We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cala d'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ponent Playa(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ses Puntetes Hotel(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartamentos Parque Mar(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Sea Es Bolero(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Dor(Cala d'Or)(Great Value!)
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
402
124
39
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
124
39
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiteturn down servicebusy resortsmall hotellovely hotelpool areahuge bedexcellent facilitieshalf boardyoung childrensmall kitchenrelaxing stayevery eveningsun all daycold meatsground floortown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We have just returned from this fantastic hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is so clean and the breakfast is brilliant, so much choice for everyone, the chef prepares bacon eggs cooked to order and there is a massive cold table of meats, cheeses, fruits etc if youcannot get something to eat here I would be surprised. The rooms are lovely with cable TV. There is ITV, Sky Movies and Sky Sports in the room, tea and coffee facilities, a fridge and a safe all come in the price. The only gripe we would have is with the beds which are quite hard but this seems to be the norm in the med.
The bar area at night is a bit lack lustre and there doesn't seem to be much atmosphere here, there is a pianist on a Saturday night but most people go out at night into the resort.
The pool is great and the booths with the sunbeds and the natural shade are well thought out..
Cala D'or itself is a tacky resort with naff shops, restaurants and tribute bands. Would we return absolutley yes to the hotel but definitely not to Cala D'or.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Have just returned from this fabulous hotel where my husband and I stayed with our 20 month old daughter. The hotel is really unusual- lotsof little buildings dotted about beauiful landscaped gardens housing lovely rooms- we had a ground floor junior suite - no 303 - which had a private outlook onto the gardens but just round from the pool and little kids playground and with a huge terrace. Not a huge room but big enough and with nice decor and all mod cons- as with the rest of the hotel it was spotlessly clean and they do nice touches like bed turn down, choc on pillow, fluffy robes etc. the pool was lovely with sunbathing "booths" so you get a bit of privacy. the kids pool is small but ideal for toddlers to potter about in. We were on bed and breakfast which I was glad about with a young child as the resaurant at night looked lovely but quite formal. the breakfasts were fab catering to all tastes and all the staff were so nice and friendly and lovely to children. There is a nice lounge which serves complmentary afternoon tea and biscuits and there are newspapers available in several languages- again free. There was a bit of noise from the local bars enetrtainment at night but after we got our child to bed we enjoyed a gass of wine on the terrace listening to them- the Tom Jones guy was great! Anyway the double glazing was so good once the french doors were shut you couldn't hear a thing.
Not a hotel if you want loads of entertainment and excitment but if you want a relaxing time away from the Brits abroad brigade then this is ideal especially for couples or families with young children. The resort itself is ok - lovely restaurants down at the marina and much better food and no more expensive than the run of the mill places in the main town.
I would definitely return to this gem of a hotel and I am very fussy. I also have never written a review before but enjoyed it so much I wanted to let other people know- hope it helps!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macca168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We have just returned from a week's half term stay at the Melia Cala D'or with our young daughter . We found the hotel to be of a very good standard - it's a charming little oasis set in the centre of Cala D'or, only a short stroll from a few pretty, but rather crowded beaches. We were given a delightful garden view ground floor suite - room 302 (originally given a second floor room but asked if we could change) which had a huge terrace area ideal for relaxing.
The staff were more than helpful, everything was extremely clean and the food in the restaurant was very good with an elegant atmosphere, although not many guests tended to dine in the evenings.
Cala D'or is a pretty whitewashed town, full of resturants and tourist shops. This is not a sophisticated town, but seems family friendly. Some music, generally karaoke from the bars in town can be heard from the hotel at night, but the noise level is just about acceptable.
Hiring a car is a great way to explore some of the local beaches (Porto Petro is a pretty village with a much quieter beach) and a trip to Deya and Valldemossa in the mountains will give you a little taste of the real Majorca.
We stayed at the stunningly located Formentor hotel a few years ago (great for adults), but the Melia is ideal for a relaxing stay with young children.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Melia Cala D'Or a couple of years ago and we both had a wonderful stay.

The hotel itself was very nice, well presented, good food and nice leisure facilities. The individual sunbathing bays beside the pool is a nice touch. The staff were friendly and attentive.

My one gripe would be Cala D'Or itself. Full of English bars with English soap operas playing on big screens - was a million miles from the serenity of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busby1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

I stayed at the Melia Cala d'Or at the same time as the lady who gave the appalling review above. She spent the entire time we were there complaining to anybody who would listen and encouraging her young son to do the same.
I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, with very attentive staff and very well cared for gardens and pool surroundings.
Our room was very nice and I saw no sign of lots of cats, in fact I can truthfully say that I didn't see one.
The breakfast was extensive and there was plenty of choice and it was all of good quality. We had bed and breakfast and therefore I can't speak personally about the evening meal, although friends of ours were also there on half board and were very complimentary about the food.
We have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels throughout the world. This one was advertised as a small boutique hotel and that is exactly what it was but clearly unsuitable for children of school age, especially out of school holiday when there were no other children around to play with. It is quiet, ideal for those who want a quiet relaxing holiday and ideally situated away from any noise in Cala d'Or.
As for the resort, there are lots of restaurants and bars, a few small coves with beaches and it is all spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our holiday and find the bad review we have just written breathtakingly unfair and unjust.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggieofbirches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews