from the quality and cleanliness of the rooms choice of pillows, dvd players in the room (new last year) turn down service, beautiful and well equiped gym, sauna, spa treatments, food choice, afternoon tea, I could go on but wont bore you.

This is certainly a 5* hotel having stayed in many very high quality hotels in europe and the carribean I cannot fault it, The staff are fantastic from Thomas the Manager, Antonia on Reception and Jose in the Restaurant who all go out of their way to make sure you are happy and having a good stay. The chambermaids and ground staff work their socks off to make the hotel meet its fantatic standards and it is so prestine and peaceful. There are even little touches like birthday letters and christmas cards to visitors.

There are two choice of rooms but it you have children the suites are highly recommended you have your own kitchen/dinning and sitting room (bed settee very comforable and is turned down each night and made back up during day) and a huge king size
bed with a lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath, his and hers sinks, separate shower room and toilet/bidet.

You can ask for room service if you wish which we have done of several occasions as its nice to eat on your balcony or there are several superb restaurants in Cala Dor who do take aways, The hotel restaurant is fantastic and the food wonderful and we have eaten here on a half board basis before but like the choice of staying in and going out.

Cala Dor itself is a very family orientated resort and like most resorts their are areas which have your noisier bars etc but if you walk towards the marina (approx 15 mins) there are some lovely restaurants and nice shops.

We would certainly return to this hotel for our half term break each year without a doubt and recommend it to anyone who wants 5* treatment, peace, good food, beautiful gardens excellent facilities and friendly attentive staff.

  • Liked — Friendly attentive staff and beautiful accommodation with excellent food and wine.
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Tips/Secrets — Book direct or through Melia Sol website saved over half brochur price.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank emylucy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBY MILL UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

As seasoned travellers who now have two very young children we find it difficult to find the type of accomodation we have over the years become accostomed to, which will cater for our family; that is until now. The staff at the Sol Melia did everything in their power to make our stay as comortable as possible. The facilities for both us and the children were nothing less than excellent. The rooms are spacious and well maintained .We stayed in a junior suite which comprised of a large bathroom, kitchen , lounge and bedroom. As another reviewer has noted, the microwave for those baby bottles was a godsend. Cala D'or itself is very child friendly if alittle bit tacky in places. It was delightful to return to our haven at night.
It is good to see that atleast one hotel chain appreciates that those who have in the past expected high standards do not neccesarily wish to compromise on style and comfort once they have children,even if some of their guests/reviewers seem to think that they should.
Keep up the good work and we will be back.

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for the Junior suite. Well worth the extra expense.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alison.mather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#4 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel

Property: Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Melia Cala D'Or)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cala D’Or Boutique Hotel is located in a beautiful Mediterranean garden, just 200metres from Cala Gran and 250meters from the city center Cala D'Or, offering the most relaxed and peaceful environment. The rooms decorated in the typical Majorcan style, surrounded by gardens. Fully-equipped bathrooms with hydromassage-tub. Discover superb fine dining at our hotel, serving a wide range of daily menus. Enjoy our Pool with hydromassage and children´s pool with playground area. Experience the SPA with fitness center, sauna, steam bath an on request massages. Como to visit us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Boutique Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing